December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

That one tiny Island

by Cipher - Jam Entry

Note: I wanted to submit for the compo, but real life got in the way and I only got 8 hours to work on my first idea. So I scrapped it and made this in just ~24 hours. Its currently buggy and unbalanced but hopefully the main idea will come across.

About:-
You only have one Island with limited space. In order to monetize the island you have to build apartments. But due to the tiny space available, you're gonna have to stack em, block by block and hope they don't fall. The citizens of the island would of course need their basic needs. For this you must build farms and electric plants. The islanders have been known to be quite...violent so be sure to keep them happy, or face the consequences.

Win:-
At one point, the Island will fail to support the massive population so you're bound to fail. But don't worry, in order to win all you need to do is make sure the money you earned is more than the money you spent.

How to last longer:
Since this game is unbalanced at the moment you should mainly focus on building and upgrading food sources. BEWARE: only upgrade once cause I didn't finish the upgrading features so upgrading again would just be a waste of money. The recommended starting build order: Apartment -> apartment -> apartment -> apartment-> food -> Electricity(optional) -> food -> research lab -> upgrade food -> food and apartments till the game ends

Controls:
Mouse : To position, left click to spawn,right click to destroy (you only get $50 bavk), mouse wheel or <E> and <Q> to go up and down the selection
Shift : to open upgrades menu (needs research lab)

More info:
Apartment = provides 20 residences, costs $200, needs 60 electricity;
Farm (Tier 1)= provides 1000 food, costs $100
Windmill (Tier 2)= provides 4000 food, only takes up 2 units of space, costs $20
Hydro power (Tier 1) = provides 300 electricity, costs $400
Generator station (Tier 2) = provides 500 electricity, costs $400
Research facility = Enables research. The more of these you have the faster the research done. costs $500

Good luck, have fun!

Ps. If you're wearing headphones, tune it down or you'll regret it ;)

Credits:

crunch = http://www.freesound.org/people/hazure/sounds/23702/
crunch2 = http://www.freesound.org/people/NHumphrey/sounds/204415/
game song = http://www.free-background-music.com/2013/01/04/the-latest-gadget/
explosion = http://www.freesound.org/people/harpoyume/sounds/86026/
star background = http://opengameart.org/content/space-background-1
city background= http://opengameart.org/content/city-background-repetitive-2
lose song = https://soundcloud.com/abstraction/sets/ludum-dare-28

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#175Innovation(Jam)3.13
#315Humor(Jam)2.16
#340Fun(Jam)2.67
#367Mood(Jam)2.63
#387Audio(Jam)2.36
#408Overall(Jam)2.75
#479Theme(Jam)2.10
#500Graphics(Jam)2.13

Comments

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:38am

nice idea, a kinda of side on sim city, like it :)

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52am

I really like the combination of simulation-strategy economy-investment and stacking physics. I would like more feedback on the game state, in some form other than the stats at the top of the window. I felt as if I could just build endlessly and I didn't feel much of a sense of accomplishment when anything happened. This game is complex enough that it could do with a lot of playtesting and balancing (as you know), but it shows a lot of promise for an early prototype!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Great job ! I love the idea. The mecanics are simply but catchy. I like the way you have to plan your stack because if you build it too much higher, it crash on the ground.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Very original. I like the wind effect on the buildings if you go to high. Mecanics seems rather deep. I gonna try again ;) Well done !

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:42pm

I really like the idea. It's godly like.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:17am

Nice game, I liked the use of the theme in it.
Pretty nice work for only 24 hours.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:31am

Nice idea from the theme!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:33am

Not bad for a 24 hour game. Keep rolling.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:34am

a lot of potential here, keep it up!

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:39am

I think the combination Sim and Stacking gameplay worked well, and those are two very different game genres. Good job on this.

joekinley says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:02am

The heck I just played? I just built and built and built and all of a sudden it went KABOO-HOO-HOOOOM.
Violent people you really meant literaly eh?
I liked the sounds, music, and the overall idea pretty much. It was fun stacking the buildings and trying to lean them together so they don't fall and all. Had a pretty cool and tall building, but then the people just destroyed it.

Good job. It was fun to play and freaked me out a bit.

_zulli says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:29am

Good idea! I like the idea and the physics behind it! Good job! However, the population starts to grow so fast even tough I research new tecnologies that in somepoint is almost impossible to keep going. It jumped from 4k to 17k in 30 seconds for me :O Awesome and challenging game! :)

If you have time please consider rating my game! :) I would really appreciate that :)

Snuti says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:02am

Really nice idea and concept. The music fitted nicely with the game and I loved the stacking physics :)

Cipher says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:08am

Thanks for your kind words guys. I wasn't really expecting you people to like it since it was mostly rushed out. From your comments I now really know what this game needs to shine! Balancing, balancing and more balancing x)

LatFoued says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:35am

I really like the idea, it was pretty confusing at the beginning but after that pure fun. Good job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]