December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

siamese

by ittlebit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A pretty simple little game about trying to find and connect with just one other thing. if you want to restart or play again just refresh the browser.

Thanks for taking a look!

Sound fx done with sfxr: http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html
Music done with bosca ceoil: http://distractionware.com/blog/2013/08/bosca-ceoil/
Made using the Phaser HTML5 Game Engine: http://phaser.io/

First attempt at programming a game and my first ludem dare!
huzzah.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#174Innovation3.45
#390Mood2.92
#421Audio2.67
#528Overall2.97
#629Humor1.95
#653Fun2.65
#789Graphics2.30
#832Theme2.25

Comments

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:45am

Really quick to finish, liked the idea overall =)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:43pm

That was a bizarre gameplay! :D I liked it!

ittlebit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:43pm

@louis.denizet
@AlanZucconi

Thanks for the feedback!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Really nice for a first game and nice idea too. Good job!

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:24pm

I liked the game, but it doesn't match the theme, at all. I mean it doesn't even closely resemble the theme. Did you cheat?

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Pretty interesting gameplay. Nice job!

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Nice idea and it worked well!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36pm

interesting little game, cute to the boot :)

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Pretty short, but interesting. Good moodiness, and i dig the logo.

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Neat idea, but the controls could use some work.

netguy204 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:41am

Wonderful! My favorite so far. Here's why:

* Music and graphics worked together to create a mood that I thought was perfect.
* Controls were quirky but fair and played perfectly with the mechanic of walls causing you damage.
* I was expecting to just smack my "other half" and be done with it but ended up needing to dance for a while. Made me chuckle.

Wish I could have played more creative / moody things from the same mind that brought me this first "level"

Technical quibble:
* Wish i could restart without refreshing

GingerMess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Interesting. There's a lovely style about this that I can't put my finger on, but I appreciate. Nice.

ittlebit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Thank everyone for the feedback so far. It's been great participating in this with all of you :D

anvoz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Wow. I really like the idea and the sound.

Hope I could find more mini games like this in LD28. I think 48 hours game contest is only for games which have unique idea and it should be really simple instead of focusing too much to polished thing up or providing a lot of levels to play.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:58pm

A most peculiar game. Reminded me of Osmos - pretty frustrating! :P When i finally got them together only to have them come apart again I was bummed out. Succeeding was satisfying however.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Very unique! The physics felt a bit hard to manage and some of the levels generated were a lot harder than others. But overall a really neat concept! Audio was spot on and the visuals really appealed, even though they were simple. Well done!

danbo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Sometimes the levels are impossible. It's quite fiddly, but not a horrible idea.

Ditto says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Very interesting mechanic, controlling both characters was surprisingly easy! The bumpsound is really annoying though! ^^

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Very nice music and concept. Really liked the contrast between the frustrating mechanic and the beautiful ending. It was high reward.

Fervir says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:08pm

This was cool.
I spent the first half of the game controlling the orange one, and then I realized that it would be easier to focus on the blue one.
Neat game.

tudd says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:58am

Disconnect?

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:10pm

I really like this idea, quite unique - interesting take on the theme. Rated highly. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]