December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Berathen Jam

by Venks - Jam Entry

Like action? Like puzzles? Like platforming? Like shooting? Like everything? Well do I have the game for you!

Berathen Jam combines 11 minigames into a fast paced challenge against the clock. Can you figure out all the tricks and get the high score? Oh you can? Pfft. Screenshots or it didn't happen.

Arrow keys to move. Space/X to interact.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#99Fun(Jam)3.38
#138Humor(Jam)2.96
#149Audio(Jam)3.27
#155Overall(Jam)3.35
#222Graphics(Jam)3.38
#248Innovation(Jam)2.90
#252Mood(Jam)2.92
#398Theme(Jam)2.37

Comments

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:33am

Like it,very reminiscent warioware

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:41am

Wow this is cool!

Really nice range of games! Some things are a bit unclear as far as instructions go, but after playing enough I imagine it's easy to pick up :)

OddballDave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Fun distraction. Would have liked it if the games didn't repeat in a single run until I'd played them all, but that only a small gripe.

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Nice, good replayability until you get all the games right.

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I agree, randomly go thru all the games before repeating.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:05pm

I agree with Gamelabbers, I couldn't stop until I'd beaten all the different game types. It was really cool to try and figure out how best to beat all of them, like the one where you're supposed to shoot the ship. The first two times I just sat there and took a shot after a second, it was the easiest thing to do but when it came around a third time I was holding the movement buttons and then realized just how hard that level is if you move anywhere or miss that first shot :)

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Cool game!
Feels a lot like wario ware :)
For the eating-game multi directional control would have been helpful!
The timelimits are hard, but challenging. Besides that, the audio and graphics are really nice.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10pm

yeah same crit here, shouldn't have to play a game you've already one. But man, that was really fun!!

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Oh! Did I play about 1sec in each game? :) That's pretty fast, but not enjoyable, though.

Shigor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Sometimes it's a bit unclear what to do in the minigame, but overall, yeah, good one :)

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Love the range but more instructions would be cool :D

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Awesome game. I like the fast paced factor. Feels nice and actiony. About your question in regards to my game, I might expand on it. Maybe if people request it.

Dyn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Great idea but need more difference. Anyway, really fun!

grifdail says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Fun. Perfect warioware game. God job for only 72h !

Prophet Steve says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Pretty fun, lot of variety, also great graphics! The theme seems a bit shoehorned in though and I would also like to not be able to get the same game multiple times after each other.

grifdail says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Fun. Perfect warioware game. God job for only 72h !

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Even if it is simple, it is very addicting. I couldn't get past 13 but I noticed how the difficulty increased like in wario ware so well done in only 72 hours.

Tanser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I like it though maybe just a bit more time in each mini game would be nice.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:59pm

The variety of gameplays and graphics was fun.
I'm not sure to understand the game with the flag.

Photon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Cool little diversion. Some had more "quirks" than others, but ultimately it was enjoyable.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Fun game but I'm too unskilled to win 11 times xD

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:40pm

YOU ONLY GET ELEVEN?
Haha, heck, they were fun. Good job.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:07am

Thank you so much everyone that played! It's great to get all this feedback. Wario Ware is one of my all time favorite games so when I got the idea for this I decided it had to be done.

I was very rusty at coding, I hadn't coded anything in AS3 for about a month. One of three days I went without sleeping to fix one of the many bugs I was getting during the early stages. I'm really glad the game came out as well as it did and am even more pleased that so many of you like it!

I'll definitely have to figure out an easier way to convey how to play some of the challenges. I'm so used to older games where you die until you figure things out, but that's really not gonna cut it, is it?

Again thanks for all the support!

insane66 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:28am

Warioware definitely comes to mind. Fast paced. I got the same game repeated 2 times, several times, maybe need a tweak to the random sequencer. Good job overall! I liked it.

mclordalex says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:14am

Very Very Nice Bravo

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:57am

Fun mini games, now we want more! Nice work.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:09am

Omg my first full star for this LD. Yep, I'm giving it 5 stars everywhere, for real. The screenshot really doesn't do it justice, this is awesome. Even better than Wario, it's geeky and nerdy and full of references and I love it <3

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:23am

Great warioware. Loved the story of borrowing games you added.

Mandala says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:32am

Street Fighter, Super Mario Bros. 2, Bomberman references were great.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:22am

Reminds me so much of WarioWare, such an original idea deserves 5!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:33am

Amazing job for only 72 hours. Very interesting submission. Congratulations !

Jan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:14am

Great game, liked it. Fun to play.
Would be nice, if all games had at least two set ups.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:50am

Pretty cool concept, but i didn't get that i was playing until the first gameover :p. Nice work

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:54am

Great job! I am still not sure how to beat some of the games, like the break one. I beat it once and failed it every other time, plus sometimes it has spikes!? What? I don't know. :D

But chock full of great references and the art is fantastic, good job!

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:55am

Oh, also, the music. It still is playing in the background, great job on that :D

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:15am

This game is fun! Love the graphics and the music.

