December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Matchbox

by Sos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I don't know what kind of game this is.

I made a DOS game, yay! It should run smoothly on anything starting from 8MHz 8088. It's supposed to work flawlessly on any DOS distribbution or under DOSbox. It should also run pretty well on an actual old-school PC. If you have that, I'd appreciate any reports regarding that!

Features 4-colour CGA graphics and PC speaker tunes!

Mac version requires Boxer - http://boxerapp.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Mood4.16
#21Graphics4.33
#39Audio3.69
#158Humor3.19
#202Overall3.40
#427Innovation3.00
#515Fun2.84
#676Theme2.56
#1795Coolness0%

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34am

The visuals are amazing, no joke. From a technical standpoint, it's pretty impressive too. Recommended.

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:57am

This looks really cool, but as a Mac user I'm not sure if there's a way for me to run it?

Lythom says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:28am

I'm... of two minds about your game.
The game experience is good : one click play, instant immersion in an old dos game exotic universe I missed so much, global "wtf this is so weird and cool!".
On the other side... Is there any "good" end ? If no please make clearer than the only two game buttons are "left" and "right" because I just got stuck wondering "What am I suppose to do ?". The starting screen ask you to press space button but this key doesn't seem to do anything in game => This is misleading the player you should either say "anykey" or one of the buttons used to play. If space key does something (I missed) somewhere, you should really give player a feedback when using it at a wrong place.
Thanks for the game =)

Tao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:40am

The use of DosBox makes me all tingly inside.
The atmosphere was dark yet fascinating.
Brings me back to the good old days.

feiss says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33am

A dos game, way too cool! A brave effort. What did you used for it? Plain C? allegro? Sdl? Graphics are great.

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:40am

lol D:

TheSheep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Very nice, buy any instructions?

Jilt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Haha this is epic.
Your game has such an amazing graphic style ! Love it.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Impressive.

netguy204 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:47am

Yesssssss! Felt great to break out DOSBox. Wish I still had a proper old school box and CGA monitor around to experience the full glory. Wonderfully executed. Laughed at the end... I assume that was the end.... hm...

Music was wonderful (and contextual!)

Graphics were evocative and brought back great memories.

Pol says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25am

Wow, I really love the music ! Is there a way to get it somehow ?

Tyu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Really love the style! I'm struggling with the innovation note though. Is using DOS innovative or sooooooo old fashioned? Hmm.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:50pm

So cool! I wonder what did you use to make it. I like the graphics and in general its smell of old...

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:01pm

I really liked it!

Makdaam says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:44pm

I liked the pre-release palette (black-green-red-yellow) more :) but this is nice too. Going to go play Colorado now.

rxi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Really lovely artwork and really impressive achievement, You said you coded this in assembly?

I can't seem to find the source code for it, am I missing something?

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22pm

It's amazing how much atmosphere you can get from just three colours. Great artwork!

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Your CGA art and music are great! I didn't quite understand the connection to the theme, though. Also, controls would occasionally hang for me (windows .exe download).

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Sos, you mad scientist! You are always entertaining. This game amused me and I lol'd at the ending.

CGA.

Never forget. :)

nyytroh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Ok, graphics and music are amazing piece of old school game dev. But aside from that, am I missing the point (or am I super dumb)? It's like Dear Esther in DOS?

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Loved the CGA graphics, impressive stuff, really dug the DOS music too. Am tempted to try dig out an old 286 from the loft and try load it up. :D

samooJAM says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:49pm

trotting through the scenes stirs nostalgia vibes

kibertoad says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:33pm

awesome, this art style just might be the next big thing. again.

dudsen says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Fuck, I need a faster CPU to play ;)
Thanks for that great stuff!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:54pm

This is pretty damn awesome.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Stunning! The gameplay is lacking but the run animation is mesmerizing - I'd love to see the source for this!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]