December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Natural Sheep Care

by nka - Jam Entry

M - mute
Z - trade/teleport
X - shoot

This is the game about a shepherd and his only sheep wandering and surviving in the world of ancient ruins. Sheep produces wool, which is a strong currency in a world of ruins. However, you need to find grass to feed your sheep.

TACTICS HINT IF YOU GET KILLED:
Save bullets! Rifle hits multiple enemies in a line. Dont't shoot wolves one by one: sheep may be tanky, especially with upgraded endurance.


---
All graphics creation timelapse: http://youtu.be/chtFbRyxdIo
Made with FlashPunk
Main theme: Chronamut - Bonds of Sea & Fire (http://chronamut.newgrounds.com/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#24Overall(Jam)3.95
#37Audio(Jam)3.79
#39Mood(Jam)3.80
#41Innovation(Jam)3.68
#51Fun(Jam)3.64
#54Graphics(Jam)4.27
#65Theme(Jam)3.53
#184Humor(Jam)2.70

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:12am

Really fun. The teleporting around everywhere is a bit confusing, but I like it.

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14pm

pretty unique idea, I really liked the atmosphere

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05am

great game with awesome graphics and atmosphere. Difficult as all hell.

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:19am

Beautiful world, fitting music, great gameplay idea. I sure had trouble getting bullets before losing my ONE SHEEP. Maybe I was too aggressive? Great job!

ismyhc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:21am

Great idea and love the art style ;)

angela says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04am

Great art and music. I agree with Binary - "Difficult as all hell." But fun. I also love how the sheep runs toward the grass on each level. adorable.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:31am

Really well-made and looks and sounds great. This is high quality sheep.

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:33am

Beautiful game and great atmosphere. Feels nice and fluid to play, forces you to take risks and try to pull of lucky maneuvers with the gun and your sheep.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23am

The gameplay loop was fun to figure out. Should have named it "Pimp my Sheep"

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:44am

Uah, very original and fun! Graphics and mechanics are well developed, great job.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51am

Great game. Music fits in perfectly. Awesome art style too.

backflipppp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Great !

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31pm

WTF. How did you even come up with this idea.. sheep, portals.... rifle! Amazing art, fantastic entry, love it!

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Awesome game. Really liked it. And I got so angry when my sheep died, haha.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:57pm

This game is awesome.
GREAT WORK.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:24pm

@Sheepolution it's your theme, right? :D Nice game about sheep-frien-ship

Daveloper says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:05pm

My sheep is dead!

I love this game, graphics, animation and sound all very well done.
Good presentation of the mechanics through a slow build up and clear and concise text for the bits that need it.

Very nicely done.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Nice artwork! Very cool...looks a little bit like AnotherWorld. The controls are harder to use for german keyboard layouts :D But hey after 2 minutes it was okay. Good job at all.

syawqy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:07am

I like your drawing

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:39pm

This is a really amazing game with beautiful graphics. Fantastic work! I just love seeing games from you!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Great work on the landscapes - very surreal.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:19am

This is a well-made game, can't deny. Surprisingly addictive for its simple resource management.

As opposed to other commenters, I didn't find it hard at all, in fact it's quite relaxing. Just keep upgrading the sheep's health, stand close to a teleporter in dangerous areas and let the sheep's health drop to less than 10 while it's grazing. Also let the wolves pile up so you can take out a few with one shot.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:26am

Great art design on this. The world felt really immersive and the gameplay really was effective at making me want to protect the sheep. I hope that you expand on this more.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:31am

Solid entry all around, great work in every category!

CarbonCoder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:41am

Really nice game. I found myself slightly addicted to it and I was actually sad when my sheep died :(

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:38pm

One of my favorite, nice job on the artwork

Moist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Great mix of roguelike and platformer elements. Love it.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Amazing idea, stunning graphics and very good music! Great Work! :)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Very well made, I would've really liked to jump though! :p
The pixel art is amazing and the soundtrack hit the nail right in the head, impressive entry!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Loved the art, the shooting mechanic, the sheep as a resource generator, the labyrinth effect caused by the teleporters... everything! Great job :)

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:39pm

I loved the atmosphere and gameplay. Art reminds me of Another World - well done!

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:33pm

well made, but I found it to be very difficult. It's a tough economy. Liked the music.

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:47am

Overall a great game, only some background animations are missing. It took me three attempts to finish it. At first it seemed hard, but it gets really easy over time.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:58pm

great graphics and overall mood in the game. i loved the premise and really loved the atmosphere of it all. awesome job!

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Beautiful art, interesting idea, great realisation. Great work!... “If you please– draw me a sheep!” :)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:11am

Man, your art rocks, your music rocks, your gameplay rocks, and your setting rocks! You should have called it "my game rocks"! :D It was too small though, please continue and make more levels! Congrats!

Nelien says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:35am

Really unique concept, great graphics and music; this is one of the best entries I've played. There is some lack of diversity which harms the gameplay after a while, I think if there were more levels or content of any kind, it would make it better over time.

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:51pm

I have to get the ticket!

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I got it! Excellent game. Song reminds me of Xenogears.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Nice idea, I enjoyed the gameplay and really liked the graphics and music. Great job!

occash says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:02pm

nice idea! but my 'X' doesn't work( so my ship is dead((((

atombrot says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:27pm

I like it.

lotusgame says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:08am

I really enjoy your game ! It's fresh and innovative. Tutorial is very well integrated, gameplay is tactical and strategic, there is a good mood and nice graphics. One of my favorite entries :)

aviktorov says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Top-notch game. Reminds me of 'Swords & Sworcery', 5/5! :)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:03pm

This is amazing, such a unique idea

kevinmylo says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:05pm

I'm gonna play even after I am done rating games. I really enjoyed the tactics of the game:-)

CanisArctus says ...
Feb 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Gorgeous game! I really enjoyed it! The art is extremely well done, and the atmosphere makes this game stick to my memory :)

Niceguy3210 says ...
Apr 3, 2015 @ 8:20am

I liked it, but the enemies were spawning way too often, so grinding for wool took way too long.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]