December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

What The Sock

by Spierek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bob was casually commuting to his workplace when suddenly... he noticed that he's only wearing one sock! Help Bob avoid other peoples' stares by hiding behind signposts and crouching.

Controls:
Left / Right Arrow / A / D - moving
Down Arrow / S - crouch (useful when there's no cover around)

Find me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/Spierek
My portfolio-ish site: http://spierek.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#29Humor3.88
#41Graphics4.14
#81Theme3.72
#84Overall3.70
#123Audio3.34
#169Fun3.40
#220Mood3.21
#223Innovation3.35

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

Stellar graphics, decent music, cripplingly hard.

braindx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19am

Great concept. Beautiful game. Very difficult to know if you'll be seen or not. I had a lot of fun.

Spierek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26am

Thanks for the feedback! I'll be tweaking some minor issues (like the visibility collider) on Tuesday, so feel free to request some changes :)

nickworks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26am

Well-put-together! It has a great aesthetic.

Dynad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

This game is so much fun, I wanted to make it to the end.. needed some tries.. didnt expect this at all.. great work!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03am

Incredible graphics! Absolutely brilliant!

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Not hard once you figure it out. Short and sweet! Great art and loads of character. I feel for you Bob.

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Nice change from pace. :) Even though it was a bit hard in the beginning, it made me stick till the ending. Liked the music too :)

dstozek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39pm

The game has a great overall feel! Much more amusing than I thought it would be!

cwkx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Yes! Best use of theme ever :D 5/5/5/5/5/5/5/5

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Excellent graphics and audio, brilliant use of the theme and very original gameplay, well done!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Great graphics, and funny concept. I had to come back here to read about what was going on, but once i understood i had a good time. Keep it up.

Christian S. says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Looks beautiful. Sounds great.

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29pm

I just maxed out every category! Really, really great game. Graphics are absolutely fantastic and the overall feel of the game is very polished!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:30pm

What an excellent idea! Love the 8-bit graphics.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Really fun idea, I really love the graphics and audio. It's really really hard though.

q7204k says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Really like it =)

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Really good fitting title. I was caught right away when I started. But thinking back at the title, I looked... OH! I have a missing sock. So I started to use the signs. Really cute animations too (with the pretending-to-tie-the-shoe action). Ending is funny. Not too challenging, easy to skim by most of the side-walkers, but just enough to keep playing until you reach the end.
Good job!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Nice Graphics and the music wasn't bad at all I enjoyed plying it.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Liked every single thing about it - including the difficulty level.

pavelzuk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04pm

This game teaches one valuable lesson, don't care what anyone thinks and keep walking straight forward, at least that's how I won, simple game and enjoyable graphics.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Very funny and addictive game, it makes you greedy though got caught twice two steps of the office. Good game.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:35am

It was pretty easy once I figured out how it works. Pretending to tie my show helped when no signs were around. Standing behind signs was great for ducking mobs without having to deal with the standing animation pause of the pretend-tie. Good balance!

There isn't much to it, obviously, but what's here is really solid. Great spriting, innovative idea, imaginative use of theme, and a rockin' tune.

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:16pm

I've updated the game (fixed colliders, corrected timescale, etc.) and added the "How to play" section at the bottom of the page :)

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:01am

Really funny premise. Perfect fit for the theme and translated in a great mechanic. Awesome look and music. Well Done!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:15am

Until today, I didn't realize I was missing a sock-based stealth game from my life. Thanks Spierek!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:27am

Awesome idea. Had a lot fun playing it.

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Nice graphics, fun story, lots of polish, but it was a little slow and difficult.

LewisChaplin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:18pm

great game realy fun

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:20pm

This is awesome. I hope you win!

drkrunk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:24pm

What are the chances that we both make a game about socks? lol. Very nice graphics and gameplay. It was a very challenging task.

