December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Lonely Girl

by kewry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"The Lonely Girl" is a text adventure game about a lost little girl, find her way through this place and discover why she is there.

If you get confused about what is going on remember, it's a dream.

This game was made with Unity3D using Twine for faster story writing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#545Mood2.69
#573Humor2.07
#594Theme2.69
#803Audio1.19
#851Fun2.31
#866Overall2.51
#907Innovation2.13
#984Graphics1.44

Comments

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:12pm

I would love to have an animation of what's going on at the bottom. I think you was planning to do that since there is the girl at the beginning ?

I couldn't go to the end unfortunately, I don't like much reading and there is nothing more to keep my attention :( Not really your fault, I'm just not a big fan of the gender ;)

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Thanks Masadow, I did intend to have some graphics behind the play, my arts are just really terrible :P

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Interesting... the theme is not at all obvious (especially when you reach the ending quickly). At least I'm not dreaming right now...

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Huh.. Why use both Unity and Twine?
But also.. why not?

Interesting combo.

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:56pm

I think I got the first two parts right, but I couldn't work out what to do wit the mole.

Nice work

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15pm

@chicknstu step away and carry on ;)

@PaperBlurt Twine allows for easy and quick decision based story making and although they have their awesome html export I wanted something where I could add 3D to the action (which I failed for multiple reasons :P)

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Nice way of implementing a choose your own adventure style game. I like it.

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Nice story with a somewhat short ending. But I needed some attempts to finish it, that's good ;) Some images or the already suggested animations would have been nice. Maybe you find some time to complete it.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38pm

I like abstract application of the theme. Now I have to get some antiseptic for these claw marks on my face.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:41am

Unity + Twine is interesting. I've been considering it myself. Very cool.

Aaants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Nice work - not sure I ever got the 'right' ending though :)

almightysuit says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Hey kewry! Nice entry :) Is it even possible to win? I tried like 10 times and couldn't do it. I did get the eagle to leave me alone though.. I might have to try again sometimes. You should do the jam next time, as others mentioned art would definitely complement well a Twine+Unity entry!

kewry says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:24am

Yes, it's possible to win, there's multiple paths but mainly you need to:
- meet the mole and leave the flower alone afterward
- "befriend" the eagle (she might scratch you a couple of times or not touch you at all!)
- befriend the squirrel

the rest of the path should be easy :)

porglezomp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:29am

Quite a nice story! It's a shame you didn't manage to add graphics to it.

ehtd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:30am

Interesting game, too bad it was short. Twine and unity, curious combination!

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:46am

Interesting, I wasn't able to beat it but some of the puzzles seemed pretty cool.

smash ball says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Had you not said to leave the mole alone, I would have never reached the ending. Great game otherwise.

mortus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:04pm

It looks like I've finally found the good ending, but I still didn't understand the place. It was somewhat fun although.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Very interesting idea, this. The gameplay was... weird. It is definitely a game, insofar as there is a solution that leads to victory, as well as sub-optimal branches that lead to failure, but achieving success seems to be a lot more about trial and error than problem-solving. It's frustrating, but it also helps the dreamlike mood, and I felt motivated enough to play through until I got the happy ending.

On the downside, the writing is very simple and barebones, and there are quite a few typoes, especially early on.

Difficult to rate, but an interesting idea.

Husky says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:08am

Interesting!
It's a nice story :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]