December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

My Dad's the Grinch

by xel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your dad is a grinch! He got you all these presents but you can only keep them if you follow his instructions! Otherwise you only get one!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#28Overall3.93
#31Humor3.87
#43Graphics4.13
#48Mood3.77
#73Audio3.54
#89Innovation3.68
#103Fun3.55
#274Theme3.28

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Fun, interesting & colorfull ! Congratz guys !

DrooobE says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

I thought it was a pretty funny game. Good job on it. The concept is pretty simple, too, which makes for a nice game.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49am

Really nice idea! I found it a bit hard with the limited options you could choose but other than that I thought it was really thought out. Nice one!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

Overall a very smooth experience. The music got a bit repetitive after a while. Some hints seemed not to be that useful to me but the reason could also be my lack of sleep ;) Enjoyed this a lot!

Lazdo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55am

Definitely the best game i have played so far :D Well polished, complete and bug-free. GJ

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Very smooth and polished game. I enjoyed playing it. Not sure how well it fits to the theme though.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Great little puzzle. Although a bit too easy if you know what you're looking for.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

Woaw, awesome graphics.

Simple game, but I played it with a big smile !

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51am

Nice humor and graphics. Good job.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59am

How do people make games this pretty on 48 hours?

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:49am

Very fun! Maybe a little too easy :P Great job!

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:50am

Neat idea. I was able to get all 8/8 after a few tries.

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:54am

LOL this is beautiful! Had lots of fun and had some laughs trying to guess the gifts haha, btw nice artstyle!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58am

Simple, humorous and pretty. Good job!

joekinglake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Haha this is great; i'd love to see more levels! The graphics are beautiful by the way! Great job!

occash says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:32pm

very-very-very good! i like it to my Ipad)

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:53pm

A bit too easy for me, but would be nice for kids.

I found the hints to be a super awesome system! Also, nice humour sprinkled throughout.

Great level of polish, keep it up!

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:00pm

The polish on this, especially the menus and screen wipes, is really impressive.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:11am

Funny game, good job!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:20am

Really interesting mechanisms and gameplay. This was fun. And funny. The X-Ray is kinda overpowered, though xD
Managed to open all presents but it seems some of them change after each play, so that's awesome. The graphics are great, and everything feels very polished. Then only downside would be that the theme's implementation is very loose. The text in 'about' pointing to the theme was funny, though xD

smash ball says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:54pm

I thought I was going to have to crack open the word document for this one...to document what's in what present...

drkrunk says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:40am

Awesome! This was a lot of fun and a great idea. Very nicely done!

mortus says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Great game! It was hard as hell at first, but when I figured out just how one should play it, it became more like memory game and less like frustrating-limited-resources kind of game. And that's where the fun begins (it gets too fast to almost too easy, so after the initial few times replayability is limited).

BluMist says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Couldn't bring myself to give 5 stars for graphics, but otherwise 5 star all the way. This game is original, funny, used the theme, fun, and I couldn't break it at all. Great job!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:19pm

This is awesome, really well polished and designed. Nice animations and I love the art style! Rated highly. :)

Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:45pm

The game was really fun, I liked the idea and the game ran really smooth. Great Game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]