Jhelle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Great sprites. I enjoyed it but somehow got the music playing double. Won't rate you for the music cause it's not yours

Maple says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Pretty cool! Reminds me of that game jam in which everyone made a room that contributed to one bigger (linear) game... Forget what it was called... I think it happened in Canada... Also, obvious connections to Warioware -- a good game.
Some of the mini games I didn't understand at first (for example personally I would have titled "Break?" as "Wait" or something, as I stupidly tried to break the box above my head (unless that was intentional)), but yeah.
Oh also I naturally prefer X over space, so I immediately realised that X doesn't exactly work.
Loved the music, could have done with some SFX. Otherwise this was pretty well presented. Good job!

sknoslo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:19pm

I didn't understand a couple of the games, but rest were quite fun. I enjoyed the variety.

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Cool but too fast paced for my turn based fingers :D

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:46pm

16 points :C

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Reminds me my old chineese NES clone with 9999 games cartridge. Well made!

30dogs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Fun and challenging! You did a good job balancing the pace and leaving room for the player to improve their skills on multiple tries.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:43pm

That was a good time. Almost feels like it would have fit the LD27 theme better (10 sec). well done!

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Fun warioware-type :) Nice entry!

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Ludum Ware Inc. :D

moop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Addictive and nicely put together.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:01am

Hey, this is pretty cool!
It reminds me of WarioWare and the like, very cool!

funselektor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:07am

One word: Gameception.

Good job on creating so many different games with so many different styles and some of them were pretty fun.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:01am

Very nice mini=game collection! The music is awesome and makes the tempo of the game really smooth.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Nice and fast paced, lots of fun. Catchy tune. But I don't think the theme really fits here.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Good work. Very cute little mini-games.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Nice minigames, but the music a bit loudy. Nice job!

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:27am

Good idea (though of course it has been done before), and pretty fun collection of (very) mini games. Liked the soundtrack, though it didn't totally fit with the graphical style? First time I played I got 13.

yosh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:03am

This is Wario Ware hehe :D
I really like these kind of games. Maybe the game could benefit from randomly generated patterns to avoid seeing the same thing over and over.
Otherwise it's a pretty good job... congrats!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:13am

Love the music, much replayability. :)

cwkx says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:41am

Impressive amount of work for such a short time :)

postmodestie says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:52am

Haha! Ludum Ware rules!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:56am

and funny to see this fighting cat again, i remember it from another very sophisticated LD platformer-fight entry ..?

Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Great effort on this! WarioWare is my favourite party game, so happy to see more games like it

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Very nice :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Nice concept ! It's really cool to have 1 or 2 sec to understand the goal of the mini game ! I love it ! Great job !

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Very cool game

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Good little games!!! But, where is the theme? >Good job however!

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:41pm

great fun - could keep playing this for ages. like the different visual styles of the mini games - impressive in the time limit of the jam. great that the controls were so simple. music was also good, fast paced and manic. well done!

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:29am

Nice soundtrack! This was a fun little game.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:32am

Could use some more challenge. Absolutely no relation to the theme, but nevermind that if it helped you finish a game. It's like I'd heard that track somewhere before, though.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:14am

Really solid games for a collection of minigames. Well done. :)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Nice concept.

Eddy93 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Good job. I love how different the games are

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Great little game, well done!

l2azic says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:45pm

I tried to vote for you venks, good job dude

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Lovely Warioware clone, cute abuse of the theme. =) Lots of games and systems made in the three days - great work!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:40am

this was a really funny concept for the theme - so many games in one! really fun to play

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:24am

Very nice compilation. I could not figure out the "eat" one.

anvoz says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Nice minigames. Really fun to play. I love the speed but I could not understand what to do in some games.

OneDee says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:50pm

hey cool idea. Fun mix.

saulopz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Cool...

Split82 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:41am

This was a lot of fun :) thanks

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:12am

Nice work

GarethIW says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Scarily we had a similar idea before ending up with our plane idea, awesome that someone made it happen! The only gripe I had with it was that the music was pretty loud and didn't overly fit well, audio is often a last priority but it'd be cool for each game to have it's own unique simple music.

ratboy2713 says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Pretty random. Not sure how the theme related.

henrykun says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:12pm

I love the soundtrack of this game. Well done. You only get more than one game xD.

Sebastian says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:34am

Very fun, very intense. Good job!

taocayo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:07am

Reminds me of Wario! Great game, I kept coming back to beat them all! :D

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:25am

Love the idea of all the different, fast, mini games! Nice Job! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/UY85Y9qNh3Q

loxo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Good collection of mini games. I think I figured out how to play each, but got only to 35. One thing I don't like is, that not only the game type is repeated, but the level design is only slightly altered sometimes. It would be nice, if the levels were randomly generated. And some sound effects would be nice.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:17pm

I think this was a lot of work to do! Anyway, I like such games and it's always fun to figure something out with time pressure.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]