December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

you only get one chance to save christmas

by titoboss - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello, to begin: thank you to interesting to my game.
For my first LD I would like to present a rogue-like ,at least what it is possible to make within the allotted time.
I coded its in C with the library SDL.
To make the pictures i use gimp and paint.
I wanted to make its because I think the fact of having a random map correspond well to the subject because that we cannot have that once the same map.
It's the story of Santa Claus. He was going to distribute these toys when he crashed and lost presents.
You have to find them and beat the boss of the zone before leaving. It is your chance to save Christmas.
YOU ONLY GET ONE!

All about how to play is explain in the title screen.
Move with arrow keys.
If you clean a lot of map you will have more (and differents) enemies in each map.
When you clean a map you have chance to find life/keys/teleport/item to be stronger or presents.

I think i forgot nothing so HAVE FUN and good luck to all my concurents!

PS: Sorry if i do mistakes I'm french.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#497Audio2.52
#629Humor1.95
#842Theme2.22
#886Graphics2.08
#911Mood1.82
#931Fun2.08
#943Innovation2.04
#980Overall2.12

Comments

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:51am

The intro screen was a bit confusing. White text on light gray background is not a very readable look. Especially if there are so many different keys to explain and so forth.

Shooting direction was very confusing. Seemed random if the shots flew a bit up or down when shooting left or right.

Obviously this could all use some work. But I am going to have to say great job overall anyway! Because creating this from scratch in C in that time is awesome. Good job!

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Congratulations on your first ludum dare entry. You did it. You finished your game. :) And in C nonetheless.

Some critique:
As mentioned, hard-to-read font in white on light grey with many infos is not good for presentation.
The game as a whole needs more polish: More readible graphics, less particles, less confusing shooting directions.
And what was that game over timer?

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:15pm

The main menu is too long to read with a bad choice of color. It is well design in a sens you have to read everything to know how to launch a game ^^.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:07pm

The controls were a bit akward, and the graphics didn't really match. Liked your view on the theme thou.I made a rogue-like too, so thumbs up for that :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:46am

Enemies are funny but It's very difficult to aim them :( If you could shoot forward...

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:45am

congratulations for you first game! it takes a while to get used to it

Capitals says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:25pm

The text was not clear enough but I liked the seemingly random generation in the rooms.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:27am

Not bad for first LD, I like the fact that you code it in C-family language ;) Tips for game were very hard to read, but same game is ok, good job and happy new year! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]