December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Son

by Hemuuuli - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Son is a first person stealth game about searching for your one and the only mother.


Game supports both mouse & keyboard and joypad controls.

Tap Page Up/Down to adjust sensitivity.

Standalone has rebindable keys.


To play WEB version FULLSCREEN press RIGHT mouse and select it while the game is LOADING.


More info in ReadMe.txt.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#25Mood3.91
#123Audio3.34
#128Graphics3.81
#143Overall3.54
#216Innovation3.37
#436Fun2.94
#538Humor2.15
#695Theme2.52

Comments

RocketDuke says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Its like LSD(game) but more psycho... Man you are sick :D I really like this... Made me a bit sick but still nice.

abeing says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:02am

you lazord in my eyes! very impressing! the drones killed me always. at least I got some batteries

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:23am

Trippy and unique visuals. Nice atmosphere, too.

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43am

This game looks really cool. I kind of wish I could see a little clearer, but I'm sure that was the intent. This game provides a great sense of fear when you are hiding, and there is an enemy on a wall opposite you.

Hemuuuli says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:57am

Thanks for comments! The visuals are result of lack of sleep and lack of texturing in the level. ;)

Two tips for gameplay: Make as little sound as you can, especially running is super loud. Use satellite view often to perceive your surrounding.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:15am

Love the atmosphere of this game! Got a little dizzy of all the shaders attacking my eyes all on the same time :)

ncannasse says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:33am

Nice mood, gameplay works well, but a bit far from the theme

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06am

Whoa, I liked the trippy feel. I think it gives a lot of personality to the game. Although in certain points it made it really hard to get a grip on your environment (is that a door? a window? Can I go through there?)

I really liked the idea of the satellite map. I would probably give it a larger area and less battery. I also loved that you included some "inside" areas where the map could not be used.

I did not make it to the end :-( Cheers, and thanks for the game!

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:36am

Gah! Can't make it past the 3rd checkpoint, will have to try that again later. ;) But this is pretty damn cool, trippy and stealthy, kinda Antichamber meets Amnesia.

ezolotko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Wow, this is some serious mood

Shigor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:20pm

All epileptics must really love you :) The art is.... brutal. I'm really really glad I hadn't tried this on Oculus Rift :)

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Nice one

Hemuuuli says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Shigor: I am planning to do an Oculus Rift version during Chrismas vacation just to see how it feels like. 8D
I might even release it publicly if it works fine.

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Whoa, made my eyes hurt a bit. Atmospheric and moody. Loved the sound world. :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Am I on drugs?

rosa89n20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:59am

I don't know why, be the feel when I play exactly just like my first time play Saya no Uta. very special indeed, but my eyes... my eyes!! my eyes can't take it!!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:41am

Very interesting entry, and I love stealth games. A big achievement for 48hrs! Snuck around the drones for a while but I had to stop playing as the visuals started to hurt my eyes..

Kohijin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:12am

Great stuff, not sure about the theme but I absolutely love the nightmarish atmosphere that the look and the soundscape create.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Cool game play, the style reminds me on anti chamber. This is pretty well made.

mystakin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:57pm

"What is this game I am playing?" was all I could think when I first booted it up. I can't decide if the disorientating art is the best thing ever, or too much and hinders the gameplay. Either way, it's cool enough that it's worth perfecting if you were to go that route.

HakitoCZ says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:08pm

I call this arts. Son will be played many times from now on. I appreciate your work, it was done gorgeously.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:33am

whoa

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:52pm

SUPER INDIE STEALTH 2100. Can't deny it looks unique, and I didn't even think the graphics were hindering the gameplay. It's a pretty plain stealth game in the end, though.

local minimum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:48pm

I found the drones a little too hard, but maybe I wasn't focused enough. I was thinking about making something glitchy as well but ended up doing something completely different.

Hemuuuli says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:45pm

So many comments! Thanks for all the pretty words and feedback!

I made a post compo Oculus Rift port of the game. It feels good on your eyes~

postmodestie says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Very funky. Now i'll maybe try the Rift version :)

anvoz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:51pm

The intro was really good and it kept me playing this game. But my eyes could not take it long enough to finish. I think the mood and the stealth mechanic were pretty nice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]