December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hrytz's Sunday

by ezolotko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Walk around your village to see how you can spend Sunday.
Use arrow keys to move, Enter to use items.

The game was made using C++, Visual Studio, SDL, Tiled, Paint.NET, Pickle, Sunvox and Bfxr.
I used my open sourced "base code" called Bleed which can be found here: https://bitbucket.org/ezolotko/bleed.
The repository includes my "Attribute Blocks Editor" - a ZX Spectrum-like art creation tool. It was also used for the game art.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#291Mood3.09
#395Humor2.48
#493Graphics2.94
#561Audio2.38
#702Overall2.76
#779Fun2.43
#795Innovation2.42
#947Theme1.89

Comments

TheLemonKing says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 5:03pm

D:

ColonierGames says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:35pm

I have to say, I absolutely love it! I love this graphical style, I took a look at the "engine" code(Bleed) and it looks pretty neat.
There are SOME issues however: I think you could've done a better character thing and the movement is tile based, but should should be done smoothly, because it's weird with the motorcycle sprite and the man sprite. As soon as I can rate I will rate it, but it looks very good to me!
:)

ColonierGames says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Also, I'm going to start learning C++ in the close future, could I take your code, understand it and base my own engine on some of its features?

ezolotko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:36am

@ColonierGames Thanks, about the character sprites and the tiles movement - I did it partially on purpose to better mimic ZX Spectrum. But the characters could look better, you are right.
About the code, of course you are welcome to use it :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

Love the enormous map, and the graphical look of the game

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Apart from the graphics hurting my eyes and they do look great, I loved it

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Those glitchy graphics are a real eye-sore, but it brings me back to a time when I'd type cd\hrytz then hrytz.com and get a glitchy weird game with no explanation, wondering if it's supposed to look/sound that way or if that's just some kind of compatibility layer.

If nostalgia was a category you'd get 5. Unfortunately your game kinda gave me a headache.

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:34pm

If I had to describe the game in one word I'd probably go with "interesting". The music, eye bleeding inducing graphics and gameplay blend together in a somewhat psychedelic mix, creating suspense. I finished the game, but can only assume what actually happened. I think that is good :~) For what it is, I think it's well done.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Not sure I really get it. I found an ending by talking to a man, other than that I was a bit directionless. The sound was kinda abrasive to my ears, I had to mute it with the bike sounds.

You have a strong graphical theme and stuck to it well. But it's not for me.

Love the size of the map though.

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Didn't quite fit the theme, but you implemented a motorcycle, so i loved id!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:55pm

I don't know what to rate you for graphics to be honest. My brain loves them, but at the same time they make my eyes burn.
You have me very conflicted, but overall I like it. :D

Jhelle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:01pm

I want to play this but somehow winrar won't let me extract the .exe file from the .zip :(. I't looks awesome though

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:13pm

The visuals took me back to the day where my dad brought home our first computer, a C64.

Couldn't find the last guy, but you get awesome points for the inclusion of a sidecar!

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Like a fever dream, I couldn't escape it. Really great and atmospheric, though unfortunately I don't know if there was some kind of end goal, I ended up in a graveyard transfixed.

Nice job!

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:30pm

The mirror doesn't work. I really want to play this, the screens look really interesting.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Oh wow. My eyes... funny idea though, and it made me laugh quite a bit (even though I'm not too sure if that's intentional). :D

ezolotko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Thank you for all the responses!
@ShellfishGames - it was intentional

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:46pm

At the end I found the 3 guys I was suppose to talk, but besides the exploration I don't really know if I was suppose to interact with other objects, it seemed it lack a little bit of gameplay. But I loved to explore the map with the bike and I liked the mistery created by the music, too.
I just did't get what the mistery was about, since the dialogues wasn't clear enough.


I bet it was a huge amount of work to do everything you did from scratch. Congratulations.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:03pm

http://prntscr.com/2bl24c

Graphics are very nice but they hurt eyes a bit. I still like them tho.
I like the way you spend your sunday afternoon, are you finnish or something ?

ezolotko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:07pm

@Marcellus Ukrainian

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:14pm

If David Lynch wrote a ZX Spectrum game, this would be it! I had an.. 'ending' with a blue bloke and no idea what was going on. Aweseome. :D

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Bizarre...also, made my eyes hurt. But not bad!

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Looks great and unique! The gameplay a bit short and I don't quite sure the backstory/setting.
The motorcycle is awesome!

YellowLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:39pm

My antivirus is giving me a (false?) positive and automatically deletes the .exe

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:00pm

loved the gfx and loved the music.. my 'other' self is saying the gfx nearly gave him a seizure and his ears are bleeding... btw i had no idea what i was supposed to be doing..good job man :)

Cbeed says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Sorry, but the graphics were hurting my eyes, the sound was annoying after some time driving.
I was like "WTF!?!" at the first guy but then nothing real happened until I found the second guy. Then nothing real happened until I found the graveyard I lost my bike and gave up.
The first 20 seconds of gameplay were good and I think there is potential in this "game" but it lacks content.
I also could not find the theme in this game.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Well, music aside, this one's actually pretty solid. For a Spectrum-esque style, the graphics for the most part actually look pretty good, and its also pretty immersive. I couldn't really make head or tails of the endings, but it was still pretty interesting. Its kind of sad the music is so out of tune though. The Spectrum was actually capable of some pretty sweet tunes if Beepola is accurate to the system. Well, at least it added to the unsettling atmosphere (assuming that's what you're going for), so that's why I rated the music higher than I normally would.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37pm

VERY WEIRD. I like it in a kind of 'what the hell did I just play' kind of a way

Christian S. says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:14pm

:) I really enjoyed this one

magicdweedoo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:59am

whoaa

Almax27 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:00pm

I don't even...

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:00pm

I'd love to see a full size map of this game, the level seems huge! I find the different scroll styles intriguing, specifically when you first find the bike, it seems a bit laggy and smoother.

ezolotko says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:44am

@ChrisMingay - You can open World.tmx file with Tiled and see the map "from bird's eye".

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Ha. This was surreal and I really liked it. Definitely nailed the Spectrum aesthetic, both in appearance and the strange, kind of inscrutable gameplay. Excellent atmosphere.

Managed to find all three endings. What a fine Sunday.

murilo says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:32pm

What have I just played???? Hahaha I won! The motocycle was really cool! And so was its sound.

jerombd says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:59pm

I didn't found the 3rd ending but it 's still fun to play: riding the roaring bike is cool or wandering in the graveyard... typical boring sunday into a countryside village^^
A windowed screen option could have be cool, by the way.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]