December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Gift

by CarbonCoder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only got one present for Christmas, but it's the greatest present ever. Everyone in town has become a bully green with jealousy.
Protect your gift by throwing snowballs at them!

--Controls--
Move: WASD
Throw snowball: Click in the direction you want to throw
Pick up gift: Space
(Hint: Run up to a bully and press space to grab the gift out of their hands)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#86Humor3.50
#123Fun3.50
#192Theme3.46
#233Innovation3.32
#258Mood3.14
#306Overall3.25
#399Graphics3.11
#755Audio1.47

Comments

mruno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Very good idea! It was interesting how the enemies can't actually die, funny story too. Good job! :)

multikorv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Clever! It was a nice combination that made it challenging. Solid implementation, felt stable.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Good job!

SamH says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Nice mechanics. Could become a well balanced and challenging game with minimal additional effort.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Great game!
Pretty challenging, especially when too many bulies enter the screen. The bossfight was fun as well. I really like the idea, that you must protect your present ^^
Graphics are quite nice as well.
Good work!

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:37pm

The boss is great :)

I had a problem with the game, though. Sometimes, one bully will get stuck in a corner and won't run away off screen, preventing you from finishing the level.

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Really fun concept!

robhor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Fun game! Love how they pick up your gift and just run off with it.

Mirroar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Pretty cool idea, now if only it wasn't so short :)

bttf says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:00am

Idk, this game made me laugh out loud for some reason. Good job

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:34am

Haha! That was great! I loved the clever mechanic and giggled the whole time whilst playing it! Destroyed santa, too! Wohoo!

danbo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Nice work! I love the mechanic of moving the gift around and protecting it, though obviously you can just carry it forever. With a little tweaking and fleshing out, this could be really good.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:44pm

That was awesome! I managed to beat Santa on my first go but it was close, I was down to one heart. Really love being able to nudge the gift box with snowballs too, helped me reposition it when it got close to the edges.

Also, I was moving when I defeated Santa but afterwards the game stopped accepting my directional controls although the character kept running in the direction I had been when I won. It was a bit funny and only the most minor of bugs.

Well done!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Glad it was so short because nothing happened.

chriscodes says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Nice game! Such original gameplay. Well done

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:11pm

I like the idea and the fact that these bullies don't really die! :-)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Nice game, I love minimal graphics, but I don't like lack of music and sound effects.

LukuluK says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:05pm

That's a very funny game, challenging with good balancing and cool visual feedbacks. Well done !
It just need some sounds and music.

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Nice use of the theme, bonus points for adding a christmas theme! Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]