December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Bullet

by crockid5 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:

WASD or Arrow Keys - Move around
Left Click - Fire
Mouse - Look Around

You have one bullet per level, so use it wisely. Make sure to check out the Bonus material once you've completed the game (It will appear on the main menu)

3:38 yes! Try and beat it guys XD

I added a post- compo version with a few suggestions from friends and the LD comments. It has semi- functioning 4 player coop, but I'll release the server files when it's fully functioning if anyone is interested :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#342Theme3.16
#431Humor2.38
#524Fun2.83
#657Overall2.81
#681Audio2.02
#756Innovation2.49
#828Mood2.24
#908Graphics2.00

Comments

crockid5 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I completed the game in 4:04, see if you can beat it!

ghosrath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:08am

Fun, finished nowhere near as fast as you :)

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09am

A pretty interesting twist on top-down stealth! It reminds me of Guitar Hero, where you save your star power bar until you get to a really hard part of the song, except you're saving a bullet. But I wish the vision mechanics were more obvious, it's hard to tell when I'm hidden and when I'm not. Also, the camera is focused somewhat above the character, so you can't really see enemies that are below you. I kept getting killed this way :(

Anton_D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:10am

Fun game you wrote for this Ludum dare :). I liked how you could trick the guys into shooting each other.

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:12am

Really nice. I made it to level 11 and it became quite tricky! :) The graphics aren't the best but the gameplay is really gripping and the compo theme is well included.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:12am

I love the games concept!

sirival says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:13am

I'm running the game on OSX and I'm not sure how to move? I tried arrow keys, left click, WASD, but nothing is happening?

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:16am

It's WASD to move, unfortunatley I don't have a Mac so I'm unable to test this for you. I'm incredibly sorry :( I assumed it would work on all platforms being Java, not to undermine, is the window definetly in focus/ Does the GUI work?

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:18am

Somehow I've got only 10-20 fps from this, so I get bored pretty fast because of slow movement..

sirival says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:19am

The GUI does indeed work. But the controls don't :( It's ok no worries :D Well done anyway!

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:21am

Very good game. I really like the idea and the mechanics.
Some critique:
- Presentation could be better.
- Camera was offset from the center on my Windows System. Or, judging from the screenshots, is that how it was supposed to be?
- I do think that visual representation of viewing cones for the enemies would make it a better game because it would be more predictable.
- Shooting felt predictable and always worked like I wanted it to happen.
Level 6 was too hard for me. But that's perhaps just me.
Overall, a very good entry. Reminded me of the first Metal Gear Solid in a positive way.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:24am

I'll make a pro dev walk through :P Every level is possible without firing a bullet :D

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:55am

Haha, very cool.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:01am

Good game, good to see a jar that doesn't need batch files or wrappers.

gupta_shvm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:03am

Nice concept and interesting game! I like the sound effects!

Spit Tex says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:16am

Really fun game, loved how the game was more focused on stealth and tactically choosing how to use that one bullet than just going in and shooting everyone

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:19pm

It's pretty difficult ^_^

TaleLore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Solid gameplay.

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Game launches to a grey screen for me. Wont rate, just thought id let you know.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:42pm

@Bribz, can you run the game from the command line and pastebin the error?

Jejeboy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:54am

Good level design and you included the Wilhelm scream!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:22pm

So, you created that perfect copy of the wilhelm scream within your 48 hours? :P
Fun game, sadly I wasn't able to finish it. Got stuck in, I don't know, Level 5 or something (didn't count them). Really unforgiving enemies, but that makes finishing a level even more rewarding. However, I had to turn off the sound after dying approximately 50 times in a row. :D

multikorv says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:02am

Quite fun! Nice levels.

Oli says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:20am

graphics could have been better but the gameplay is cool

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:28am

Interesting game, but too much depend on understanding how the vision and turning of the guards work while there is no way to actually see it ingame.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:36am

Cool game ! Well designed, I love it !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]