December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One.. Slot!

by VAMflax - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You Only Get One.. Slot!
by VAMflax, (a one-man indie developer)

A game prototype made for Ludum Dare 28, Theme:"You Only Get One"
13-15th December 2013.

NOTE!! This game is authored for 1920x1080p display, so run as close to that as you can!!


Concept
-------

You have one inventory slot. So you can only have one item at a time.
The game is super simple. Make it to the goal!!

Enjoy! :D


Contact
-------

Check out VAMflax.com, or follow @jamielowesdev on Twitter.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#229Graphics3.50
#261Theme3.31
#389Fun3.00
#390Audio2.73
#491Overall3.00
#605Innovation2.75
#1516Coolness26%

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54am

I like the particle effects! :p I made a game called Tower of Pixel for LD26 and it had something similar... you could only carry a certain number of blocks at any given time! :p

SiM2SiM says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15am

I found it really fun and the graphics were very nice.

Devtactics says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Very stylish. Nice job! :)

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:05am

Fun, but short. More levels would have been cool... but of course, time is limited. :) I think the one-item-at-a-time concept has potential for interesting puzzles.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Liked how "solid" or heavy the enemies felt. Good job :)

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Short but pretty cool. Music is good in the first moment, but after playing for a while it got a little bit annoying. Graphics and idea are great, loved it.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I love the visual style, and the mood was excellent, but the controls were a bit loose. The mouse sensitivity felt too high and the player movement was a bit too inexact. Otherwise a solid entry :)

angelk says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:37am

I love the look, I'm a sucker for the retro style graphics. The theme worked well with the game, but it was unfortunately a little too short, although it shows potential! I plan on taking a look through the source later, since this seems like a good intro example to unity :)

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Nice! Awesome entry, good work for 48 hours.

VAMflax says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Thanks everyone!

@angelk - any Qs, email VAMflax@VAMflax.com

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]