December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hitotsu - Last of the Dragon Keepers

by Ryusui - Jam Entry

You are the last of the Dragon Keepers.

You have been trusted with HITOTSU, the last of the dragons, in a desperate bid to thwart the evil Astaroth Empire and their legion of soulbound golems.

You were a novice when the Empire destroyed the Dragon Keepers' ancestral home, so your dragon powers are not as strong as they could have been; a single blow from the enemy will fell you. However, you still possess the power to summon forth powerful bolts of dragon magic by pressing the Z key.

HITOTSU has the potential to become a powerful ally. He may be summoned from his egg at any time by pressing the X key. He will defend you from enemy attacks and attack your foes with his dragon breath. He will also gain Soul Power for each enemy you defeat with your dragon magic; the more Soul Power he has, the mightier he will be when summoned.

Be warned that the Astaroth Empire has many powerful weapons at its disposal, and only with HITOTSU at his full strength will you be able to defeat them!

Defeated foes will also sometimes drop useful spells:

FIREPOWER - Doubles your attack strength
RAPID FIRE - Increases your attack speed
SHIELD - Renders you invulnerable

Good luck, Dragon Keeper, and may HITOTSU guide you to victory!


Hitotsu - Last of the Dragon Keepers was made in 72 hours for the Ludum Dare #28 Game Jam using Game Maker: Studio. The theme of "You Only Get One" inspired me to create a scrolling shooter with a twist: a powerup you can only use once (your dragon), but which becomes more powerful the longer you wait to use it. (To a lesser extent, there's the temporary powerups you can pick up - they're mutually exclusive, so you can only have one active at a time!)

UPDATE: Hitotsu is now available as a standalone app from the above link instead of an installer!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#67Fun(Jam)3.54
#95Overall(Jam)3.54
#166Mood(Jam)3.23
#222Graphics(Jam)3.38
#225Theme(Jam)2.88
#226Humor(Jam)2.50
#298Audio(Jam)2.77
#308Innovation(Jam)2.75
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

aayars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:43am

Using a Mac, so I wasn't able to try the game. Sorry...

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:57am

I really really like this game, but I might be a bit biased since I love bullet hell. :D This was a ton of fun, if not a little hard. Awesome!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:04am

A fun vertical shooter with an nice fantasy setting and well-made, colorful graphics. Very nice...if a bit difficult. :P

atomic_swerve says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11am

Very amazing. I enjoy the mechanic of "holding" your bomb, unlike similar SHUMPs where you have a stock of them. I think it would be more fun to have a faster stream of weak bullets, instead of staggered one-shotters, but all in all the difficulty level is good and it has great replayability.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05am

Great game! Really hard, but great!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:02am

Nice use of the theme on this one!

Ghost Pixels says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:07am

Excellent! Love the art for the different enemy types. Definitely wish I could shoot faster. It requires skill to play.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:16am

That was very good.
I rarely play schmups so it was very hard for me, but I liked it a lot.
Lots of bullits, lots of effects, lots of power ups. It played well.
Nice story.

I'm not sure how impressive your dragon can become, I didn't come very far, maybe someone can post a youtube video for a noob like me?

Just one thing: I didn't like having to install the game (and I think I'm not the only one). If you could make a stand alone version that would be great.
With gamemaker you could also create a version for the mac, no?

anvoz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Very challenging but also very innovative and entertaining. Don't know if I can kill the flying steel armor or not.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Really solid game, great graphics, well made.

foumart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38pm

First time seen a fantasy driven game in the form of flying shooter. Well Done!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Thanks for the feedback, everyone!

Yes, I deliberately made the game on the difficult side - I wanted to make it hard to resist bringing out the dragon prematurely (which, as the intro scroll hints, means you won't be able to beat the end boss).

I'll admit I made this in GameMaker largely because I recently got the Standard Edition for free during their promotion (and upgraded to Professional for $25), though I'm not sure I particularly care for it: Stencyl has a much better interface and a much nicer level editor (GameMaker's level editor, for the record, is garbage). That said, it's probably easier to do really complicated things in GameMaker than it is Stencyl due to how easy it is to actually write code.

One thing that really annoys me is that I can't create a nice, friendly Web-based app without a $99 add-on purchase, which Stencyl can do out-of-the-box. Maybe I could port this game to Stencyl myself sometime, or even straight to Haxe?

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:04am

Great shooter game. Nice job! I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/6i2NO94dPrk

Ryusui says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:18am

High five! I'll have to watch that in full later.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:22am

Pretty amazing game. Good Job!

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:55am

the best 2.8 mb you will get here at LD28!

played several times.

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:20am

Difficult and nice! Got past the first boss only :)

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:24am

nice art for some enemies, seems a little detached from the theme

Benjamin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:07am

Wow fantastic overall for this one. The game is very complete addictive, and this dragon bar mechanic is gold. You catch my attention for 20-30 minutes on this.

tchem says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:38pm

very fun !!! i like so much of graphics and gameplay!!

jprogman says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:13am

Nice Shoot'em up that isn't space related! This really reminds me like King's Knight for the NES. In fact, this is hard like a NES game, heh.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Really cool game (and difficult) ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]