December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cool Fighter

by KHANanaphone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My idea was to make a fighting game where each character has only one move. This was not the best idea for various reasons, but I had fun with it. The audio is probably my favorite part.

Controls: Mouse to choose character

WSAD or Arrows to move/jump/crouch
I or Spacebar to attack

Double tap left/right to do a dash

Made with Construct 2. There are some issues I can't really do anything about on some browsers, so Chrome is recommended. Don't use Opera if you value your eyes. Firefox has had mixed success, usually audio issues, some crashing.

Edit: Included 2P version, it is not remotely balanced: (1P: WSAD + Space, 2P: Arrows + Enter)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#214Fun3.32
#231Audio3.04
#270Mood3.12
#464Innovation2.96
#478Theme2.92
#491Overall3.00
#611Graphics2.71
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58am

It works like a charm in Chrome. A fighting game is a unique choice for the Ludum Dare, I liked this one despite the balance issues and all. Good work!

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Nice audio :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Very unbalanced, but still very fun, and I really like the music and sprites! :D

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:41am

Had a lot of fun with this. I love the idea behind it, balancing aside (understandable being a 48 hour challenge after all!) Made me feel all kind of emotions. Fly kicking a bloke from the air for the kill made me feel happy and then getting cheesed out of a victory when the AI cornered me made me feel angry (in a completely good way!). Nice job mate.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:45am

Pretty nice one, hard though. Well, maybe I just suck at it :D I like the idea!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:48am

Really great for 48h compo. I liked the concept and the execution, it's fun to try and get the most out of just one attack.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55am

A workable game can definitely be made out of this concept, and I had a lot of fun actually.

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:39am

Great idea and impressive AI given the time constraint!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Cute! Don't see this type of game often.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Really special. The audio is pretty good. I could not understand a single sentence, though...

smash ball says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Oh gosh the purple just wrecks...mostly wrecks me...This was a rather interesting game to play. Couldn't read the text for the life of me. Was enjoyable though.

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:40am

Cool idea, and pretty well executed considering the circumstances. As you noted, there are definitely balancing issues. I hope you continue working on it, because I think this has potential. If you do, please change the font.

Also, kudos for a fighting game in 48 hours.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:45am

Love the pixel artwork and the concept of a fighting game in 48h is brilliant - thanks for putting this out there, refreshing!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]