December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Save One For The Kids

by SonnyBone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Save One For The Kids

Test your skills and shoot for the high score by watching for patterns and having perfect timing in this MURDER SIMULATOR! You get ONE bullet, so use it wisely!

POST YOUR HIGH SCORES BELOW!

Tutorial included. Press the 'T' key on the title screen.

CONTROLS:

SPACEBAR - Shoot
ENTER - Start Game
ESC - Exit Game
T - Tutorial (on title screen)

A Note on scoring: Yes, it is possible to clear the entire game with all gold medals and all Murdertality Bonuses!

Port Note: I will work on a possible Mac port in the next week but I make no promises.

WINE VERSION NOTE - The normal version crashes in Wine due to the snow effect. The Wine version uploaded here is WITHOUT the snow effect enabled. If you want to play the game the way it was intended, please try it on Windows. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#58Theme3.79
#64Audio3.57
#89Graphics3.94
#193Humor3.08
#222Overall3.37
#233Fun3.28
#291Mood3.09
#550Innovation2.83

Comments

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22am

Hey, sonnybone! I just jumped in to check out your entry and I'm getting a 404 error to your website. Can you check your link? I'll check back tomorrow morning.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56am

Added a DropBox link. Try that instead. Thanks for the heads up, dalbinblue! I'll check your game ASAP.

Lazdo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14am

I don't mid this game, however the fact the game constantly refers to killing children is unethical in my opinion.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29am

lol that didn't take long

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35am

Confirmed that it does crash in Wine when you try to advance beyond the title screen. Workin' on a fix.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55am

Wine build added with snow disabled. See note above.

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:41am

Thanks for the game Sonnybone! It shows how a proper skin can breath life to any idea!

* Audio: I loved the sound effects. That "bronze" voice mocked me again and again as I progressed through the game. Music was also very appropriate.

* Graphics: I couldn't see the snow shader, but I still really liked the graphics. As you said on twitter, polish will make or break this game, so here are two things I think would improve the game immensely: 1- Gun recoil animation. 2- The blood splatter on a headshot should be MUCH larger :-)

* Gameplay: I like the gameplay, it is simple, yet challenging. I would like to have a review of my score for all levels after I cleared level 10, and maybe an option to retry a level if I didn't like the score (maybe unlocked after you played through the game once?)

* Bugs: When I got to level 10, my gun shot from the keypress of me leaving the previous level. *sadface*

Thanks for the game! :-D

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:46am

Oh! I just heard the "final score" voice after the my second play through (for some reason I didn't hear it the first time). Apparently I suck :-D

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:14am

Okay that got some great style. It's about as far from the #nokill sub-theme as one could go, but I didn't do anything with that either. The comments at the end were hilarious, and made me go back a few times go get some more of a macabre humor.

Ditto says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:22am

Amazing, the ending got me, :P the blood animation is fucking awesome!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Tripleeee headshooot. Clever and gruesome use of the theme man whaha. I sadly have to admit that the triple headshot was quite satisfying.... hmm... Although now that I'm staring at the screenies, aren't those zombie kids?
Title was clever, 'murdertality' was funny, whole game was so much fun I just canNOT stop laughing bwahahhahaha..

So yeah, as you may have discovered, I'm really bad at these comment things. So cheers annnd have some stars.

(BTW I tried fixing my own game's fullscreen issue just for you!! *wink**wink*)

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:05am

#OVERKILL

SoumyaXeored says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:18am

great game!

ekun says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32am

Extremely polished, and man stage 10 was satisfying.

I'm glad you didn't force me to retry stages where I missed, it was refreshing to be able to finish the game in one go despite my mistakes.

Well done! Fun game.

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:41am

Great art style!

timothyolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29am

Kill children, simple, Stuck to the theme, but the humor was a little too dark for me.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:44am

Oh no, this game told me I suck! :<

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:51am

While the theme is quite disturbing, the gameplay itself is engaging, the graphics and audio good.

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:56am

Very nice. Smooth, consistent, good number of well-designed stages. I may have read your readme and it has swears in it which is super offensive and makes me sad. Anyway, looking forward to killing more children in you games.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31am

LOL you get big love now

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:31am

The game was pretty fun... It's simple, yet provides challenge. However, maybe it's too simple, I got bored a little (sorry), maybe adding few more different type of children might do, but 48 hours is too little for that, so can't ask for much. On the bright side, the graphic and audio looks pretty decent, if you actually made all of these from scratch within 48 hours, I applause to you :D

Good game, dude.

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:56pm

oh my, art is awesome, music is just PERFECT! Can you possibly upload it somewhere or leave a reference?

Absolutely my vote!

GBolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:27pm

No real strategy to it but not really bad. Decent game.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:59pm

That was pretty fun. While the gameplay rewards technique, I preferred level 10, just so satisfying to chew through a bunch of them.

Also I think I accidentally fired a bullet going from the previous level.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35pm

@Nichii - Yeah, all assets made in 48 hours. I totally wanted different types of kids each with different movement types / speeds and even had players able to aim shots but it was all too much to implement in 48 hours. Also with the aiming being added, it created a bit of an issue with the 'puzzle' aspect where now there is a clear 'perfect' shot that can be made. With aiming it became infinitely more difficult to get that 'perfect' shot because of all the extra angle variables at play.

