December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape from planet YOGOAAT

by neekobus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my entry. It is really short, but I am quite happy of the result.
Javascript / Canvas 2D. No framework.
Much more difficult to release than my previous entry !

Work better on Webkit (Chrome, Safari).
Animated capture : http://nee.free.fr/ld28/release1/ld28.gif

EDIT : You have to take all the items in the level to the drop zone.
The bigs items will slow your move. The smaller item (in level 2) is an Anti-gravity : it allow you to jump higher.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#386Graphics3.13
#641Humor1.93
#641Mood2.56
#653Fun2.65
#661Audio2.08
#681Innovation2.62
#724Overall2.74
#867Theme2.14
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:31am

I like the concept, really solid idea that you should continue on. I was disappointed there was no reset button, though!

midgety says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:55am

I like the art and the idea. The game is fun. It's like a game you would see on OneMoreLevel or other online gaming sights like that

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12am

The collision acted a bit strange here and there, but overall, not bad. :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:18am

I was interested in the concept, but the game crashed at the start of level 2? and I couldn't go any further. Or I'm playing it wrong.

WBojangles says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

Want to play, but I can't escape the title screen..

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:27am

Good concept I enjoyed the work that went into the level design.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:27am

I do like, Could have done with a background ambience.

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:28am

Very buggy and I need a reset button lol, but other than that not a bad puzzle game, also doesn't really feel like it fits the theme

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

The concept was cool and the foreground/background movement was visually impressive, but the lack of levels is what really killed it.

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

Wish there were more levels!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18am

Liked the concept, but the lack of levels killed it.

CoderMusgrove says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41am

I love the art and the concept, disappointed to not being able to reset..

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50am

I cannot get through the title screen :(

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54am

Scrub my last comment - it worked when I refreshed the page! I liked the visuals but didn't quite understand the what each of the items were meant to be doing.
Also quite a few bugs ;)

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:31am

Cute character, nice concept!

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:49am

Got stuck on the first bit, didn't see the hole in the ground. Does need a reset button! Pretty cool otherwise. Nice job!

ErikU says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:51am

Interesting concept, wish there had been a bit more content! A bit of odd physics behaviour when carrying that small piece at the bottom of the cave. Overall nice entry though.

TheCams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41am

I like the idea. The first puzzle was great. It's a shame the jump is kinda buggy, I'd like to see more levels ! good job

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:12am

Was a bit confused on the first level how to get past the hole. Nice graphics, some ambient music would rally add to the mood.

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Nice idea, I like the graphics too :).

majorcrampas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Liked it! We have a similar mood ;)

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:26pm

I really miss the reset button. But still a very cool game!

JackBid says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:58pm

I like the idea and graphics, it is a little buggy and not many levels, but I am sure that if you had more time you could fix it. It is a nice idea, you should keep working on it!

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Really good game! The jumping sound scared me so bad though the first time :)

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01pm

The game was really short, but I think you can make a really fun metroidvania esque puzzle platformer if you work this out to a full game. (Certain items you hold give you certain powers, but you can only hold one at a time)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Very few levels but was fun while it lasted.

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50pm

I Like design and simply control

OtherAlexy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04pm

View is only 1/4 of what it should be.

barrucadu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I like the idea, but it could have done with some more levels, and collisions with the walls was a bit broken.

Pitoum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Nice graphics.
But the game crashed after the level 3.
Well done anyway! I like the concept :)

mckoss says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Once you get an item stuck in a hole - there is no getting out - game over. That's frustrating.

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Definitely need a reset level button for when a fool drops the heavy weight on level 2 into the hole...whoever that person who did that may be...stop looking at me!

I also got stuck in the ceiling after grabbing the Anti-Gravity item on level 2 by jumping high then dropping the item. Seemed like the act of dropping jumped the character up instead of putting the item down, forcing me into the ceiling.

I had fun with the game and I like the concept for sure. Expand on it and keep it going!

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I got stuck on the floor.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I ended up glitching out of the room... so a restart button would be really nice! Its a really nice start to the game! I enjoyed it and included it in my Ludum Dare 28 video compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/sSLhI-W0qCg

hnjslater says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

Good fun, collision detection a little odd. Super pretty.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46am

Nice graphics and concept.

neekobus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:47am

Thanks for all the reviews !

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:10am

Weird collisions! but fun ald nice overall!

ezolotko says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:22am

Cool

jomomomo says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Nice job, good puzzle game. Would like to see more levels, and maybe make it a bit harder. Add spikes in the caves or some enemies?

xrm0 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Nice, but a bit buggy.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]