December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Reactor Tank Defense

by commanderstitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Finished my #LD48 entry! hurray! the game is here:
Excellent game this time around. Didn't get all i wanted into it, but what i've got is fun. :-)

INSTRUCTIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
You use these keys:

W,A,S,D to move.

Use the Mouse to fire the balls on the screen where you want them to land.
in Menu:
You only get one menu.
You only get one button.
In Game:
You only get one reactor. Don't let them kill your reactor.
You only get one life. Don't let them drain your health and kill you.
You only get one type of cannon fire. Use it wisely.
You only get one upgrade per availability. be sure to upgrade or you will lose the chance of getting that same chance the next time around.
You only get one upgrade station. it's the "U".
You only get one icon marker per enemy.
You only get one enemy of a type alive at any given time.

You can kill the enemies, they drop coins.
Collect 2 coins for an additional health increase.

If you make it through all the waves, you win.

enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#265Audio2.96
#298Humor2.76
#424Fun2.96
#426Mood2.88
#431Theme3.00
#539Overall2.96
#628Graphics2.68
#759Innovation2.48
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Like the SFX :) Bit confusing... Still fun though.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Took me a while to figure out I was attacking the bullets. @_@

postmodestie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Strangly entertaining in a corny and reactive way! :D The style reminds me of an Android game, Robot Wizard..

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Fun game. Absolutely loved the audio.

StMatn says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Nice game!
I lost the overview after some time :D The "radar" is quite nice, if you are looking for an enemy, but its hard to localize the most dangerous threat.
All in all, nice work :)

joekinley says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

It was hard to see wether i really was hitting the enemies or not. It also was very confusing when a new wave started, as I was still in the middle of the last wave.
So very confusing game.
But I really liked the graphics. Also some of the audio was quite cool. Good work on that.

Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:15am

All the explosions are murmuring 'paella'

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:36am

bit confusing when both the mouse and keyboard control your orientation... IMO it would be better to use the mouse for both purposes... great art and implementation!

Phyyl says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:23am

good game, really liked the audio! keep it up!

ViliX says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:48am

Thanks for checking out my game. Is that minecraft stone? (Just kidding :D) Neat game you got here :)

tomc says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:27am

Having the arrow keys control the direction of the turret, but the mouse control where the shots went was confusing.

Kudos for including non-BFXR sound effects.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Nice. The graphics remind me crazy enough to commander keen 5.

lucars83 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:47pm

I hate escort missions. Still kinda fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]