@KumoKairo - Thank you! I compiled all of my previous LD game soundtracks into a album you can find at PhantomGreen.com - I will make this soundtrack available as well. Leave a message via my website contact form and I can send you a notification when it's ready.

@GBolt - No real thought or effort behind it. Decent comment. I assume that because there is no strategy that you were able to get all Gold medals and clear every stage with a Murdertality bonus? Since you didn't post your score I assume it was simply too large to fit on the screen.

@lightsoda - Yeah level 10 is great fun but I wanted more of a focus on timing and patterns, not so much a straight-up killfest. And as for firing a bullet too early, that's my bad. The spacebar doesn't advance through the score screen to the next stage. It's just all on a timer. I should've disabled player input until after the 'STAGE' text had moved out of the way.

Thanks everyone! I'll be playing your games sometime soon.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Audio is good, the game looks great and the single shot gameplay was well done.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Very polished with good sounds and graphics. Having to wait for the right moment to shoot feels very snipery.

And come on, they are ZOMBIE children. As any horror movie with monsterly children will tell you, it's perfectly acceptible to kill them.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:10pm

THANK YOU, JaJ !!! Haha

vandriver says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:05am

Man, you've definitely been getting better through these LDs. Everything feels really polished and as always the music is awesome.

The timing on the game was pretty fun, except i kept shooting early, probably because the sound effects make me assume it's not a time freeze, but just a time slow-down. I keep thinking I gotta lead just a hair to make the shots!

Would definitely have been nice to replay individual levels.

Also I read the readme.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:30am

@vandriver - Thanks, man. Yeah I regret not being able to have the time to add the classic arcade mode and a 'level attack' mode. I also wanted a better final screen with a rundown of your individual level scores and medals but that stuff takes way more time than I always think it will.

The post-mortem will shed more light on what got cut but the levels, scoring, different enemy colors/types, and blood-on-screen-splatter effect all got axed on the last day.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Great feedback and timing, very satisfying. Would like to speed up the summary UI with button input - in a rush to fire my next shot. That first triple headshot was truly satisfying. This would do well on mobile.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:15pm

@Gungnir - Thank you for the kind words. Yes, the score rundown was hastily thrown together and desperately needs a 'skip' for those that just want to rush through and practice the stages for HIGH SCORE GET.

And if I didn't loathe the mobile game scene so much, I'd probably try to release this. But I won't. Cuz I do. :)

alchiggins says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Got a score of about 54000.
Really nice animation work. Kind of weird how the bullet would move but the kids would stay still - I feel as though they still should've moved just slightly in slow-mo mode.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:05pm

@alchiggins - I tried that but was having trouble with the physics and gravity that went along with my jump timing. Thanks for posting your score. My best is about 140,000 or so... so if anyone wants to try and top that...

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:41am

57125, not that happy with my score, but the concept is cool and the game is very polished! Also a big fan of the art style.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:08am

I beat my old high score but I still screwed up 2 of the stages so that means it can go even higher: 153,749

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:28am

Nice game, good art and clever mechanic!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Fun! Killed lots of children. Mechanic is simple, but effective - good choice for a 2-day jam! Art is professional and has a lot of character. Music and sound effects are great - and while the commentary at the end can be a little grating, it certainly has personality. =) Great work!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:16pm

@supremefist - thanks!

@Reverend Speed - GRATING - that's me!!!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:52am

lol I had a lot of fun playing this one. I love the slow motion/score effects. Great game.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:08pm

This is a brilliant use of the one shot idea! Very fun, well polished, great work!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:44pm

71249

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:14am

Great entry!
Hitting them all was a little too satisfying :P

01rafael says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:43am

FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation ((
I don't know what does it mean, but look's sad

GFM says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Stage 10 felt awesome! So many kills with a single bullet... *-*
XD

This was fun!, but somewhat repetitive... =X
I'm not really into this kind of game of "you have this one simple task, try to achieve gold rank on all levels"... but linking headshots made up for that! XD

Maple says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:34pm

After all these LDs I'm starting to recognise your name, haha. Well rounded game! The music totally suites the whole sniping-in-snow situation, and you got a rare laugh out of me with your line after beating stage 10. Good job!

tak says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:35am

amazing art style!!! the zombie/sick/ohdearlord/children have so many frames of animation, and it really pays off, seeing them twitch around, and then fly off the screen when they're short :D

the game is great too, even if i suck at it :P me sucking just means i get to hear all the funnier voice clips XD

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:12am

Very well put together. You create an excellent atmosphere. I like the art and the music is nice.

jprogman says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:02am

I can relate this game to skewering a shish kabob, lol. It's a nice little game, but it loses the fun after a few stages.

Harsay says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Less focus on gameplay and more on graphics. Personally I like it because I feel I am playing a more polished game.

dudsen says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Ok this is the only windows-only game with no web version i played. Took me nearly 40 min to set everything up on that whacky old machine I have. 120 Updates included.
But I have to say it was worth it. Last level was a blast. The audio ratings int the end are hilarious (but not surprising - I really DO suck at playing the most games...)

Good work on the art and animations as well. Snow effect is super nice, blood fountains are killer - but don't like the gui stuff. Looks to clean and , um, to rectangular. (?) ^^

Cheers for the source, going to have a look into this next ;)

kibertoad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:50pm

it would be better for the children to fight back. or at least try to rape my skull through the eye-sockets. but I have Nazi Zombie Army on steam for that.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]