December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sixteen in One

by zatyka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

16 levels... or is there only one?

Instead of going to different areas as you progress through the game, all the action takes place in a single space with the same few components. I enjoyed the challenge of finding new and different ways to use the same level components.

CONTROLS:
Part of the fun is figuring them out yourself.
R to restart a level.

Works best in Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#15Fun3.92
#19Innovation4.06
#38Overall3.87
#154Audio3.24
#179Theme3.49
#228Mood3.20
#264Humor2.88
#534Graphics2.87

Comments

Ako says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:32am

Great for only 12 hours. I didn't have much time to spend either, but we did something and that's the point! I liked the flippy levels. I'm a newbie C2 user too so I'll see you on the Scirra forums!

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:46am

Nice, I really like the all-in-one level and some challenges with the control schemes. If it was only a little bit more responsive that would be great.
And hey, a fellow C2 user. :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Hey I loved this! When you just added half a dimension, that really made me smile. It held my attention and was fun, great job

Kyatric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Very interesting take on the theme.
Nice music and nice level design/mechanics.

I enjoyed the humor in the comments.

Congratulations on making this game it was very interesting to play through (I even managed to complete the last level a bit by luck :P )

floorman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:59am

Really, really nice game. Awesome way of difficulty-ramping and I like the idea.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:04am

in a word STUNNING!!. so many mechanics added to one game. would make a great release on mobile with touch and motion control. best of the jam for me so far.

Lissar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:50am

Great take on the theme! I really enjoy this. Nice music too.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:52am

This is a resourceful use of the theme and a single level. After the first level I didn't know what to expect and I was always pleasantly surprised. I hope more people get to play your game.

ehtd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:57am

So far the most innovative game I have player for LD. There is still room for improvement, but great game.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:00am

Wow.. This has been, so far, the best game I've played in this compo. Seriously. Congratulations. It was spectacular and I'd love to see more levels, if possible. ;)

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:12am

Awesome, always something surprising on the next level

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:12am

Very interestng work!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:36am

Overall, the best compo entry. Innovative, fun, intuitive. Great design!

pLaw says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Very well executed and quite innovative.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:27pm

The best take on the theme so far. Definately very creative and enjoyable. Well done, sir.

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Really good stuff. Simple yet still sets a mood, and explores the genre of the platformer with one level. 5/5 for theme. Good job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:36am

Good job!
It will be better if there will really one level. Sometimes level changes actually.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:48am

That was really good. Music was good too. Thanks, I enjoyed that.

zatyka says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:47pm

@SaintHeiser

Two levels stretch a few blocks, and a couple others activate block movement. If I didn't do that, the mechanic in those levels would have been pointless. For what it's worth, the entire game is a single layout, with the same objects.

miwuc says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:38pm

There are some similarities with "There is Only One Level", but it's still very inventive and there's a very impressive number of levels for such a short time. Congrats!

OddballDave says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:44pm

I wanted to complete it but I got stuck on the the level "Did we add half a dimension? Space will help.". Couldn't figure that one out.

LevelUpJordan says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:46pm

This is great, I appreciate the use of the theme especially. Good job :D

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:17pm

A-MA-ZING!!

tobbez says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:16am

Some interesting levels but in general too much of the level is skipped in each level leading to most mechanics not really getting explored. Nice music and graphic.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:52am

I enjoyed the shit out of this game.

Didn't notice any audio so N/A for that, but that might be because I built a version of Firefox which needs PulseAudio, and PulseAudio isn't properly set up, so it didn't come through. Oh well. Was there any sound? If so, prod me on the #ludumdare IRC and I'll see what I can do to get it working.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:48am

Great! A lot of game design inventions!

glovecat says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Wow, the one with the invert controls is really hard xD. Great game!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:22pm

This was absolutely fun to play. I liked how you're essentially playing the same level but with so many different twists and I really loved trying to work out what the current control gimmick was in each level.

somepx says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Mindbending! An excellent work, very innovative - outstanding given time constraints. Nice job! ;)

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:42pm

This is a really talented concept, brilliantly executed and great fun to play! You have crammed so many platforming tropes in here, they really build nicely. I loved the braid reference and the penultimate level's twist (won't spoil!). Nice music and I never felt I was being punished unfairly. Great work!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:20am

Wow - that was nice. Loved the way you managed to mix it up throughout, especially the later levels with extra dimensions / rotation etc. 5 stars for innovation & fun!

ViliX says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:40am

Great gameplay! 5/5 for fun

sadiquo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I love this game :D Lot of good ideas, one of the best interpretation of the theme. Well done!

Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:56am

Wow, I actually really liked the idea. You got only one level. That changes each time you pass it tho :) Very nice man!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]