December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The mighty spear

by Poxymyr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Travel across different rooms with one spear as your only weapon! The game may be very hard, and some bugs can get you stuck, so just restart if it happens, and my apologies.

ARROW to move
X to shot / pick the spear
R to restart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#151Theme3.53
#344Innovation3.13
#415Fun2.97
#469Audio2.57
#528Overall2.97
#634Mood2.57
#843Graphics2.17
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42am

Your game wasn't loading for me : [... I'll give you good ratings anyways.

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44am

Fun concept, but I got stuck in walls a lot. It's all good though, keep up the good work!

weazen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Really good job with the theme. Liked your game immensely.

Poxymyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Thanks guys, it seems that the game runs better with Chrome, so i put it in the link, and also added the source in a .zip archive since everyone is doing it.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:20am

Really like the gameplay implications of the spear sticking in walls!

Sharpevil says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:47am

Very interesting idea, glad I booted up chrome for this, as playing it in firefox will drop you immediately into the bottom-left-most pit of spikes. The idea is great, though I think Cartoon Network may not appreciate your use of Meatwad as your enemy sprite. The music... I'm going to take a wild stab and guess you used abundant music to generate it. Still, the gameplay was solid, fun, and challenging, though it was a bit annoying that the whole game had to reload when you died.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:26am

Great idea. The game is so hard though! With a continue feature I would have probably beat my head against it until I finished, but it just got too frustrating for me to start from the beginning.

Mutt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:53am

Dunno why, but I really, really like this idea. It's pretty frustrating though - saving at each door, or having multiple hits, or just restarting faster would have helped. And the controls could be a bit more polished. But the idea has got to be my favorite interpretation of the theme, it's so simple, but it's great. I wish I'd thought of it!

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:32am

Woah, nice innovative idea for a platformer. :)

Antylum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:53am

Nice idea and music - it's brings a lot of atmosphere! But a bit hardcore for me - add some lives or 'continue' button for 'soft' players ^_^ Game has potential, you can improve it also by adding more animations.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:57pm

At first, I tried to play on Firefox. Every time I opened the game, I fell through a wall or died for no reason.
Then I opened it on Chrome and it worked fine.
I had a lot of fun with this game. Pretty cool concept and pretty challenging gameplay (maybe just a little too much).
I also enjoyed the music very much.
Overall 3/5.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Fun little platformer.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:43pm

This is a great idea. I did have to reload the page a few times for it to run and I'm not sure why. Certainly one of the best interpretations of the theme out there.

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Spear of fun!

JackBid says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:37pm

I really enjoyed this game, it was fun and challenging and I thought the concept was quite cool! The music was good as well, great job!

GingerMess says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Good platformer, and the spear mechanic is great. Nice entry!

s73ph4n says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Cool game. One arrow and one chance :) I really like this challenging platformers. Great!

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:06pm

The idea is interesting: using your weapon as a platform to advance. Game is filled w/ bugs tho

Poxymyr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Wow, thank you all guys for playing my game! :D I'm surprised to see that you enjoyed the idea that much. You encourage me to reowrk on it and fix the 2 main issues : bugs and difficulty. I will make a post about it later during the holidays!

PS : I didn't know who was Meetwad before you talk about it, my sprites are made by myself and inspired by kirby first.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:37am

Your game wasn't loading for me : [... I'll give you good ratings anyways.

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:51am

great idea making the ONE spear not just for killing but also to jump on. seriously good job making this. Solid entry!

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Good job on using the theme. Nice concept!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]