December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Digital Toilet World

by Alex Higgins - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a cleaner, set to purge a server world of viruses. You are accompanied by a fighting monster. The catch? He frequently goes to the bathroom, and there is only one toilet in the whole world.

If you liked this and want to check out more of my games, please check out http://sassyechidna.blogspot.com/
Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#111Humor3.37
#282Overall3.28
#313Fun3.16
#328Innovation3.16
#351Mood2.97
#364Theme3.13
#554Audio2.39
#584Graphics2.76

Comments

alchiggins says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Link to windows executable and source file are the same link, by the way.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:01am

LOL ! Ok so this is the best game title ever.
And man that little guy had to doo doo so much! What did he eat? Loved the boss fight with all the different types of shots, especially those black/red homing shots that shoot after you once they reach your X coordinate.

Needed some music but it was still entertaining. Great story and concept. A little monotonous to have to go back to the toilet but the paths opened up shortcuts that helped early on.

Thanks for a fun game!

alchiggins says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:53am

Thanks! I'm glad you liked it!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:50pm

I really enjoyed it. My only gripe with it is that movement is a little slow and that it is quite easy, since you just have to avoid the projectiles and the white ghost does all the job for you. Otherwise it was fun to explore and the final boss has some interesting attack patterns. Nice!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Nice effort, cool idea and well implemented.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:18pm

@fullmontis - if I had more time, I'd have made the game so that you more actively direct your companion to attack. For me, shooter games have always been more about evasion and survival, so I focused on that.

Thanks for the feedback!

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:26pm

What a surprising game! Please review other games in order to everybody know about this game. Ruun to the toileeeet :D. Congratulation seriously. You made something interesting and funny. I only missed some music but anyway Good job dev!

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Fun game! I had just one problem because the ghost went to the bathroom before it should and pretty near the toilet.Then huge monster became a problem whenever it had to go. Nice job.

If you have time please rate my game! I would really appreciate it :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Very funny use of the theme! Reminds me of the games that shipped with early versions of windows back in the day, and of myself after eating Chipotle, lol! Great work!

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:50pm

I couldn't pass it up-- my favorite use of the theme so far! This game succeeds by being so perfectly balanced between seriousness and humor. Nice graphics (your friend's expression when he has to go is priceless) and the dialog is pretty priceless. Awesome work!

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:52am

Wow, thanks for the positive response!
@Glovecat - if I make a post compo version of this I would love to add music.
@_zulli - pooping right next to the toilet is the best. I'll definitely check your game out this evening.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:03am

This game reminded me of a game I used to play when I was really little. It was called Digimon World; you'd have a Digimon follow you around, and sometimes it had to poop. I loved that game so much. Anyway, nice job! Solid piece of work.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:07am

cool game, i like this

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:13am

@auto_suggestion - this was partially inspired by Digimon World, actually!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Can't play, mac

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:33am

Haha very silly and entertaining game. Well worth the play.

insane66 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:49pm

That was pretty good. I like that you can play all the way through to the boss fight without dying and restarting 100 times. Good balance of difficulty for a quick game.

SamH says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:49am

I could not run this game because I use Linux. However, attempting to install it using Wine results in an error popup saying "Cabinet is not valid". Since "Cabinet" means "Toilet" in French, I’m still giving you stars for unintentional humour.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:13pm

@SamH bahahahaha that's excellent, thanks! I'm sorry you couldn't play it.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Fun entry ! And totally complete : Intro, NPC, Boss ending sequence... And a very interesting world.
Each time I change screen I had to push the direction key again which was a bit disturbing and stressful when I was in a poop-urgency.
The Boss bullet pattern are also well designed.
Congrats on making such a polished entry in 48h

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:05am

Lots of good parts in this game, the text is interesting the boss is nice. Most of the normal mobs however are kind of bland. The toilet mechanic did not add much and the strong viruses were not enough of a threat.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:47am

Very well done! I loved the story, and I loved your use of YOGO.

Thanks for entering the compilation!

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:56am

fixme:advapi:DecryptFileA ("C:\\users\\ben\\Temp\\IXP000.TMP\\", 00000000): stub

I get the feeling that this just simply isn't going to work.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:45am

Pretty solid, though not terribly fun without any real challenge. The main mechanic was somewhat tedious, but at least there wasn't as much backtracking as there could have been.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:27am

Can't play windows games..

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Amusing game :) Quite a lot of content too, as far as compo entries go!

ViliX says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Neat idea :) 4/5 for mood

Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:19pm

great artwork & very fun! I left you a comment on game jolt but i forgot to say that ^ v ^

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]