December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A First Impression

by norwigi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"A First Impression" is a small game made with Flash Develop. Graphics came from Photoshop.
The original idea was based on the idea of "You can do anything you want, but you can't do everything you want" and was about chasing your dreams and finding out which one meant the most to you.
As this was a Game Jam, time was limited and I often had to cut away from the game. Within the last 6 hours I redesigned the idea into a date game that would fit into the systems I had already made. A jam starting/ending 3 AM is not optimal, especially when you have other things to do as well ;-)

The name comes directly from my interpetation of the theme. A first
impression can go both good and bad, and is hard to judge because you don't know what expectations the other person has. A first impression you think was good, could have been viewed as bad by the other person, and vice versa. Sometimes it's impossible to judge how the other person will react regardless of how much effort you put into that first meeting. All these factors have been taken into consideration here, as everyone you'll meet have a personality of their own that you won't get to see much of during the initial conversation.

The game is 99% text-free, and everything is controlled by the mouse.

Spoiler: There are five outcomes and three endings ;-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#382Humor2.52
#399Innovation3.04
#485Theme2.89
#573Mood2.65
#598Overall2.89
#769Graphics2.37
#790Fun2.41

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:48am

Hi! I wanted to play this, but didn't see a download link? Please let me know if I'm missing something when you can. Thank you!

norwigi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:30am

Sorry. Turned out I was missing the "http://www." in the link ;-)

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:34am

Not very intriguing, doesn't fit the theme at all.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:37am

Interesting and unexpected take on the theme, also wasn't expecting the Simon Says xxx mini game =p

norwigi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:50am

Crockid5: I agree that my interpretation of the theme might be a little abstract, but any interpretation is always going to be subjective. Would you mind sharing why you think it "doesn't fit the theme at all"?

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:56am

Nice game, lots of opportunity!

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57am

Really cool game! Good take on the theme.
Was really 2 games in one with the mini game! Really enjoyed it. Some sound effects would really have added to it but non the less, it was really enjoyable.

norwigi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Ossah: I agree that sound would have been really nice, especially as feedback in the second half. Unfortunately, time got the best of me this time ;-)

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:01pm

I don't know what to say. This is the game about boys and girls, dating and sex. I guess. I don't know... Also it is about 'wake up alone'. That is all. I don't know where is the gameplay here. Maybe press colored buttons or choosing random pictures simulating conversation... I don't know...

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I found a girl sitting alone at the corner. She loves travel and food. Then, I performed well at bed. Finally, I found someone to wake up with haha. Really fun to play.

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Very fun game. It's interesting the way you interpreted the theme. I laughed a lot imagining situations when I talked to people haha. Nice.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Initially i was confused what to do but it is pretty self-explanatory :) good work!

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I clicked some buttons, something happened, but it was quite unexplaining. OK if you hadn't got time to create ingame-instructions, but put them in the description!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Cool game! it's hard to keep the girl after one night :P

joe40001 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Interesting idea, but this dude is pretty morose considering how easily he hooks up. I'd be pretty happy if all it took was walking up to a random girl at a bar and being like "coffee... airplanes... money... So wanna go back to my place?"

Basic sounds would have been a plus, and I think the end minigame might reach a point where it's impossible-ish if your mouse isn't already on the right color. Still interesting though.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:24pm

I'm very happy with your abstract take on the theme.

I did find the game super-confusing though.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:43pm

At first I was really confused, but after playing a few times I understood it and enjoyed it. Nice job!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:16pm

I dont think I really understood the game but, I included it in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ncqRBKI10A8

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]