December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

I fancy going down to the park to attract ducks with my wholemeal bread trousers

by garygreen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Visit the park to indulge in your favourite hobby of attracting ducks with your wholemeal trousers.

Move with the mouse. Click the mouse button to put on your duck attracting pants (their attractiveness will only last for a limited amount of time).

You only get one chance to use them each stage.

Don't get caught by the flour-devouring bakery-demons, the big dog or snake - all of them will drain your flour power.

Made using Scratch. Graphics: Pixelesque; Tile Studio; TextCraft. Audio: Caustic, Bfxr

NB: To run the Scratch program click on the green flag & then click the mouse button to move of from the title screens.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#50Humor3.74
#261Audio2.97
#396Innovation3.05
#518Mood2.72
#623Graphics2.69
#633Theme2.62
#669Overall2.80
#693Fun2.58

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38am

Funny and arcade-y. Who doesn't love ducks?

P.S. Don't answer that.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38am

omg xD this is a crackup! very nice :)

garygreen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Phew! 2 positive comments to start the competition judging off with. Thanks a heap. :-)

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Well, that was... interesting... o.O
In a good way, of course. Very creative!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22pm

I love the name!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22pm

It probably helps that I'm slightly innebriated, but when I read "wholemeal trousers" I knew I was onto a winner! A psychedelic duck-feeding technothon. I loved it! :D

LTPATS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22pm

This was awesome, the right kind of silly ;). The music and sound effects definitely helped the gameplay experience as well!

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Nice game. By the way, are there any extra points awarded for the most awesome title?

The soundtrack blows my mind. Really like it. It's quite hard to avoid the enemies though, so maybe you want a bit less steep learning curve.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30pm

I couldn't avoid the demons and snakes, but the duck attraction was satisfying.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:55am

Quack!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33pm

This is crazy and yet genius! Are you channelling early Jeff Minter?

Great music too.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:39am

This LD is awesome when it comes to great titles. Once more a great title (and game) is born!

garygreen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Apologies about the difficulty level. I always find it tricky to gauge the difficulty levels, especially as Scratch sometimes plays programs at different speeds on different systems.

Re. Jeff Minter - I didn't intend it being like that, but I do really like his off-the-wall take on things. So, I really appreciate that comment.

Sylence says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:29am

Nice little game :)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Best title ever! :D

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:27pm

enjoyable, good job!

smash ball says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:29pm

The baddies got impossible to avoid, but I...did stuff that made ducks extra fat through surface effects...or at least that's what it looked like.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Funny!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Well that's certainly one way to feed the ducks XD

Anyway, game was actually surprisingly fun. I really liked how you've only one chance to maximise your duck feeding potential in each level whilst trying to avoid the other stuff that comes at you.

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Good idea, fun game!!

BluMist says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Great fun, funny duck game. One of my favorites so far.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]