December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Rashomon RPG

by Tyro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Super Rashomon RPG is an action role playing game. You can initially only view the world as a powerful magic-wielding knight, but playing through his story will unlock two additional perspectives. Experience the same game through three singular, isolated views, each preceded by a lone line of dialogue to set the mood.

As the main protagonist, collect gems and hearts while fighting your way to the dark magician's tower.
Every ten gems you find will increase the rate of your magic regeneration, which allows you to use spells. Your regular shot will consume a single point of magic, while your special attack consumes five but blows away enemies easily. In addition, any golden hearts you find will permanently extend your lifebar. Good luck!

Controls:
arrow keys: move, choose perspective on the title screen, choose to continue if dead
Z - shoot
X - shoot special weapon
Escape - exit.
Fullscreen - F4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#98Audio3.44
#133Fun3.47
#134Overall3.56
#179Graphics3.65
#186Mood3.31
#480Humor2.28
#635Innovation2.70
#928Theme1.95

Comments

abeing says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:20am

looks very nice. but suddenly the game broke. there was a error dialog from windows and then super strange soundeffects. very creepy!

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:25am

This games art and music is the best ive seen so far. But it crashes... alot... couldnt play it through all the way.

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:26am

Thanks guys, I'm currently fixing the game breaking bugs... I think I know what's wrong. Should have it updated in a moment.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:26am

Its had something to do with entering an illegal state with threads. Or something. Dont remember.

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:51am

Alright, the crashing should stop. Music won't play post-death for reasons unknown, but I can fix that later after some sleep.

Thanks again for the responses, guys. Looking forward to playing your games!

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:54am

After going back, it worked perfectly. The game is really fun and looks very polished and professional for 48 hrs! Cant believe the quality and amount of content for such a small period of time. Great work man. Looking forward to giving a good rating.

headchant says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05am

Nice game and very nice graphics! Only one thing: The gems looked like underpants to me:D

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:10am

It was intresting, I was a little lost but got somewhere.

ming_tea says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22am

Fun game and great music! When I restarted the music disappeared.

CogentInvalid says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:38am

I wasn't able to finish the blob's perspective, because the game crashes after I hit the first green switch. There also seemed to be some issues with the music not stopping or starting at the appropriate times, so I started the second perspective with the boss music still running (not that I'm complaining- it's really good music.) The gameplay is deceptively challenging, and there's a surprising amount of content here for something made in 48 hours. Overall, I enjoyed this experience quite a lot.

evan100216 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

Crashes instantly upon entering the overworld

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:05am

Sorry about the crashing issues, folks. I've been playtesting for a bit myself and have gotten them as well. They're pretty much due to the lack of familiarity with the audio .dll I'm using. Might end up switching it out for something else if this keeps up.

Anyway, hopefully the most recent version is better.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27am

Great game dude! I rate it 5 stars!

ViliX says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

Enjoyed playing this.

Cezel_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02am

That was great!

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:03am

Pretty good game.

Has nothing to do with the theme though, so it's pretty hard to believe you just did this in 48 hours. If you did then take this as a compliment I guess. If not then you're kind of undermining the whole point of Ludum Dare.

TheSheep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23am

Very nice. I absolutely adore the music! The controls are smooth.

rubna says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Fun little game! I like the enemies and the different "views". You did a good job!

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I'm amazed at how much content there is. Varied tiles, enemies, locations... This is really cool, probably the best game I've played so far this compo. If you pulled this off in just 48 hours, you really know how to manage your time!

Having tried to make an exploratory game myself, this really puts my entry to shame :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Very nice level design and gameplay. You can tell a lot of time went into polishing this. Well done!

garygreen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Cute game. Really liked the graphics and audio and I just enjoyed exploring the world you created. Nice work.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Superb visuals and excellent game design. this game could have easily gone down the generic path but it did not. It reminds me of Zelda in a way. Only problem is that the music cuts out at times (when you die and respawn, when you go underground). This game is also the longest here I've played so far. You could probably get several hours out of this. I did not even finish the first perspective!

Thommy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Good work with the music and the sprites. The controls are a bit problematic if you have a german keyboard layout like me because the Y and Z Keys are swapped here and therefore X isn't next to Z. Keep that in mind for future games :)

Tyro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:02am

Thommy:

Thanks for the heads up, apologies for that. I always try to program customizeable controls into my games but usually don't have enough time to make an interface for changing them. If you open the file in the game's directory that says 'Settings', try changing the value of 'Shoot' to 89. That should fix things for you.

Mutt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:33am

Yay! An action-rpg! Definitely my favorite LD entry I've played so far. Very polished, and damn, the game is HUGE! Lots of variety in scenery and enemies too. If I could change one thing though, it'd be to make the run speed a little higher. I'm impatient damnit, I want to explore faster!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51am

Unbelievable for 48 hours. Very nice!

SimonRhys says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Awesome game! Love the graphics and the music! :)

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Really nice game, well designed and with a good music, it's impressive in only 48h!

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Plays very nice, has some cute music and gfx, didn't played much further though to understand the connection with the theme. I broke some boulder in a cave, next screen and then back and couldn't break it again, so I was trapped.

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:48am

WOW!
I love the different views idea, actually it is really fun!
So lucky that I find a secret path to continue going, and fight the boss, got his view.
Good job!! :D

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:56am

And I got a little same feeling of "Nier Replicant".

jprogman says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:28am

Heheh, funny that I can play as a couple of enemies. Very nice work!

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:31am

Even though they were shorter, I liked having the alternate perspectives, particularly the boss character. Very interesting story bit with just that little bit of text. Other than the music not loading after I died, I didn't experience any problems with the game.

greytram says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Very nice game (although I don't see well how it relates to the compo theme)! Graphics are cute and map is large.
Aiming at monsters is a bit difficult sometimes.
Well done overall!

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:22pm

I lOVE the different perspectives aspect of it. It would be fantastic if you were able to expand on those. Really enjoyed the game, and I think it had a very classic feel to the gameplay and the graphics. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]