December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hauptbaum

by Christian S. - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You get only one tree. Protect it. (As long as possible ...)

How to play:
- Drag to scroll
- Drag to place buildings
- Collect the gems
- Your buildings last only for a limited time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#39Audio3.69
#52Overall3.79
#99Graphics3.88
#100Mood3.52
#103Fun3.55
#281Theme3.27
#411Innovation3.03
#575Humor2.06

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:01am

Beautiful (visuals and music)! Suggest making explicit in instructions you need to DRAG out the items onto the map. I was clicking them and wondering why they were appearing way off. :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Made it to wave 51 before getting bored. Reminds me of dune for some reason and got totally 'sucked' into it. Excellent game and a good twist on the typical tower defence games. Well done!

iamwhosiam says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37pm

this is pretty good, would really have loved the ability to look around with the keyboard, nice game thoguh

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Can you publish a Linux version? Unity doesn't have a Linux web client!

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Beautiful! Very refreshing tower defence game.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Great take on RTS! Super execution! Oups, just realized i never got me a bomb..

bttf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Very cool game. Made it to wave 11 before it started advancing waves by itself ... The worms would be advancing and then all of the sudden disappear and the next wave would start. But other than that, really cool graphics and audio to match it. Nice job.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Nice graphics and sound! Very enjoyable to play, the only bug (maybe feature?) I noticed was that the worms sometimes glom around a well and don't destroy it. Great job!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Wow what a great game! The graphics are beautiful and the gameplay is solid. Great work :)

baton4ik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Very nice and beautiful game. It's a bit on the easy side though the exhaustion of lakes took me by surprise when I had 0 resources. The need too constantly scroll all over the place to spot the enemies and the size of the resources is a bit annoying.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Very well made game. The atmosphere is just great.

Rhinan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Got bored pretty soon, but the execution is good!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Fun take on defense games. I liked how you need to constantly expand outward where it gets harder and harder to keep an eye on and protect. Well done!

MMoffatt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:46pm

It looks really good and is well balanced. I ran out of points so I couldn't make more oil rig things but then the snakes kept disappearing before they hit the tree.

vallde says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Great game!
Would have loved a minimap somewhere, it becomes really hard when you expand too much, also I didn't notice when my police buildings were disappearing :(

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:48pm

I thought I didn't like tower defense games (if that's the correct label for this) but I did find it very appealing. Nicely done, great consistency in the art. Didn't get through very many waves, but I think that says more about how I feel about TD-games.

headchant says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Those black things are stuff of nightmares. Good game but I got stuck without resources a few times.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Good game, extremely good audio! The music made me want to play more! :D Congrats!

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:54am

Very nice little game. I liked the audio and the graphics.

joekinley says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:05am

The game was okay. A little slow, a little strange, but you could go on and on.
Hauptbaum is a great nam. Also the graphics were awesome. The music was fine, tho a little nerving.

Good job.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Great graphics, great sound, great mood! Well done!
(Und mol eidütig schwizer ;) )

FrederickK says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Great concept, very well done!

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:12am

Simple but playable tower defense clone with nice music. The manual movement irritated me a little.. Good job :-)

madmaw says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:42am

Very professional

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]