December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

knife, Gun, Rose, Watch

by bowlercaptain - Jam Entry

A short first-person adventure game. Defuse the bomb with your watch and knife, get the girl, and try not to die!

WASD+mouse to move, right click to change tool, left click to use the tool you're holding. Space to jump, and escape to exit.

Defuse the bomb by cutting off the cylinders in order - your watch will help you tell which.

design by Bowlercaptain, Sdonai, and WiTSKi
programming by Sdonai and Bowlercaptain
models by WiTSKi
Music and sound by Ryuno

Ryuno: https://soundcloud.com/ryunocore
Bowlercaptain: http://somevideogam.es/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#148Humor(Jam)2.89
#307Audio(Jam)2.73
#323Innovation(Jam)2.70
#461Theme(Jam)2.17
#467Overall(Jam)2.50
#473Mood(Jam)2.17
#489Fun(Jam)2.13
#534Graphics(Jam)1.78
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Articulated says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Decent game! I found a couple of audio glitches but nothing gamebreaking (when you knife the bomb it restarts the sound effect, even after the "That's not how you..." screen shows up. Also, I couldn't really work out what I was supposed to do, but overall a good effort.

Cheers! :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:57pm

The game lacked explanation and the visuals could have used some work, but it was kind of fun to try to figure everything out.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:11am

I couldn't figure out what to do. A tutorial would have been nice, but I like the concept, and the humour works.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:06pm

I'm not good with making bombs not splode.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:19am

Not really sure how to download this game. Should I download all the individual files?

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:28am

Interesting game mechanics, i found the game a little awkward to play. The differents death messages was fun to read!

ACE says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:55pm

awkward to play but very fun

Halfire says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Overall very impressive, modeling for the people isn't great, but it's all excusable, good fun!

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:59pm

found 4 ways to die until now.. but one day i ll get how to disarm the bomb ;) great job :)

tobbez says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Game was interesting. Quite hard to understand what to do and the frequent game crashes didn't help. Double hitting the same cylinders should not make the bomb explode if it was the right one. When you cut one of the correct cylinders you should get some feedback. When you have cut enough cylinders there should be omething telling you the bomb is disarmed and that you should run to the exit.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:06pm

The ending texts were interesting, but the watch hit detection was a little wonky.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:40pm

The death messages were hilarious. I think the little musical tunes that play during death add to the humor. :) Unfortunately I still couldn't figure out how to disarm the bomb.

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Love the art style. Seems to control slightly better for me in Chrome than in Firefox, but that might just be my imagination. Took me a bit to realize you have to click on the dealer, since there's nothing in the instructions about that.

The rocket fist seems to fail to launch sometimes, or maybe it's launching and immediately returning? Either way, that was probably the hardest part about controlling it.

Moosefly says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Couldn't figure it out. Some feedback on the defusing progress would have been nice like others suggested. Only found 2 different ways to die :(.

The graphics and audio are passable considering the fact that it is a Ludum Dare jam game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]