December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Door

by godan - Jam Entry

One Door is a game about the exploration of a dream-like world. The world is created procedurally (parts of it at least) so you can walk around as much as you want. The idea is that of all the possible ways to get through this game, yours will be unique to you (i.e. you only get one).

To control:

- WASD to move
- RMB to look around
- LMB to open a door
- Walk through the door to use it.

**EDIT**
Included in the Post Compo version:
- Changed the controls to something much more familiar
- Changed some performance settings, so it should now run much faster...hopefully.
- Tweaked the game mechanics a bit to make it much hard to finish the game without solving the door puzzle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#12Mood(Jam)4.12
#23Audio(Jam)3.91
#97Graphics(Jam)4.03
#100Innovation(Jam)3.36
#199Overall(Jam)3.24
#296Fun(Jam)2.78
#346Theme(Jam)2.53
#400Humor(Jam)1.84

Comments

errorage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44am

Ogod the doors keep looking at me, I'm frightened!

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:15am

Wow, this is beautiful. Great atmosphere!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Seems to run pretty slow (even though the frame count stays a solid 30 - could be on purpose?) Nevertheless great atmosphere.

sprawl says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:48pm

One of the best experience I've had with LD28 games so far. Sounds are very well done !

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Wow, a stunning entry! I played through it several times, and each time I was intrigued.

The art is very well done, and the audio fits the mood of this game nicely. I was amazed by the quality of assets you were able to create in this limited time.

Sometimes I could pass through doors and they wouldn't take me somewhere new.

There's no good indication that you've reached the end; I assumed when there were no more doors I reached it.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Aaaaa help somebody, I see growing doooors! :D

Striwx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Really love the mood. The controls were weird, why don't you use the classic first person view ? And let the FPS bar ?

godan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:37pm

@cudabear Thanks for the feedback! Figuring out how to pass through the doors effectively is the main puzzle of the game. Admittedly, it needs work - but there is a trick to it. Also, you'll definitely know when you've reached the end! There is only one way out.

godan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:39pm

@Striwx - yep, I'm not happy with the controls either. The thing is, the built Unity FPS controller makes it hard to navigate and click on stuff (because the screen movement is not tied to cursor position). I really should have implemented a Skyrim-style "pick whatever is in the middle of you screen" approach...but didn't have time.

Tanser says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Lovely soundtrack, good job. I had problem only with the camera look around but it might be my being clumsy. My camera was spinning all around at one point.
I love the game, great idea with the theme. Incredible atmosphere too.

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Looks cool but a real performance hog. Also some GUI problems - the text seems to cut off about 2/3 across the screen.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Hah! Neato. The sound is really nice.

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:53pm

So fear!! The doors grow!

Kalakian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Not rated this as I had some difficulties, but it does look really nice.

First run: Unity crashed (I'm on Win8 using Firefox)
Second run: Difficult to control without invert-Y, but I pressed on. One of the doors I went through just turned everything white as though it was stuck in a loop or something (I couldn't do anything)

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:25am

I like lamposts and doors growing but the control it's so hard :S

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:37am

Amazing atmosphere, haven't figured out how the door works and got some framerate problem, but very, very beautiful anyway

Warzone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:01pm

This is awesome! The atmosphere is creepy, and the lighting is perfect. I love all the extra effects you added to make the game creepier and mysterious.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:46pm

The graphics and music are really good, as is the mood. Overall it was an intriguing play, even if I accidentally dropped off the edge of the map at one point :)

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

uniquely awesome atmosphere!... dunno if i reached the end, but it was a great experience...

Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:48pm

What a fantastic mood you've set with this game. Like the others said, wasn't sure when the game ends but all in all a very good experience.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]