December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dirt Cheap Dungeon

by dalbinblue - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have come to the lair of the fearsome monster that took from you something dear to you a long time ago. You are here to take your revenge, and armed with your... your... What, you forgot everything? Lucky for you there is a merchant near by for just an eventuality. Too bad dungeoneering hasn't been that lucrative as of late.

Explore the dungeon and get back what you have lost!

Made in XNA and .NET 4.0. To run, unzip and run the included executable. You will need XNA installed. There is a link above for the redistributable if you need it.

Controls:
---------
Arrow Keys / Gamepad Directions - Move
Space / Game A Button - Attack / Use Objects / Advance Text (Pretty much everything).


Constructive criticism is always welcome.

Edit: Fixed a game break bug where knock back from an attach can embed the player of a monster in a wall.

Edit x2: Hopefully fixed game crash when playing music on a DRM error with MP3s. Swapped to a different file format for music.

Also hints:
- Not all paths can be taken by all weapons
- There are five health up items hidden in the game, you can get to all of them with any weapon
- There is a hidden room

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#10Fun4.00
#30Overall3.91
#67Graphics4.00
#91Mood3.55
#145Audio3.26
#155Humor3.20
#299Theme3.23
#528Innovation2.86

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:28am

Fun little game, here. The gravity wand was by far my favorite weapon. Digging the pixel art as well.

I wish my character's direction could be changed mid-movement. For some reason, if I hold down a key and press another he keeps walking in the old one. That's a minor thing, though. Overall, good work!

Tym0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34am

i really enjoyed it. quite good overall! Unfortunatly i pushed an one-eyed enemy out of the (locked) room where he was unreachable to kill.

Senevri says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41am

Crashes when pressing spacebar.

Kep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

Impressive amount of work done over the weekend. Well done.
You probably know you can push guys through walls. That's the biggest problem I've seen, and all things considered, that is great news.
Keep up the good work!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

@Tym0r and @Kep, I'll take a look at he knock-back logic.

@Senevri, did you get a specific error? What locality is your machine in case that's the issue (I've had those problems before).

madmaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19am

Great level design

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

would love to see a web or osx version

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50am

Main characters reminds me of Lolo from the NES. Had fun!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:11am

Oooooh! I like a lot of what you have going on here. I especially love that shopkeeper sprite. HOLY CRAP! The neat little weapon swap mechanic (lol at the restocking fee) and the different uses. Some of the puzzles were really well done, too. As usual, you packed a lot of variety into the sprites.

Now for a few issues I had. Not major, but your slime sprite seemed to have a kind of box around it. No other sprite looked like that, so I'm guessing it's an odd sprite sheet miscalculation somewhere or maybe it's just my machine.

Also, the slimes were oddly tough to kill due to the player's hitbox or maybe it's the sword swipe hitbox being too small or something?

And I found a bug that caused me to have to restart. In the room with all the little blue squid thingies where you have to kill them to open the door at the bottom, I stayed in the doorway and killed a few baddies before going in. When I went into the room, the doors locked behind me and then I killed them all and the doors didn't open. So I guess it didn't register the kills because I did them in the doorway before the room locked?

The music is great, the spriting is really consistent and imaginative, and the core mechanic is really solid. Your approach to the theme was very entertaining. Great game as usual!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54am

@SonnyBone, thanks for the really detailed feedback! The bug with the doorways is interesting. The way it works is it calculates each frame if there are any enemies in the list or room actors and swaps state as appropriate. The first thing that came to mind is that you glitched an enemy through the wall so that you couldn't kill him. If that's the case I think I got that fixed, but if not, I may have more to look in to.

@ehtd I will admit that I did look at the sprites from Lolo and a dozen other games for inspiration and some animation guides.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:03am

I got a crash on hitting space the first time. Opening the debugger, I got an error that song playback failed because the song might be DRM protected, or something to that extent.

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:17am

Cool game. I noticed that when changing rooms the rocks and enemies disappear, but the hidden items remain, so it's possible to spot where they are by changing rooms.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:27am

@kirbytails7, thanks for the information. The song was an MP3 file, so there may be a codec issue. I switched back to just a plain wav file (it's still a small download).

@Darkcoder That issue is because of how I handled objects that reset and objects that have a permanent state in the game. I unload sprites for temporary objects when you leave the room, but also before the camera pan is performed. I can probably fix it in 10 minutes or so by attaching to the camera move complete event instead of at the initial loading of the room, but it's not a game crasher so it would not be in the spirit of LD to make that kind of change after the deadline.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Solid game! Well done on staying true to the theme, it's certainly appropriate. The game rewards me when I've done something right, and whenever I don't feel rewarded, it's my fault. That's a good sign. Engaging, challenging, charming!

Pantzar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29pm

This was a very fun game. Love the pixel art, and every room felt well planned.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:32pm

wow, impressive submission! great soundtrack too? what did you make it in?

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Love the art! took me a while to get the theme aspect XD

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:38pm

I thought it was really fun, good job!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:45pm

@TeddyNashor I used Famitracker to make the music. It replicates the NES sound chip which is about as complex of a music composition as I can get my head around.

01010111 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:16am

Cool game, love the graphics, the fox merchant is super cute!

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Nice Zelda-like with appropriately retro graphics that I quite enjoyed!

pele says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:15am

This could easily pass as a SNES game, very decent pixel art, it all fit in very nicely. The level design is awesome, congratulations!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:45am

Simple but nicely done =)

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:46am

I really liked the retro feel of this game. Gameplay was a bit weird thou.

kutullu says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:12am

Awesome achievement given the timeframe! Fantastic art as well. Really polished entry. Add a bit more content and I would gladly pay for this. :D
Cheers, Marcus

Sylence says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:38pm

This is so great. Awesome graphics and gameplay.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Good game! I found that damaging with the bomb is a bit complicated, except when it's you. Then it works fine :-) I'm too clumsy...

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:47pm

I love the use of different weapons and branching dungeon demanding on what you do. Very well made and good fun dalbin.

Azzar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:46pm

I love it. It captures the look and feel of classic games perfectly and provides enjoyable and challenging gameplay

pjchardt says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:04am

Nice! I am a sucker for an old zelda-like. The controls felt a bit stiff though. Lost a lot of health by accidentally moving to far, not enough or trouble turning. Impressive work for 48 hours. Nice experience!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]