December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shatter

by Cherno - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Shatter is a game about lost hope. You are the last person in existence up against
a world of the "infected". To make matters worse, your only weapon against them, a
trusty pistol, has only one bullet remaining. On the bright side, that bullet seems
to last forever. Once fired, you can collect it from anywhere, be it an infected, a
wall, anything.

Survive as long as you can, and remember: You Only Have One.

The game can take a while to load, so just give it some time. :)

Controls
========
- Use WASD to move around, and Q and E to rotate the camera.
- Use the mouse to aim and click to shoot
- The M key will return you back to the main menu (game over)
- The Escape key will release the mouse; clicking back in the window will focus it again.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All assets and code made and written from scratch within 48 hours
for the 28th Ludum Dare Competition. The game was written from scratch in Java using LWJGL for OpenGL.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://youtube.com/TheChernoProject
http://twitter.com/TheCherno

Livestreamed on: http://twitch.tv/thecherno

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#11Audio4.00
#47Theme3.87
#153Mood3.38
#169Overall3.48
#324Fun3.13
#384Innovation3.06
#474Humor2.29
#575Graphics2.78

Comments

mclordalex says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:41am

Cherno nice game I have watched you on the livestream as I was making my own game but this game is AWESOME everyone who clicked to go to this post you better downlod this and play!!!

WestonPlayz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:58am

Nice Job!

WestonPlayz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:01am

Love the music BTW :D

Reevezy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41am

Cool, but no source? That's a Jam requirement.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43am

This game is great! I especially love the music!

evan100216 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

@Reevezy, there is a source code link.

Reevezy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

Yeah, there wasn't when I posted. Great!

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26am

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=30819

Nessic says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:07am

Love the music!

doitle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:08am

When I first entered the large room and fired... And missed... It really heightened the one bullet mechanic for me. Also nice song.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:18am

Pretty cool :)

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19am

This was quite neat! One bullet? at first I thought "Too easy!" I was corrected with a game over. The collision seems a little off though :(

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24am

Music was awesome. The game itself was pretty fun too, I don't know how you guys manage to make 3D games in such a short amount of time!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24am

Music was great! I managed to miss a zombie and chase the bullet down the longest hallway in the game lol, so I added some probably unintentional humor points. Also, my non-gamer girlfriend was entertained and says she approves :P

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30am

Lost my one good bullet...

Anyway, collision is a bit off and could use some acceleration on the enemy movement so you can sort of tell where he's heading. Other than that, good job.

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21am

Really good use of the theme. Could maybe be a little faster paced.

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35am

Good use of theme and nice mood. I liked the shooting mechanics. Nice job!

ViliX says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:00am

Nice game! I have watched you on twicht, while I was making mine game.
(And also I watched your video game tutorial series)

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15am

Dat feeling when you are surrounded and miss the only shot you got.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40am

Cool. Took me awhile to realise I could die.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:40am

It took me a while to figure out you could rotate the camera with Q and E, but after that point it was all smooth sailing. Cool idea and a really nice mood!

Anton_D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:16pm

The music was great! The gameplay was okay, the controls were a little messy in my opinion, but overal: good game!

marccspro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Nice game !

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Music and graphics are great, and the gameplay is fun.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Nice music and clever use of the theme.

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Music is very nice, but couldn't fully test it as it ran very slowly on my computer.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:26am

Watched the stream! glad to see it all together :D

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:58am

Nice Music!

loxo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:56am

Nice background music. Some sound effects e.g. for firing the bullet would have been nice. But I don't like the zoomed in perspective, it's not much room for reaction when a infected is coming towards you. And sometime it's hard to find the bullet.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]