December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

I only get one hour to make a game

by yatan - Jam Entry

I only have an hour of 48, to make a game.

Smash spacebar to get high score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1545Coolness24%

Comments

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Go team one hour builders! This was fun, thanks!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:13pm

haha, 1 hour? not too shabby. i managed to overshoot the end of the run on my fourth go, so i consider that completing the game

01rafael says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:40am

Hope, I win ))

ittlebit says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:42am

Nice. Not too shabby for just one hour. I think I broke my space bar.

Several says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:53am

Hah, I first mistook this for an allegory, where pressing spacebar once was all the input you could give the game, as a token gesture of agency. Then I realized that the 'press space' text was still up, and played an actual game.

A pretty good example of how much time-management and being willing to reduce scope can help you to finish a game. And of how little is necessary for something to be considered a game.

I mean this in a good way.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Does what it says on the tin! Ball should probably explode in a spectacular fashion if you happen to send it backwards off the ramp into the abyss like I just did. :D

xrm0 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 10:23pm

If the ball don't get to make the jump, it goes back and starts and endless fall

Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:04am

It could be a start for a platform game like Monkey Ball with some more work, it has potential good work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]