December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Monoshooter

by Red Nick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A side scrolling shooter where you only fight one type of enemy at a time, the enemies come in waves and only once defeated may you encounter a different type of enemy. The game gets progressively harder as you play.

Game made with Game Maker Studio
Character graphics drawn with GraphicsGale
Sound made with Bfxr

CONTROLS:
Arrow keys to move, jump and drop down from platforms.
Z or Y shoots left.
X shoots right.
Escape returns to the main menu/quits the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#495Humor2.25
#613Fun2.70
#708Audio1.87
#718Graphics2.48
#817Mood2.26
#913Overall2.43
#959Innovation1.96
#973Theme1.78
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

dznemotion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35pm

The soldiers shoot poorly... hahaha, funny! very funny!

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:37pm

The controls are a bit odd (it probably would be better to have one fire button...), but for what it is, its an excellent time killer. Nice!

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Oh the theme was one enemy xD
I thought it was "you can only shoot one bullet per click". Auto fire would be much appreciated :D

dooglz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Good level of difficulty

Red Nick says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:40pm

@Kayelgee

I actually left a debug option in to switch to automatic if you press 2. I intended to include random weapon and health drops, but didn't have the time.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Not bad, pretty fun. Great job for 48 hours too

mruno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Quite repetitve, audio is a bit annoying. It's a good idea though, and quite fun. I don't see what it has to do with the theme :p

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:59pm

the height of the magic bolt looks like you will duck under it but it hits you. that part was confusing. I didn't see any relation to the theme though.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:00am

awesome ahaha

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]