December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Penguin Feeder Simulator 2000

by Jerre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

=====
IMPORTANT
=====
The initial submission contained some threading bugs, I think I fixed them now.


==========================
Penguin Feeder Simulator 2000
==========================

The gameplay is explained in the game. Only three levels, but still I'm happy with the result.



============
Extra Tip
============
If you don't feel competitive sit back and enjoy the great penguin AI, especially in level 3....



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#65Theme3.77
#117Humor3.35
#189Innovation3.42
#295Mood3.08
#348Overall3.19
#377Fun3.03
#438Audio2.64
#583Graphics2.77

Comments

tzamora says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31am

Lookslike osx version is having problems

Jerre says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39am

Can you give more info?

Jerre says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:58am

If it was an error when clicking outside a button, I fixed it.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:17am

Really nice concept. I found it easier to wait until the penguins were on the move, drop fish in their path and hope. Adding some sort of signposting to indicate how the AI thinks and plans their moves would help a lot.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:48am

IBEATIT! Fun little game, I love how the penguins move around independently :)

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:51pm

a nice game a lot of fun

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:07pm

fun for what i could play before it crashed

WBojangles says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:16pm

I was counting on that email address being real..

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:17pm

This was fun! After studying the penguin on the first level I came to the conclusion that it is just easier to try to place fish right in front of them when they are moving.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:19pm

I really like the game. Great idea, a pity there's not more levels. I think you could improve a lot the game for a post compo version adding rules to the simulation: smells, hungry/satiation.

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Quite fun, and like nothing I've ever played before.

The graphics worked fairly well for what you were trying to accomplish here.

The audio was pretty nice, and even a little humorous.

Well done.

Jerre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Thanks all for the compliments!

MadcoreTom says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:36am

Great game! the sound was staticky, but that was probably my PC

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:52pm

I got exhausted trying to think like a penguin.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Really fun! Would be worth making longer post jam though!

Jerre says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:52pm

thanks

Benjamin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Nice game, with 'great educational value' :D
The third level was a bit messy but I guess it's all for the fun of the game. Congrats for this original take on the theme.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I think it's a little random if the penguins get the fish or not.. I usually just drop the fish off right in their way and it works :D But such a cool concept, keep it up!

goerp says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:22pm

That was cool (no pun intended, well maybe a little bit). And funny too. the sound gave it a chilly feel.
Nice take on the theme, I've seen nothing like that in the compo.
After the first two level I thought 'that's easy' and then it got a lot harder.
Nice game, I think you can expand on it. Some more options and maybe some more variety in the scenery, some less square ice tiles, smoother movement?
just some suggestions.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I guess it's a roguelike, you start over at level 1 :)

I didn't know how to think like a pinguin, I guess you have to use the thoughts bubbles.

tobbez says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Like this take on the theme. Didn't manage to understand how the AI works so completing the levels was a bit random. Try to make the AI patterns more easy to figure out.

Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Ha nice! This was great! I found myself yelling at the penguins, especially when those greedy ones kept stealing the fish from the others! 3rd level is tough! Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]