December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Superly Major Questing Adventure Fun Times

by john_conder9 - Jam Entry

I had to Jam it because I worked all friday and a good chunk of Saturday. I used this LD to learn javascript, since browsers games are cool.

I was so close to getting the game to a place I was happy with. Another hour? or two at most. ARGH :( I think it's fully playable right now (I haven't been able to test it actually.. :D) so... um ... have fun my lovely testers! Be sure to leave me feedback via comments for good karma! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#33Humor(Jam)3.75
#157Fun(Jam)3.18
#201Overall(Jam)3.23
#230Theme(Jam)2.87
#272Mood(Jam)2.87
#274Innovation(Jam)2.82
#279Audio(Jam)2.82
#424Graphics(Jam)2.61

Comments

ahnt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:30am

Solid game, the voice acting hooked me at the start and the game was explained well. Also a good amount of content

netguy204 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:43am

Wonderful! Love the intro "story" and the use of the theme as a mechanic. Very nicely done and enjoyable.

The game crashed on me when I took the north path at the first cross (after I had gone east and ran back screaming "oho noes!")

lucasmaismais says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44am

Good!

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46am

The combat is a little confusing at first but the game is really fun!

ahnt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:48am

Solid game, the voice acting hooked me at the start and the game was explained well. Also a good amount of content

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:22am

The game froze on the screen to the right of the first crossroads (there's a large building in the center). Could not reproduce; game was too hard. :)

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:29am

Well I'm definitely a fan of your intro.

popogames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:07am

Oops, I backtracked to the start screen in the tutorial and that seem to break it; the sword I need to pick up dissapears :P And Lovely voice acting at the start!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33am

I liked reading the text boxes the most, to be honest. It was fun to play!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:49am

good game, i would make enemies smarter though....they kinda move in stupid way decreasing pos.x and pos.y to player :)

the says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17am

Fun game with a lot of little bugs.

fued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:19am

combat sucks, otherwise i like it lol

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:50am

Since the game's a bit finicky and hard to control, checkpoints would be nice.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05pm

The story is awesome. The narration is incredible. Gameplay is lacking, controls are awkward and the theme, while used, wasn't used creatively. The art could be a lot better, the intro looked better than the game.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:40am

Nice game!

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:54am

Really cool stuff. Loved the intro cut scene and dialogue. Very humorous. As far as gameplay goes I really like the layout, but the collisions are a bit too strict. Having a smaller bounding box then the actual size of the sprite would be much preferred. Like how in a Mario game you can have a spike about 2 pixels inside of you without it killing you. The trees in this game were a bother to get pass because of this.

Still though the humour kept me playing. Really top quality stuff.

cdgugler says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:14am

I am also a fan of the intro, got me hooked immediately.

johnfn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:14am

Hilarious but unforgiving. That warrior potato guy holding what looked like pizza got me to crack up. With some checkpoints this could be amazing. But the take on the theme is really neat.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:58am

Love the voice acting, use of theme was cool. Not sure if it was a bug but I was able to stack multiple swords by going back and forth between screens.

Jejeboy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:12am

Hilarious! I wish more games had humor like this. I really like the storytelling.

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:16am

Well done!!!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:32am

Nice game, great introduction!

stenol says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Superb little game !

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:51am

Oh and sorry about the confusion with my game! I wrote up a guide if you're interested. You weren't the only player to get confused.

http://berathen.com/2013/12/berathen-jam-guide.php

StMatn says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Awesome intro!
It is possible to be stuck in walls after going to another screen. At two points I think the game frozw, after trying to leave the screen (1. from start: ulurrU [2nd screenshot] and 2. from start uluruulL[smashed the stone and went left])
Pretty decent game though!
Nice work :)

Moosefly says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:18pm

He might have been a potato. :D Brilliant intro. The game itself could use some fixing and polish here and there. Great humor and solid gameplay!

atombrot says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:37pm

it's nicely done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]