December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nobag

by Taldius - Jam Entry

You only get one item to leave this cave alive, choose wisely ...


Controls:
1 - 4 Players (Keyboard + Xbox360 pads)

- Arrow/Left joytick: Move
- Space/A: Use


Story:
Four Nehandertal men were lost in the jungle. They try to go back to their village but get surrounded by a group of raptor.
They manage to get near a cliff, as the rain started to fall and the raptors were still close, they decide to take cover in a shelter.
This shelter wasn't empty: a fire was burning near a small wooden hut. An old man appeared and showed them a way out, through the mountain. He gave them each the choice of one object.
So they took the object they thought the most useful to them and walked through the path
The old man smiled and closed the entrance.


Credits:
Programmers:
- Jonas Lhoste
- Justin Bernet
- Vincent Diquelou
- Julian Roulee

Graphist:
- Gautier Di Fusco

Sound designer:
- Aubry Grieger
- Antoine Leriche

Scenarist:
- Aubry Grieger

Game designer:
- Antoine Semblat

Community management:
- Cedric Tartary

Special Thanks:
- Pierre Nole


Softwares:
- XNA
- Gimp 2
- Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#160Theme(Jam)3.13
#199Overall(Jam)3.24
#206Graphics(Jam)3.43
#233Mood(Jam)2.98
#251Fun(Jam)2.91
#329Humor(Jam)2.12
#347Audio(Jam)2.56
#403Innovation(Jam)2.46

Comments

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46am

A good game, shame on me for not being able to reach the end :P
I only though that those arrows are a bit over powered as i can't see from where they come (no hole on the wall nor other indication)

Hamcha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:56am

Quite nicely made for a jam game, the idea isn't the most original (It was my first idea, and I know several people who thought of it too) but nor I or them could probably develop it so well!

paulopn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13am

The idea is quite similar to my game, but taken differently =p
I like the way the visuals and sound make it immersive... Reminds me a lot of the first 2 Fallout games in that aspect.

Everything works quite well. Pretty solid =D
One suggestion I would give is adding a visual effect for when the player is hit, as it was kind of hard to hear that whisper.

Agram says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:18am

I couldn t test on multiplayer. In solo, holes and arrows are a bit frustrating. In conclusion, good realisation.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:36am

Great game. Love the idea, and the Nehandertal thing ;)

Bcadren says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:40am

The strong point of this game is mostly the visual. I got the feeling that my choice didn't matter as much as you originally intended and (as a few others have said) I had a similar idea myself as well. No bag is no bad though.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:12am

Having to install the game is kind of a let down.. especially when the whole installer is in French. :P
But judging from the screenshots, it does look very nice. I really like the art style.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:13am

Good visuals!

dementor561 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33am

its cool

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:47am

Nice game. Pretty fun and I enjoyed its art style. However, like everyone else, having to install the game destroys the fun, and the hole... I just hope there is more visual to tell me that is dangerous. Other than that, the game stays true to its theme, a class system where you can only use one item is pretty good.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:04pm

You should do a non-installer version as people may not be able to/want to use an installer. It's XNA, so simply zip up the exe and the content folders, and include the XNA redist installer for those that don't have the libraries installed.

ponk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Cool game ! Nice visuals !
I guess I need a xbox pads to play it with friends and enjoy it for real !

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42pm

A no installer version is on the way !

Rothens says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15pm

It's a bit laggy, and the arrows are a bit confusing.
I like the idea, but it definitely needs some polish.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Wow! Stylish, I like this one!

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:28pm

I didn't get the executable running using Windows 7. Since I didn't want to install it, I cannot vote for you, sorry.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Nice work with the art! It was a pretty solid game, try working on the feedback to the player

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Very easy to hit the holes, Enemies pass under the black block for the holes,
But the game looks great, plays well, and is pretty fun.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Can't play windows games :-(

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:31pm

I had a crash in the right-down corner of first cave when I touched the crystal. But its a good game, I love the art and the top view, Awesome job!

mruno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Cool game, quite difficult

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Great execution of the idea! Awesome art and very challenging. (Even with 2 players.)

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:31am

It's brown and fun!
Impressive gameplay and fun with more than one player!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Really nice dungeon crawler. I had a few issues with hitboxes and I was able to pick all 6 items (bug or intentional). However, I actually played this game for longer than any other game I have rated so far.

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:00pm

interesting concept, i pick torch then shield and then i also wanted to try the stick! When I got to the black holes for the first time it's been difficult to understand that they were actually black holes.

30dogs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Great art. The gameplay was fun too, although I could not find a use for the club. The black pits could use a graphic to show that they are deadly--it was not obvious to me at first sight.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:34pm

I like the graphics with the club actually getting bigger when you lift it and the basic concept was good, but there wasn't much variety.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:05am

The control is weird. Solid gameplay though.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:23am

Great game. It was a bit difficult here or there, but nothing some retries couldn't fix.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:44am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WoipzvZ_vr4
My first impressions on the game :D

Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:12am

Nice artwork ! Great job guys !

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:44am

Very cool game :)

Techblogogy says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Good. Just good

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]