December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Elves' Eve

by zkenshin - Jam Entry

This game was made with Unity.

Every Christmas Eve,
when the elves have their leave,
they get up to no good,
in every neighbourhood.
They sneak into a house,
through the deep snow.
They line up and prepare their aim,
as they have only one throw.

Your goal is to toss the star as high up onto the tree as you can. Obviously, according to elves' rules, you obtain more points if you throw from further away. Don't leave evidence of your visit, though. Breaking ornaments, or
worse, toppling the tree, will result in a large deduction from your points.

Controls:

- A/D or Left/Right to Walk
- W/S or Up/Down for throwing angle
- Space bar to prepare for throw
- Space bar to throw
- R to reset
- P to pause
- M to mute
- Enter to fast forward

Known Bugs:
- Animation oddities at various points.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#233Mood(Jam)2.98
#242Humor(Jam)2.45
#273Audio(Jam)2.84
#285Graphics(Jam)3.15
#326Theme(Jam)2.62
#329Fun(Jam)2.70
#332Overall(Jam)2.94
#400Innovation(Jam)2.49

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:28am

Fun stuff. This really reminded me of the mini golf game from Wario Land 3, if anyone remembers that. Nicely done!

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:00am

It's an original idea!! Pretty game

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:02am

Fun but difficult to master game. Among the many Christmas-themed games I've played for this competition, this is the best executed.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03am

wow, fun and pretty polished! it seems pretty hard not to get any penalties from far away, while still getting on the tree. good job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:27am

Really good game!

miklyha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:46am

Really good game )

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:29am

Score: 381 points! Woo! I beat my record of -20,000!

BuKaneerz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:30am

pretty game (:

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:39pm

I really like how that elve is peeing on the floor.

Btw nice stuff. Had a great laugh when tree fell down.

brmassa says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:15pm

nice game. a 2d golf like with a thematic flavour. nice art and fun to play.

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:27am

Nice! I got 2393. Pretty fun. Could have used some better audio.

insane66 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:34am

Good graphics. Funny! Challenging and quick to play. Real nice entry.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:40am

The theme seems to detract from the enjoyment of the game. I would rather be able to have multiple shots in a game such as this. Still I do love a ballistic trajectory game, thanks for making one.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:17am

Really nice graphics and I like the Christmas theme. I have absolutely no idea how to do anything though. xD

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:39am

Cool game! :) I've liked the graphics and sounds! Pretty good stuff. Great job!!!

If you have time, please rate my game! :) I would really appreciate it :D

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:57am

WHere am I trying to throw the star? Nice music and menus. Interesting art. Gameplay was kind of confusing to me. Don't understand what the points mean.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:04am

Cool game!

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:13am

It was fun but rather confusing!

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:34am

I like how you use the Christmas theme! nice work :)

GarethIW says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:55am

Managed to get 5000 points after I stopped knocking the tree over :) Good fun!

stromchin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I like that you can knock the tree down. Like in my game, but different

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Simple but difficult gameplay. Great work! 19k points here

occash says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:33pm

So mice graphics! Eve is like natural!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Nice one, thanks!

vinull says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:35am

Really depressing music lol! Neat idea, though I found it tough to judge where I was aiming.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:00am

Pretty cool game :) Very nice

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:24am

Christmas is coming!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Simple and fun to play. Took me awhile to realize that you can move around and aim after pressing space, and it even shows the trajectory. Really nice music and graphics. The take on the theme felt kind of weak, though, since you can retry as much as you want.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:34pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GWu3VdjDjIQ
My first impressions on the game :)

angelk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:13am

Nice graphics, but the music is so sad! Maybe I just feel sad because I annihilated that poor Christmas tree.

madlee says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:52am

Well done. Nice graphics, and was quick enough to not be annoying. I tried several times but I never even got close to the top, but then again i only tried super far shots :)

Maple says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:24am

This is really addictive! I managed to get a high score of 13,762 by standing all the way back and throwing with power 100 at angle 38, hitting the top of the tree. I have no idea how a high-score of over 20,000 is possible. My only suggestions for making this better would be to clean up the elf's walking animation, and the text at the beginning. Oh and to make navigating the menu with keyboard possible (no one likes switching between keyboard and mouse in a game that doesn't use both). Otherwise this is a great game. Good job!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Fun and challenging game.

aare says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:07pm

The dot's showing the trayectory were a bit confusing - at first I thought that the elve is pissing at the tree :P

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Looks lovely, but I'm confused by the mechanics. I wasn't sure if the particle effect from the Elf was meant to be an aiming guide (if so, it's unhelpful!). Nice, restful music, however - good work for three days!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:12pm

This was a really atmospheric and enjoyable game! I think I scored -17000 which I was pretty pleased with as it was exciting to pretty much trash someones house - an ostentatious kind of owner methinks! They really shouldn't go to bed with that fire blazing, the elf would do them a favour by making a bit of a racket ;)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:35pm

An excellent little game :) After a gazillion attempts (yeah you only get one, I know) I managed to get over 8000 :) However, if you sum up my previous attempts, I was definitely still below zero. I rather enjoyed toppling the tree.

The elve's animation was of course a bit rough.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Graphics didn't mean much, as all the fun was related to the experience. Long live the elves! Fun game, it surprised me with its humor and polished mechanics. Good job.

henrykun says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:24am

Very nice game, it's fun, the graphics are very good and I like how the stars spin in the air :D.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:35pm

A lot of little imperfections that make it not-so-great, but not bad overall.

dudsen says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Hm . Threw the star on top of the tree from 25m distance ~350 points, from 50m to underneath the tree: 1500 points :D Well some families have strange tree decoration behaviors ;)
Warm graphics and solid player controls, but the music loop is a bit annoying after a while.

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Funny Xmas game!
Liked the animations, great job! Some background graphics are a bit blurry. Nice sounds and atmosphere with warm fireplace :-)
Aiming from a range is a bit difficult.
Doesn't seem to be related to the jam theme (or you're the one elve maybe?).

Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Pretty fun, my record 11616
With some more work on "variations/techniques" of throwing it could be a fun game, with levels may be :) Great work man!

mystakin says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:09am

Fun, simple game. I could definitely get addicted to this, but I wish there was an easier way to judge how power affected the trajectory of the star.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Thanks for the Christmas-themed game! I love knocking over the tree. The difficulty is pretty steep, but love the charm of this game!

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:14am

Fine physical game.

taocayo says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:05am

Very polished. Liked the idea of being able to topple the tree. It adds a different twist to the old formula.

Grafter says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Fitted in with xmas! Good little game!

Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Not works...

LatFoued says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Pretty, simple and fun. good job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]