December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Conformance

by lordjosephdeburg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ludum Dare Entry: Theme 'You Only Get One'

Objective: 'kill the target'

Controls: WASD SPACE

Written by Joseph Burke

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#184Graphics3.64
#362Mood2.95
#365Humor2.56
#657Audio2.09
#657Overall2.81
#681Innovation2.62
#766Theme2.40
#845Fun2.32

Comments

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:49am

Really cool Joe! Love the art style and the trickery.
Great entry!
Loved the buses rolling in and the adverts on the side.
Kept it fresh!

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:59am

Love It!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:08am

It's quite hard to make B&W pixel art! You made a very nice job! :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:20am

Really nice ! I like the style of the game, only black and white, really nice art!

insane66 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42am

I like the minimalist art style. Holding space bar down mows down everyone, but the sound doesn't continue. The gun doesn't always show either. The speed could be a tad faster, one bus parked for like 20 seconds I thought the game hung.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52am

Wow, pretty awesome!

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

Looks great and looks like it could have been fleshed out into something super cool if there was a little more going on gameplay-wise.

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19am

Thanks for the game! I really liked the graphics! Specially the busses with references passing from time to time.

That said, I think you should have added checks for a lose condition. If I understood correctly, "you only got one target", and the target is the yellow guy, but there is no penalty for killing the other NPCs, and that makes it a bit pointless.

Thanks for the game!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19am

I like the style; it really sets a good mood. The game felt a bit laggy. I wasn't sure if that was on purpose or not, but I was surprised given my computer is no slouch.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30am

Love your art style!
Maybe if the objective was to *ONLY* kill the target and not every pedestrian...

spike_xp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46am

Artsy! This game is really cool, though the gameplay could be more fun if you add some 'lose' case or sort.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:31am

I have to agree with others: really good looking entry (it just lacks a background music on art side) but the gameplay lacks any challenge at all.

explosivose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24am

This was cool :-)

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:40am

Again, like your entry from last ludem dare, a very stylish and moody piece. I like this a lot.

Sytech says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Really cool art style! It could have been a bit more challenging though.

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Beautiful artwork!

lucasncv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Great mood and nice game overall! It kinda needs a lose condition though.

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34pm

It's says me it's not valid Win32 application.

LemonTree says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Really cool! I like art style.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Thanks for the comments guys! This game is pretty arty and moody even by my standards. Regarding the 'lose condition' the yellow guy always appears on the third bus... until you kill him. This is to create a feeling of absence. So there is truly only 'one' guy different from the rest.

I had considered adding a penalty to killing other people, but I felt letting the player kill as many as they wanted would be more enjoyable than a restart, especially when the yellow guy is in a big crowd!

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:57pm

The game is great on every aspect except for audio, theme, and gameplay. I would continue to work on this; it has a lot of potential especially with its great artistic style.

hate-marina says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Typical chinese killer

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Cool graphics but not much to the game. There is a lot of waiting around and you can just shoot every single passerby. When the actual target came along it was so obvious that I thought it was a trick.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36pm

I like pixel art

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Interesting game! I felt bad that I killed so many people before taking out the target (which I am assuming was the guy in color)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

Great how the actual target becomes a twist reveal. I was seeing targets in everyone based on slightly different timing of their steps, changing walking direction, etc. I ended up being a mass murderer rather than a stealthy assassin. Great job.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Heh, didn't quite know who the 'target' was so I just started shooting everyone, and then the colored guy showed up.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Even when the target shows up, it's still really hard to hit him without hitting anyone else. It was kind of boring, but it does look good.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Really nice graphical style. I liked the buses :) Nice work.

grozamorei says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:29pm

bus messages are great, artstyle is great. keep that games coming next april, man!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Like the graphics. Expected it to be more tricky to find the target :)

pjchardt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:13pm

I really enjoy the concept and the visuals. Movement felt good. There did not seem to be any punishment for just shooting everyone though so there did not seem to be any challenge. Nice use of the bus advertisement space!

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Neat idea! Had a Where's Waldo feel to it :) Like others mentioned, would be nice if there was a lose condition. And maybe if the target wasn't so obvious?

Diptoman says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:33am

Love the art style! Very cool!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]