December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Death From Above

by AlexFili - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Inspiration: After some thought I decided to focus on the concept of having only one shot. This makes the player more focused on that one 'perfect' shot rather than spraying bullets everywhere. The hero's friend tosses up the quiver which contains the arrow which allows the hero to re-use the same arrow again and again. One fun feature I added was that the previous times the arrow is fired, it leaves a little arrowhead in the floor.

In particular this fulfils my desire to make more action-orientated games along with to make a tribute to my favourite games such as Assassin's Creed and old arcade games.

Instructions: Use the WASD or direction keys to move. Use the space bar to shoot an arrow. After you've shot once you'll need to wait for your friend to throw you a quiver containing your arrow. Shoot all thirteen mercenaries to win!

Advanced controls:
P (hold) - Pause
M - Mute
N - Unmute

Tips: You can move to get a better vantage point. While you can hit targets from directly above it can be easier to hit them from the side depending on where you are. You have a limited amount of time to eliminate the 13 mercenaries. If you run out of time you can restart by pressing the green back arrow on the bottom left of the screen.

Note: Recommended browser is Chrome / Firefox. It is primarily meant to be played online so I definitely recommend the Web version... however just in case someone can't get it working I've included an offline version. Let me know if you have problems and feel free to leave comments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#438Audio2.64
#512Humor2.21
#626Theme2.64
#835Mood2.23
#838Graphics2.18
#879Fun2.25
#902Innovation2.14
#929Overall2.39
#998Coolness48%

Comments

xrm0 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Sometimes the arrow change the speed while it's flying to the target. I would have enjoyed it more it there was no jump needed

pl0xz0rz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:34am

I pressed space bar and won. I don't understnd what was that supposed to be.

xgeovanni says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:36am

Seems a bit too easy at the moment, but fun.

KEFIR says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:06am

It was easy but surprisingly fun!

sekaru says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:46am

Pretty easy game. Collision was a bit off sometimes.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:20pm

I quite liked it actually, I liked what APPEARED to be a slow motion effect, but that should have been emphasised a little bit more. :)
A bit more variety in the gameplay might have helped this game really excel. :)

Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Would be cool to see movement playing a bigger role. I was able to just stand in one spot.

van noctar says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Good job!

JaymeeMak says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:34pm

While I get how this is connected to the theme, it's too easy to just fire off random shots and hope they hit, since your buddy comes along and gives you a new quiver almost instantly.

Tex Killer says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Like everyone said, it is too easy, and I think it lacks some more mechanics...

loxo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Nice and simple game. Sadly it's very short and mainly an one button game (space), because it's not really necessary to move. It would be nice, if the mercenaries would shoot back, so that the player is motivated to move and to make the game a bit more challenging. Or maybe you can only shoot straight down, so again the player needs to move. Another idea would be to lose the movement altogether and use the keys to control the direction in which the arrow is shot, but this seems much harder to me.

BluMist says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Nice little game, I had fun.

LukuluK says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:16pm

I enjoyed the concept, and it's fun to Play, but it could be so better ! Perhaps allow Player to target with the mouse ? Furthermore, player movement seems useless.

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:14pm

I think your audio is very solid. The concept and execution is actually pretty cool but there's not a lot to it. I agree with Metal Atrophy and LukuluK as well.

AlexFili says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Thanks to everybody that tried the game and left a comment. The Ludum Dare was a bit of a surprise for me and came when I was very busy with a lot of things. In retrospect it would have been better if the enemy fired back or if the slow-motion was better emphasised. I will definitely take your feedback on board. Next LD I will be sure to include more complexity and make the game more enjoyable.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]