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:14pm

brilliant funny and entertaining. beautiful graphics. Awesome interpretation of theme. Loved it

Mase says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:20pm

The difficulty was somewhat uneven due to the apparent randomization. After a few unsuccessful attempts I was able to win by just holding right.

Still very fun and an amusing use of the theme.

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22pm

That was great! Awesome animation and use of theme! Funny too!

sknoslo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Very comical take on the theme. Was extremely difficult, but I really enjoyed the graphical style and the music.

khahem says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Beautiful game. Excellent idea ! It's fun and the risk/reward balance works well.

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:37pm

soooo hard! Really funny concept and well executed. Controls felt a bit sticky when I would transition between tying my shoes and moving forward, got me caught a few times. Love the art, great job!

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Fantastic entry, beautiful art style and gameplay! Bravo!

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Goddamnit. Loved your game, dude.

Sytech says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Funny idea and great graphics!

CarbonCoder says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Awesome everything! Great job!

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Awesome idea!

Carduus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Corporate Metal gear Socket !
luv-it !

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Only one sock, nice idea :) I like the art and the music too

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Good idea! ^^ (and polished game too)

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Meh. Pretty repetitive, at least it's got some humor in it. Also I might add that I really dislike that graphic style.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Brilliant idea! It manages to combine the theme with humour perfectly well. Graphics are also awesome. Overall, an amazing entry. Great job! :)

Nezzhil says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:35am

Cool art and great music. But the gameplay is a bit shallow, I replayed it some time and the randomize location of the enemies made the game really easy in most of my plays, (usually I only needed to crouch three or four times, the rest of the time I only need to advance).

But cool concept and great music!

_zulli says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Awesome graphics and music. Very good idea and really well done. Great job!:) Very challenging.

If you have time, please consider rating my game! I would really appreciate it. :)

Korwegian says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Got it after a while, If you act casual and hide only at the last minute you're good.

careless says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:00am

Beat it pretty quickly but a great idea, my fave so far of the many I have played

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:49am

Great dea! Thats very nice! Grapics music, everything! 10!

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:06am

Its like you took my life and put it on the screen!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:25am

Very good quality given the time constraint. Amazing stuff!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Pixel art in Unity is very hard to achieve, especially if you are aiming for THAT pixel perfect effect! :)
I am officially reading your code hahha! :)

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:15pm

This game is great, I think I might love everything about it! Fantastic submission. I usually try to provide constructive feedback, but in this case I don't really know what I could say. Good job!

Snuti says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Awesome concept, really enjoyable game and music and art fitted perfectly. Poor Bob though, I do hope he gets a new sock soon :)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Great concept! Super fun! Top game!

Threef says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Theme and humor at finest! Background is amazing, but I would like to see more variety on street and maybe special sound when loosing?

Spierek says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:18pm

@Threef - if only I had more time :)
@AlanZucconi - phew, now I'm glad that I formatted the code during the compo and that it's not that bad :D
@everyone else - thanks!

Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:22am

Haha nice game ! Congrats on the graphics, they are amazing ! Great music, catchy song. Excellent implementation of the theme. And challenging :) I like it!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:52am

Love it, art is wonderful, and the game polished and well thought out. I have had one of those mono-sock days - I only wish that I'd had so many things to hide behind. :p

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:18am

Simple, clean and fun! Really well executed. And man, that face in the end xD
The pixel art is really cool, and clever use of the theme!

van noctar says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Good game! Innovate and cool :)

GFM says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:42am

Haha, but at least he's wearing both shoes!

Amazing game!

raarlac says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:51am

Much fun, so short.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Hahah I love this so much fun and such a hilarious idea, rated highly. ^_^

namakemon says ...
Jun 7, 2014 @ 1:24am

just a headsup, somebody is selling something like this project in Unity's Asset Store:
https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/publisher/6446
http://www.reddit.com/r/ludumdare/comments/27ijju/ludum_dare_games_being_sold_on_unity_asset_store/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]