December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Smooth Operator

by pjchardt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Showdown. Only way to survive? Knock someone's head off! Problem is, you can only attack once. But so can they. Then block. Problem is, you can only block once. Then fake, but yeah, problem is you can only fake once.

Smooth Operator is a frantically paced fight to the death where every failed move puts you at more of a disadvantage.

Important: This game is 2-player only!

Tools:
Engine - Unity 4.2
Language - C#
Visuals - Photoshop
SFX - Audacity, My vocal chords
Music - Garage Band
Task Management- Trello

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#26Audio3.77
#29Fun3.83
#54Graphics4.08
#60Overall3.77
#78Innovation3.72
#83Theme3.71
#117Humor3.35
#213Mood3.23

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Dont have another person to play with but this is an EXCELLENT game. Great use of theme well done

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

clever interpretation of slaps.

delfino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30am

EVERYONE DIES. Music is great, visuals are great. Good job!

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:38am

This looks really cool! Local multiplayer games are the best. I plan on coming back to this later and rating it when I have a friend.

mobyvb says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:09pm

I love the graphics and audio.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Fast! Maybe you could try putting the controls on a joypad stick and have the analogue position blend between the different fake, block and attack pre-poses?

I like it, very stylish!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:11am

love the blood spatter, the music, and the style is fantastic.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:18am

Awesome game. Made for a lot of laughs at our tournament. Great mechanic, visuals, and music

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:15am

Awesome! I played this for nearly an hour. The graphics and sound are iconic. Very very nice.

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:52am

This is hilariously fun! I need friends, now!

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Plays very cleanly, the graphics and audio are great too! Sweet game!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Had a lot of fun with this one.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:25pm

I loved it! Excellent use of sound btw, very creative! Well done. Very complete experience for what it is

multikorv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Really nice and original! Love this, will test with my buddies. :)

pjchardt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Thanks to everyone who is going out of their way to play Smooth Operator with others! I know from my personal experience playing others games I tend to do it at night and so I don't generally have someone else to play a 2 person game with. I greatly appreciate it.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:48am

Very fun; my brother just keeps beating me. I will be bringing this game up again and again in the future until I actually beat him.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:26am

I laughed hard at the concluding sentence :D

Ghost Pixels says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:08am

Agreed, "player x is better at videogames" is much more rewarding than anything else I've seen before :P

sirerr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:26pm

This was a great game to play. It's complete for me, can be played for hours honestly. Big fan!

dudsen says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:44pm

YEESSSS! Congrats for this one. Veeeeery smooth gameplay, loving it. Network play would be awesome. Only thing is: I really don't like time constraints -.-

Apart from that its brilliant game with an awesome style!

pjchardt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Thanks dudsen! I would love to make it online multiplayer! Never done any network code though...

godan says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:28am

Great game. Love the unforgiving mechanics.

Sestren says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:52am

Awesome take on the theme. Great presentation, as well.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:00am

Really neat take on the fighting genre. Fun game :)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:04am

Good game, very polished.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:46am

Haha, pretty funny, too bas I beat the living crap out of my opponent and he wouldn't play anymore!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Nice concept! Super fast gameplay.

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Had fun playing this :)

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Love the music, and cool style with the red backgrounds / silhouettes.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Love the music.

michail says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:09am

Nice fast and funny game, really addictive if you are playing with another person!

stigmawall says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Put a IA and I will play it for decades.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Very nice graphics and audio, really fun to play with another player. Great job!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Brutal animations and a fantastic art style and colour pallet... the music suits the game very well - well done! Rated highly. :)

xrm0 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Amazing!. You should add some AI for one player mode.

Ludipe says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Simple but fun. I love seeing more multiplayer games. I had a great time playing with some friends.

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:42am

Excellent! Loved the idea, the gfx, the music. Everything. Unfortunately I couldn't find a friend to play. Its a very good twist to paper, rock, scissors mechanics. This could be a best seller in iOS. Contrats.

Frajer22 says ...
Mar 2, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Hey, I would like to ask you… Would you mind if i will publish game of your concept on Android platform (Graphics , Sounds, and everything will be different). I know that its wierd but i dont want to be a stealing b*tch. Please send your answer on this E-mail: “palcatokurka@seznam.cz”

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]