December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Carry the one

by goerp - Jam Entry

EDIT: I've added a post compo version. The 'Story' part of the game is the same as the compo one, but there are some fixes for the slowness and unresponsiveness.
I have also added a random level part. You can play random puzzles where you also can get hints.

My first ever puzzle game.
You start with the '1' and you have to figure out how to get to the end.

Controls:
LEFT RIGHT = move,
UP = stand on toes
DOWN = stand normal, when standing on toes
and CTRL for action

I think the game is easy enough to understand how it works but can be tricky to finish, so you can find hints at

http://blog.goerp.nl/?p=300


I ran out of time so there are only 5 levels and 3 of them mostly as an introduction.
So be prepared: the last two are pretty tricky.
But try to get to the end, I think you will like it!

I had some trouble with my site so no web link yet, sorry.

Credits:
I wrote all of the code except the generating of the backgrounds (from flashandmath.com).
Music made by me, but a while ago.
Some sound effects were public domain, but mostly made by me.
Font: Viner Hand ITC, Copyright (c) International Typeface Corporation 1996. I think I'm allright to use it this way, but information on the internet is not always trustworthy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#11Innovation(Jam)3.95
#125Theme(Jam)3.26
#229Overall(Jam)3.16
#235Mood(Jam)2.96
#288Fun(Jam)2.80
#366Audio(Jam)2.48
#385Humor(Jam)1.92
#437Graphics(Jam)2.54

Comments

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:08am

Sorry for people that may be trying to upload the game: I found a bug (a game breaker) and had to re-upload. Should be working now.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:37am

Clever concept, but the stage with the four blackboards was a nightmare - and I'm actually good at math!

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:06am

I really enjoyed playing this entry. Having to place the numbers into the correct position to get the answer to exit the door is a clever idea. Glad to see there is someone else making educational games besides me.

Enneract says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:48am

That was a really awesome and original take on the theme. Although maybe scaling the difficulty a bit slower would have been good.

paras238 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Although the game eventually sways away from the theme, this concept has the potential to become a really really good and mind boggling puzzle game. The concept is fresh and awesome. Nice job man! Keep on working on this.
Continue workin

Volute says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Cool idea, a great take on the theme !

BrothersT says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Very innovative game, I don't think I've seen anything like it. It was fun to work out the maths, had to use parts of my brain that have been dormant for years. Only problem is the walk was very slow, and even slower than is was designed to be, because it was bugged. It kept kind of stopping and starting many times a second. If you could make it so that you could get from place to place a lot faster I'd definitely play this again.

LexGarza says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Awesome concept,but the difficulty jumped out of nowhere, going from one blackboar to four in one stage was a little to much XD, other than that, a great game :D

Daveloper says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:18pm

nice idea, adding your number to the board made for some interesting puzzles.
Feedback: movement feels a bit sluggish.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Yes the movement is still not very good (It's still about a 100% better than what I had after 48 hours, would you believe?).
The problem lies in my home-made collision detection. I think that it would be wiser just to do a complete overhaul of that than just try to fiddle with the way it now is.
So until I have a post compo version people have to put up with it (and it isn't that bad is it?).

drentsoft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Very nice, yeah it is a similar concept to mine isn't it? (this one)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=28854
Not quiiiite what I was intending for when it's finished but I like your concept too :)

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Very good idea, but the game area isn't centered properly, I can't see the lower area of stage 4 :(

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Wow, the puzzles are so clever, nicely done work!

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Good game.

finefin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:02pm

I really like the idea. but the avatar is soooo slow :( I lost patience to finish all the levels. so fix the controls and I play this again ;)

triforcespark says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:07am

Movement is a bit slow, but it's nice to see math as a game mechanic :)

murilo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Now that's original! But I stopped at the fourth level. Good game man!

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Was thinking of this idea during the jam, really nice that you managed to implement it so much better than what I had in mind. Liked the ending, the music and the implementation of most things. More levels and it could be a greeat game.

occash says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:53pm

I like it so much! I like math very much and this game is whole for me!

netmute says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Nice graphics and music. Really liked the overall style. Good job :)

(I think the walking animation is broken, even in the post compo version. It doesn't cycle completely.)

OneDee says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Tricky indeed. Took a while to figure it out!

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:38pm

the atmopsphere and the maincharacter are already awesome.. but the gameidea is sooooo cool :D respect people :)

OneDee says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Tricky indeed. Took a while to figure it out!

Sestren says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I love this idea, and it makes for some great math puzzles. Please expand on this concept. :)

Xavier says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Movement so slooooooow.....! that my patience has run out. Please, can you fix it?

Jerre says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Innovation 5 stars, nice concept.

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Innovative idea :) I love it (Innovation 5/5)

Espyo says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:01pm

I really liked the concept! But some things were poorly made...
For one thing, I can see moving works by the key's operative system repeat rate, which is kinda funny, and also a nightmare for people who have an insanely high repeat rate (looking at J).
It took a bit to realize how to get through the first level with a blackboard, as the tilde really threw me off; it should just be a dash instead, and that way I'd get right away it was a minus.
Still, the worst problem was on level 4, that's just too tall for my screen to display. Once I teleported to the bottom, I couldn't see myself.
Other than that, the mood is very puzzle-game-like, and I'm sure it could've been a real brain twister for the math enthusiasts out there, if it had more rooms.
Finally, pressing R to restart would've been nice.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Nice concept and great game was fairly good.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:38am

Really nice idea for a puzzle game!
Walking around didn't really add anything to the game, especially with how slow it was - I think it would've worked just as well (maybe even better) if you instead just show the player a few blackboards, the intended result and the starting number and let them figure out where to put their number without having to move a character around. So if you were to develop this further, my advice in short is to either develop the "platforming" segments to be more interesting by themselves, or to just completely embrace the puzzle aspect and do away with the platform stuff.
It wasn't the most fun I've had with a game this LD, but it's probably one of the more innovative and surprising takes on the theme and that counts for a whole lot :)

drludos says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Very innovative idea, I love it! I read your post-mortem, and I'm quite amazed you finished such a game from scratch while not being "in the mood for LD". Congrats!

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Good gameplay! You could create a serious game!

StMatn says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:24pm

This game is great!
I really like the idea! To be honest, though I am studying math, I wouldn't dare to submit a math game :D The reason is, that I wasn't in the mood to twist my brain aroung level 4. My knowledge about problem complexity told me not to begin the try-and-error-procedure :D On the other hand, hint #9 reignited my ambition and I figured out the rest of that level and the last one. I would suggest, that you should add a very simple level between 3 and 4, that teaches the player, that he does not need to use all the blackboards. That may prevent some frustration on level 4... or it will show more of the complexity :D

Besides that, I like the protagonist! The game was really fun after I brought myself to do the mental work ;)
Great work! Keep it on :)

loxo says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:41am

Unique concept and I really liked the animation at the end. Maybe you should put more such animations in your game. There are two things I don't like. The character movement is too slow, even in the post compo version. And the level design, the difficulty is raised too sudden. But overall a nice entry, with some additional work this could be a great game.

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Really nice game. Good take on the theme. The puzzles were really clever.

Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Very clever math training concept! Nice mood too!

caranha says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:16pm

That is a fantastic idea :-)

I would love to see a few more intermediate levels between the three "introductory" levels and the last two "real" levels, but I really liked the game as a whole!

ashen says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:26am

Very original and fun game. A bit hard in places, I picked up NaN and couldn't get rid of it. One of the most innovative (and educational) games this LD. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]