December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Now You Have [No] One

by HD408 - Jam Entry

NOTE: Exit the game with ESC.

Now You Have [No] One (beta-version 5)

How to play:

Controls:

Click the START button to start or continue the game.

Select one or multiple units by pressing or holding left mouse button.
When selected:
1) Click right mouse button to make the selected units move to the mouse cursor position;
2) Click middle mouse button to set their direction.
3) Press 1-5 keys to raise their parameters (500 EXP for each upgrade). You can see what you upgrade with which key on the upper in-game info panel.

Gameplay:

Each character has his/her own unique passive abilities:

Esdeer (red): every friendly unit in range does 2X damage.
Kotori (yellow): auto-spawns EMP waves that damage enemies.
Rezista (cyan): slowly heals every friendly unit in range.
R2 (blue): certain enemies in range are slowed down to 50%.

You lose when you have no characters left alive.

There is no ending in this beta-version and technically there are only 5 levels, as nothing new appears after the fifth one.

Authors:

Game concept: Esdeer and Xitilon
Programming: Xitilon
Spriting: Esdeer (some visual effects by Xitilon)
Music: Esdeer (title menu soundtrack - feat Xitilon)

Original LD[T]W characters and visual designs by Esdeer

Tools used:

Engine: Game Maker 8.1 Standard
Graphics: GM built-in sprite editor, and I forgot to ask Esdeer
Music: FL Studio, OpenMPT
Sound: findsounds.com

17.12.2013

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#55Audio(Jam)3.70
#174Fun(Jam)3.14
#289Graphics(Jam)3.14
#312Overall(Jam)3.00
#314Innovation(Jam)2.73
#326Mood(Jam)2.75
#422Humor(Jam)1.73
#542Theme(Jam)1.50
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

Prophet Steve says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Putting no for one feels like a bit of a cheat with the theme. The game itself is pretty fun to play and fairly well presented. Although it is pretty easy. It also weird that you can have a width of more than 360 degrees. I had a lot of fun playing it though.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:56pm

The game wasn't really any fun, I turned it off out of boredom after 1 minute of playing it. There is no connection with the theme here either.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Quite fun, though I am not quite sure how it fits the theme.

HD408 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:57pm

jsjwooowooo, rather loosely. When you lose a character, there's no second one with such abilities (everyone is unique).

ParaPup says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Wow this was a blast of fun it reminds me of old rts games and I just couldn't get enough, It definitely was missing something with the theme a little maybe unless you can explain what I'm missing :P though message me directly if you can probably on IRC :P

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:17am

Huh, I get a Floating point division by zero error?

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:03am

Even though the enemies didn't provide any real challenge, I loved how OP I felt! The audio and graphics are also absolutely wonderful. The technical aspects were also top-notch, thought I would play until may laptop couldn't run it anymore, but even with full upgraded fire rate, 360 FoV and huge range I couldn't make it dip too low :P. In the end I played till level 11 (would've played even further if the difficulty would've gotten harder :P!).

Having 4 characters didn't really add to the game (apart from different specialities and per-character upgrading), since you could just clump the characters together and control them as a single entity :D. If I were to make a similar game I'd just attach each "character" to a space ship as a turret and be a bad-ass star destroyer!

It really felt like a combination of an RTS, SHMUP and an RPG. I really would like to play something like this, but with a lot more variety (powerups (SHMUP) and different upgrades (RPG)) and challenge (more enemies, faster spawn rates, harder enemies)!

Copix says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:41am

I think it's a nice game, very funny and the audio is awesome... good work guy ;)

HD408 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:10am

Thanks for your comments!

TheWhiteLlama
There's almost no place in the code where I divide, except for constants like 2 and 5, and there's no real chance that you got the game speed, fire rate or weapon radius equal to 0. If this error persists, provide me with information about what did you do before it occurred.

ParaPup
The explanation is just before your comment, not very much of a theme here.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Too easy, no connection with theme. Technical aspects were good. Music was pretty cool too.

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:17pm

good game, very much fun

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]