December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Element

by SimonRhys - Jam Entry

One Element!

Unlock more mages and more elements to use as you level up! Play the "Unlocked" version to skip all this pesky leveling business so you can pick from any mage at the start and have some fun!

This is our first submitted Ludum Dare Jam entry! So enjoy and rate! We'll compile for other platforms as soon as we can.

Controls:
W-A-S-D - Movement
Spacebar - Jump (and when close enough to walls hold it to climb)
Left Click - Missile Spell
Right Click - Secondary Spell


Game made by SimonRhys (Code) and 11nephilim (Art).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#322Graphics(Jam)3.03
#378Humor(Jam)1.94
#397Mood(Jam)2.54
#419Overall(Jam)2.71
#427Fun(Jam)2.43
#433Theme(Jam)2.27
#443Audio(Jam)1.89
#464Innovation(Jam)2.27

Comments

Microfrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Pretty difficult once you get to the Air Mage, and has a problem with it (the spawning is weird, I spent almost two minutes just walking around trying to find enemies). But an otherwise good comp game.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Fun little game, I like the color palette and enemies!

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Nice! Lovely idea, great graphics too. I think adding the unlocked version was a really smart addition - well done on a great game!

Tyro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:09am

Cool art. Climbing that mountain at the end felt really good, for some reason.

SimonRhys says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Thanks for the comments guys! Glad you're enjoying it :)
Yeah I needed to work on the spawning, but ran out of time :( As I guess is expected with Ludum Dare!

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Very creative concept. I have to say I like the skull mage the best. He just looks the coolest.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53pm

This was a neat little game. I was a bit freaked out by all the enemies but it was fun!

scoobyben says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:59am

The enemies keep falling on me from the sky! I think they spawn behind me and follow me down

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:07pm

A bit glitchy and to be honest not very entertaining. Maybe give more choices at the start or let people level up quicker to begin with?

Azzar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:35pm

The controls are smooth and it looks kinda pretty. Especially the fire mage. Wish there was more variety though. Other than that - a fun little game.

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Nice little thing. Mages looked great. I liked the mechanic of running away placing traps while hoping not to trigger more encounters ahead of you. Also really enjoyed falling long distances while still battle enemies also falling. Bit disappointing that only the air mage was functionally different but time restraints do that. Climb ability worked well with the (procedurally generated?) level design. Nice simplified RPG elements - RPGs don't have to be super crazy complicated! Can't give it the best marks because of all the competition this LD, but there's a lot of potential from you two. Keep it up!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:37pm

I like the 4x mages design, but most of them have the same gameplay. Only the air mag have a different second spell.
I especially like the mage with the skull head :)

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Like the graphics, the mages played pretty much the same and the map didn't makemuch difference.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Whoo, mages and skeletons and skeleton mages, kewl! Encountered some bugs too:

1) An enemy spawned on top of the level, I climped there and took a screenshot -> the timestep skipped a tick and I went trough the roof (http://i.imgur.com/O6Js20G.png)

2) I found the ultimate leveling glitch! (http://i.imgur.com/QWSxkLB.png)

The graphics were OK, didn't really care for the audio. The gameplay could've also been a bit more intriguing, but good job considering the time limit. Controls were a bit weird at first (why not use W to jump and move up since you were using A and D to move side to side anyways :D) and I would've liked to be able to aim my magics with the mouse.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:35am

Nice characters graphics, kinda challenging, I like that !

tchem says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Nice graphics, i loved it!!

occash says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Nice graphics, I like it! I think that if there will be movements better- it will be the best game!
Very good job!

goerp says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:35pm

I like how the mages look. The enemies look OK too.
The rest could use some more work. A moody music will help and some different terrain. A lot of the time you would have enemies on top of you which were hard to shoot. Maybe a flatter terrain so they can't fall on top of you and maybe some collission so they can't move through you?
Sometimes the aiming was buggy too. At some point I could only shoot to the right.
I like that the mages have different secondary spells, otherwise they would be very alike in playing, but I found the secondary spells not very useful. If you can make them more useful, you could have your favorite mage?

GarethIW says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:25pm

It could do with some more variance between mages as others have said, I think what would benefit it most in its current state would be to have you playing through a level or series of levels with a win condition etc. Perhaps having a unique setting/pool of enemies for each mage?

01rafael says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Well, seems like all charakters have only one different: skins

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]