December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

0 AD - Zombie Uprising

by BrothersT - Jam Entry

While shepherds watched their flocks by night... they didn't notice the undead masses slowly advancing over the hills.

It's the very first Christmas Day, and Mary and Joseph are down the local inn, shirking their divinely appointed parental responsibilities. Thankfully, the man upstairs is on the ball, and has enlisted the help of jolly old Saint Nick to save the day.

The future of all Christendom rests in the hands of Santa, in whose hands also rests the *one and only* Son of God. Saviour of humanity. Vanquisher of zombies!

Merry Christmas Everybody!

--------
Credits:
========

Code - Joseph Thomson
Animation and Art - Robert Thomson
Animation and Sound Design - Dom Elsey

---------
Controls:
=========

A+D or Left+Right = Run
Spacebar or W or Up or RMB = Jump
LMB = Aim and Throw

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#22Humor(Jam)3.85
#43Fun(Jam)3.68
#114Audio(Jam)3.39
#115Overall(Jam)3.47
#128Graphics(Jam)3.84
#149Theme(Jam)3.16
#162Mood(Jam)3.24
#214Innovation(Jam)3.00

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:54am

Hahahaha, this is pretty cool!
I'm surprised this has no comments :/ Remember to play other peoples' games to get ratings on yours :)
Well done!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:17am

@ENDESGA - Thanks! We certainly will! But for now... precious, precious sleep.

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:17am

This game is amazing, I really liked the baby throwing physics and how they blend with your movement.
Catchy music, great art and fun gameplay.
5+ Stars, well done.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Really like the art for this game. A lot of love was definitely put into that style. I absolutely adore it.

Shigor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:35pm

The best :D baby jesus ftw!

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Fun game good job. :)

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:31pm

haha Christmas Zombies! I thought about it but couldn't make it fit the theme, but you guys did that brilliantly.
Great graphics and nice retro music.
Gameplay is fluent (except for the akward use of the mouse button for me)
I like the way Jesus bounces.

Good stuff!

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Round 11 35k, good game!

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Baby Jesus saves. A most excellent game :)

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I love this game! Very well made. Charming graphics, nice music, fun and cool gameplay. Movement felt smooth, attacking felt fluid, slam-dunking baby jesus into the head of a roman legionaire has never been this fun.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:46am

Pretty funny chucking a baby at people. Also I liked the art and gameplay. Seemed well polished. Good job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:04am

Ahahahaha! "The future of Christendom"! This is *awesome*! Top marks all around and Robert's art is amazing!

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:30am

"...a graphical Tour de France..."

"...continues BrothersT's fascinating transition from genre gamemaker extraordinaire to indelible chronicler of historic times...."

You can use these on the box cover I won't mind. Variety's Justin Chang and filmmaker David Fincher might mind on the second one.

insane66 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:58am

That is pretty funny. The character art is really good. Game plays really smooth. I had a little difficulty throwing the baby both directions, sometimes it would only throw left, then other times it would only throw right - it would drop the baby on the other side. Neat game!

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:44am

Love it! Great art, great music, great idea, and by far the funniest entry I've played so far

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Hahaha! I laughed so hard! This idea :D Made really much fun.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Is this blasphemy? I'm pretty sure this is blasphemy. It's really fun though.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:18pm

@All - Thanks very much!

@goerp - Thanks as always! One of these days we will end up with a game that really fits the theme. Check out the updated blurb above for a hint at the theme.

@Nisshoku - Not good enough! You need to kill all of the zombies; granted, there are infinitely many, so you get points for trying :)

@thatwhichis - I think those, along with Riilu's "slam-dunking baby jesus into the head of a roman legionaire has never been this fun" will make it onto the box art :D

@Doctor Broccoli - Our game contains only divinely sanctioned violence.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:27pm

@goerp - Seems I misread your comment about the theme. Thanks very much!

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Loved the theme. Tossing baby jesus to kill zombies was hilarious. The sprites on the dark side shaded correctly and it was amazing that you cared for the lightning.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Quite challenging ... succeed till wave 5

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Very nice idea! That baby is so hardy xDDD Nice job!! :D

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:48pm

This was a pretty cool game. I really liked the idea of throwing a baby to kill zombies.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:00pm

I felt like I was throwing baby Jesus as a sacrifice to the zombies. Really nice game. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/0DcB_uEEmYE

samooJAM says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:27am

Good job!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Wow this was strange but lol It was great.

Peni6 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:18am

nice

michail says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:00pm

I liked the graphics and audio, but zombies aren't very motivating enemy for me (I mean there are so many games about shooting them).

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Hilarious! And really fun to play!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]