December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mother Love

by Zener - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Postmortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/26/mother-love-postmortem/

With this theme I started to brainstorm and... everybody has just one mother so I decided to do a game about a mother taking care of her child.

She can bring him on her mouth to protect him, but she can also throw him and kill the enemies.

I hope you enjoy this little jump'n'run game as much as I enjoyed doing it. It's my first entry in Unity after many Flash entries.

Controls:
-Use cursor keys or pad.
-Left control key to throw your baby.

Tools Used:
-Unity3D
-PaintShop`Pro
-Sfxr for the sounds
-Autotracker for the music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#197Theme3.45
#219Humor3.00
#224Graphics3.52
#237Audio3.03
#249Mood3.16
#255Overall3.31
#306Fun3.17
#577Innovation2.79

Comments

abeing says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:24am

Awww so cute! A short but very good game. The best I played so far.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Awesome game! Also one of the best I've seen so far.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55am

Very nice! The idea is interesting and very fitting to the theme. Cute sprites and sound (love the baby crying effects) top a great entry.

Congrats! :D

GingerMess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Cute, and pretty smooth too. My only gripe is that you don't move while sitting on a platform, requiring you to move in the direction of it. No biggy though.

MALHCat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Love this game. It was short tough, I want more :)

s73ph4n says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Great. I really enjoy this. Amazing for a first Unity entry. Congrats man!!

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Good job! The gameplay is funny! I like launch my baby avatar! :D

ezolotko says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Cool game.

local minimum says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Throwing babies was really great, and I did enjoy the game even though I died quite a few times. My demises were mainly due to the controls being a little too hard to handle.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:18pm

hahaha great

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Interesting idea and nice gameplay, environment reminds me of the first Sonic for MegaDrive!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Nicely executed. Though many things were the usual generic platforms, I the 3D branches did stand out. All in all, had a good time playing it. The music was great.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Really nice to see a 2D platformer drawn in 3D!

As I usually think, this is yet another game that would have been more fun without the "only get one" theme trying to be jammed into it sideways.

Short and sweet, but quite hard and I kept overjumping and was glad for the checkpoint.

diegomachado says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I'm impressed how you could pull this off. You got 3D, textures and even some water, coming from Flash you've accomplished a lot!

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Nice! Very cute and pretty fun. Movement could use a little work, was pretty hard in particular to move with the moving platforms. I quite like what you did with the theme. Nice work, especially for the 48!

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:07am

Aha I laugh : "Mother's love" and she throws her baby on enemies :D
Your game looks really nice ! nice job !

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:51am

Haha, pretty cute! :D

Photon says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

That was actually pretty cute.

Good job. A little generic in terms of platforming, but I liked the idea. :)

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Very cool for what it is. You could definitely take it a lot farther too. I wish I could rate you on controls, because I found it a little frustrating ;^) a hover ability would be great, because the jump was hard to manage. But I love the theme of throwing the baby to defeat enemies, it really tied into the theme well. Thanks for the game!

Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:20pm

I remember you from your game Minimal Annihilation ;)
Congrats on your first unity entry ! The graphics are well done, I especially like the way you made the trees. Cute characters :) Really nice job !

Zener says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:34am

Thanks a lot for all your comments! Now I have a very good list of things I can improve,

GFM says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Cute lil game. Nice take on the theme! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]