December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spirit Cave

by patrickgh3 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The story of a human and a fairy making their way though life. Enjoy!

Press M to mute sounds. And if you get stuck, press R.

Tools / technologies:
Haxe 3, HaxePunk, FlashDevelop, Ogmo Editor, Paint.NET, sfxr, Audacity, Sony Vegas,
lighting engine by Noel Berry: http://forum.haxepunk.com/index.php?topic=355.0
freesound.org (instrument sample: first few seconds of http://www.freesound.org/people/chipfork/sounds/50087/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#10Mood4.17
#46Overall3.81
#54Graphics4.08
#132Audio3.31
#189Innovation3.42
#306Theme3.22
#377Fun3.03
#629Humor1.95

Comments

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:46am

Atmospheric as hell! The graphics and lighting were gorgeous as well. I don't want to spoil anything, but overall extremely depressing.

Great work!

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

Nice use of lighting effects.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22am

Pretty awesome!
I was on the edge of my seat waiting for you to finish your game :D
Very cool indeed!

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34am

You create feelings as much as you make games. Like your previous game it makes me think of things I hardly ever do while playing a game. Great theme usage. We all only really get one other who will cast light on the dark holes so we can see them and safely jump over them to go on. The two friends reminded me of the old Head Over Heels game from the C64, Spectrum.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:41am

I played it again, oh man, it's so good :)
The idea is brilliant! Amazing!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10am

really nice atmosphere in this one, great job! looks great and is neat to play

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:36am

Lovely lighting! Loved the music and the whole mood of the game.

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35am

Touching! I've sent it to my girl friend.

Will Hwang says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:55am

Certainly a great piece of work!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:20am

Nice mood and lighting. Could a monk fall in love with fairy? Interesting! Well done!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Great game, and a great message in the story too.

Cawrtz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Awesome atmosphere & pixel art. The light effects are very cool, the colors too. The only problem is the very linear gameplay. Overall, good job !

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:54am

The constant clicking sound got a tad annoying.. Otherwise nice game and Lovely pixelart. :)

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Nice idea, but could have used more gameplay elements. As mentioned before, it's very linear.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:35am

Interesting use of light and good game mechanics. I know that you probably made the music yourself, but I found it quite annoying, you might consider changing it or removing it altogether. Ovwerall, a good atmospheric game.

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Great... simply great nothing else to say

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Very atmospheric, like the lighting effects. Theme was well executed!

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:24am

So sad. REALLY great interpretation of the theme. Loved this game, only the sound effects were below the niveau of the rest of the game. Still one of the best entries.

Jishenaz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:29pm

For some reason I love games with light mechanics. There aren't enough of them. Lovely game. The messages in the game were touching.

kirbytails7 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:22am

Simple and clean. I like the concept, though I think the dual control scheme would work better with some puzzles. Nice atmosphere, although it feels a little preachy.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:11pm

I really enjoyed it. I liked the way the two characters interacted with each other.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:53pm

this one really got to me! beautiful use of interaction, dialogue and concept! great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]