December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Assembly Man

by Jellycakes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So here's my compo game.

It could have gone a lot better. I had flu at the time this was developed so I had to rest a lot. As a result the game isn't as fully fledged as I'd hoped. Making me very disappointed.

Not expecting high marks, but i'm still kinda happy with this submission.

INSTRUCTIONS:

WSAD - Move
Click - Fire
Gun assembly - Shown In-Game

In a world where gun control is at it's strictest, you are an assassin who must eliminate your target whilst avoiding the police.

A co-conspirator has left a box of gun parts for you to assemble on the field. Find the box, assemble the gun and kill your target.

Be careful, having any gun pieces out in the open will increase your police threat level.
-------------------------------------

Side Note: Yes the gun model is mine. It is not made by anyone else as I modeled it on LiveStream. Thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#422Innovation3.02
#426Theme3.02
#619Mood2.59
#676Overall2.79
#677Fun2.60
#678Humor1.85
#685Graphics2.57
#782Audio1.32

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27am

Wow nice idea ! One bullet only and I keep firing on the wrong target :P I like the part where I assemble the gun, really well made !

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29am

Concept was cool and gen assembling animation was great. Only problem is that I could not figure out how to fire more than once

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31am

Gun assembly is a great touch. Kudos to you for working hard through the flu and getting the game in on time.

voidqk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31am

I won! nice concept! cool gun animation too! it took me a moment to realize how to assemble the gun, but I got it the fourth try :-). will you work on it more, to add more variety? it has potential.

please review mine, if you have the time.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

I really enjoyed the sequence of pressing buttons to assemble the gun, that was super cool. Not sure what my objective is after assembling it, though. I get one shot, and then what? Seems like I'm bound to die at that point.

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:27am

Really cool, I love the idea and the assembly gun is a good work.

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:39pm

The setting of the game looks like an old wild west town. Would be nice to see this scene filled with life. It took me a few attempts before I managed to shoot the target. I like especially the idea with the gun assembly. It's sad that the game isn't what you hoped to achieve.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:35pm

I like the concept, but looking for the gun in so many identical houses got quite annoying.. perhaps it'd be more fun if there were some different variations of the houses?

Assembling the gun felt amazing though, when you finally found it ^^

Btw, will you be livestreaming this LD? :)

blink says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:13pm

wow, that gun assembly looked awesome! Great little game!

Feel better soon!

megaelliott says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Cool concept, just a bit buggy and incomplete. I love the idea though! :D and the graphics are stellar considering you had the flu! good job buddy

mactinite says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:59pm

That was really neat. Assembling the gun itself made this game more interesting than just "find the gun kill target".

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Does anything happen after shooting the target? The assembly part is a nice touch.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Great idea, I like the gun assembly! Shame you didn't added environment stuff, but that's a nice game considering your illness. :p

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:14pm

curious concept, maybe need some music!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Well done. I like how those police men look a lot! :)

hypothetical says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:24pm

I liked the gun assembly part, some sound effects would have really added to the atmosphere.

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Very interesting, I couldn't figure out who I needed to shoot though, so I shot a guard in an act of defiance.

Also, the idea for gun assembly is very similar to the game reciever http://www.wolfire.com/receiver

ahm99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36pm

The Flu? That's exactly what happened to me on "You are the villain" (LD 25 I think it was). I ended up making the game in about 6-ish hours of actually working (and it sucked). Anyways, the game is pretty cool, but it took me a while to realize that there is no end sequence. So I kept trying again to see if I was doing it wrong (maybe I am?). I even tried jumping over the edge of the world. Also, is the threat level supposed to stay at zero if you stand in the window? Good job.

gamepopper says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:08am

I did like the gun assembly mechanic, but the controls were very off putting. The mouse control is too fast while player movement is very slow. Also couldn't find the target.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:55am

love the gun assemble, but i definatly suck at FPS games... and this was no different. i died several times and didn't even see what was hitting me. totally my fault, though. but i thought very polished for someone who was sick. great job on this one.

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:10am

After finally finding the package, I slowly move to the building on my left. Eying the officers at the door, I nod my head and walk by. Do they know why I'm here? It'll be hard to do my job if so.
Halfway up the stairs, I hear voices. The target isn't alone. Peering over the edge, I see two more officers inside. I underestimated this VIP. Still, a job is a job, and this is more important than just one person. The future of our country is at stake.
Opening the package, I assemble my weapon. One bullet. Of course. I guess all my talk of being the best hit the right ears. I peak over the ledge again only to find I wasn't the only one looking around.
The officers rushed me. Crap. As they start to pull me down the stairs, I get an arm free and take aim at my target. I pull the trigger just in time, as the officers overpower me and take me down. And I miss wide left.
Guess it was the wrong ears that my words hit. Could have certainly used some more bullets...

For the simpleness of the setup here, the mood was fantastic. I liked the animation of putting the gun together, and having to act sneakily yet swiftly at the same time. Great job and I hope you feel better.

rezoner says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Linux please o/

anvoz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Really love the gun assembly. Having to find the gun parts when starting the game makes me feel lazy to retry. Maybe you should add the map and highlight the location of the gun parts and the target. The police are also quite hard to avoid. So the game is too hard for me sadly. Good job anyway!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:07pm

I liked the concept and the gun animations, but I'm having some issues understanding the gameplay. Once you assemble the gun everyone is going after you, even if you are hidding; so there's no point in doing it right away. You just collect the gun parts, go to the house where the target it, assemble it right in front of him and shoot as soon as it's ready.

P.D.: Thanks for playing our game("The sidekicks") while streaming, I had to leave and couldn't watch it live :(

I want to invite you to replay it(checking the tutorial and the settings menu). In the settings menu people can customize the difficulty and create crazy rules. We added this feature because we didn't have time to balance the game. It's a cool feature and some users missed it.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:38pm

The gun assembly was a really interesting mechanic, as was finding the target. I think I shot the target, but nothing really happened - it definitely was a headshot, so maybe that's the key. Very interesting entry.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I liked assembling the guns. I included it in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/mLdQN8xdVMY

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]