December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Asteroids:Omega

by peacegiverman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Can you destroy all asteroids with just one shot? Because that's all you've got in this Asteroids-inspired puzzle game. That and a time limit. Oh, and watch out for the civilian ships. You're supposed to protect them, not destroy them!

Controls are simple:
WASD / Arrow for movement
Space to shoot
R to suicide / restart level

Made with Scirra's Construct 2 Free

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#35Theme3.94
#276Innovation3.24
#357Fun3.06
#366Overall3.17
#483Graphics2.96
#495Mood2.76
#510Audio2.49
#597Humor2.00

Comments

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49pm

i would have liked to see a short distance projection line or something, just to line up the first half a screen. Otherwise, it was an amusing challenge, and quite pretty. Well done.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Nice idea. was fun to play!

Granor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Fun to play, although it took me some time to understand that I "brake" using S and not accelerating in the different direction.

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I liked it a lot. good job!

iamwhosiam says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:09pm

doens't want to run on my computer for some reason, keeps pausing for a long period

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:32am

I enjoyed it, nice idea.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:04am

Challenging yet soothing, quite an atmosphere.

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:45am

It was good, but was a little difficult to figure out. It would have been nice to have a guide or something when shooting.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58am

Wooo! Asteroids! The middle box is irritating as hell.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:04am

Nice little challenge, also somewhat impressive that it was done under the constraints of the free version of Construct.

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Great concept. Very challenging. I didn't realize you could move until i was boxed in by other ships! Some of the layouts felt a bit random as well, like i just fired and hoped (maybe that's just me). Overall, very nice!

scoobyben says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Neat take on the theme, but I'm not very good at it - I'm much better at shooting myself than all the asteroids

bitserum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Nice twist on the classic asteroids! Fun and Challenging

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:15am

That was fun! But very hard. Didn't really like that the controls were so hard to manage, there was enough challenge in figuring out the shot trajectory :). But great polished minigame here! One of the better ones.

sam1373 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Nice concept, but it could be much more fun with precise controls and instant restart.

OtherAlexy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Very good puzzle. A bit short.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Dude, awesome.

When I booted it up I was expecting a shitty asteroids game. As soon as I realised I only had one bullet I literally out loud (I'm talking to someone on skype as I'm playing) "Oh my god this is awesoooome".

I think the controls could be tighter, but well done for actually sticking to the theme. I've played so many "You only get one life" games that this is so refreshing.

I'm not great at it though, but I still enjoy it.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:16pm

nice little puzzles

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:25pm

I'm agree with that "short distance projection line". I was confused about where the bullet goes. That the only one negative point for me, the rest, amazing and fun!

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Hey guys, if you happen to return here, thanks for the feedback! :)

So far I've learned that an aiming line would be good, that some people miss the controls and that I should guide them better through the game.

Thanks again, folks! You're making this a great first Ludum Dare :)

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:19am

smooth animation, like the glow very much. I shot myself and that was pretty amusing too! some sounds would have been cool - afxr is pretty good tool…. or some music. It was calming and contemplative, well done for finishing

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:25am

Really nice game, loved the feel and logic of the puzzles. Some were just crazy, i'll shoot at this angle and hope something good happens, but all around a solid game.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:26am

A very cool take on the classic asteroids game, really love the geometry wars look too!

Joao Kucera says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:27am

Congrats. Very good to play.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:23am

Spot on with the sound effects. Great gameplay and twist on a classic idea, I really enjoyed playing this.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:45am

It's a nice spin on the tried old classic, and once the civilian ship was introduced it got really hard really quickly. Fun and challenging - though maybe a little too challenging for me :P As others've said, a tracer line for the first screen or so would be a good addition.

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:44pm

I like the twist of the old asteroid game. Pretty solid work.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:47am

Neat little shooter/puzzle hybrid. The screen-wrap really makes you think about how to line up your shot. Getting killed by your own shot also adds another interesting level of complexity.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:51am

Nice concept, great application of the theme.

y2bd says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:49am

Very cool game, fun too! I loved the crazy redraw effects.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:30pm

This game is really cool, Really love it! I included it in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/mLdQN8xdVMY

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Started easy and quickly got very tough once civilians were introduced haha. Nice concept and cleanly done with simple graphics and easy to follow controls. Good luck!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Cool use of the theme! Nice twist on a classic game. The visuals and audio are appropriate and the gameplay is very challenging.

hnjslater says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:05am

Wow great concept, dead on

Diptoman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Wow, that was really a spot-on use of the warping mechanic! The fact that you could get killed by your own bullet was really awesome xD
The only downside would be the shot had to be precise, and the control was really a bit loose for that.
Enjoyed it thoroughly.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]