December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Wreck

by primaerfunktion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Plot:
You have been scammed by the spaceship seller. Try to reach the earth with that wreck.

Controls:
FPS-Controls. Use left mouse to interact.

Tips:
Do not die.
Do not destroy your Ship.
Watch the heat meters and adjust the workload accordingly (there might be fires).
Higher workload = higher energy consumption.
Watch the energy and oxygen meters.
Watch the target offset (should be 0,0).

Other:
YAY, it's my first submission and actually my second "finished" (read: playable) game overall. Whoop whoop!

Tweaking all these values required more work than I expected so I had to cut a few systems to have enough time to get those in the game working. Maybe I'll keep working on this thing. We'll see.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#67Mood3.67
#82Innovation3.71
#87Overall3.69
#90Humor3.48
#185Fun3.38
#217Graphics3.54
#305Audio2.87
#728Theme2.46

Comments

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:17am

Love it!
I really enjoyed the frantic back and forth gameplay, though the whole thing feels like as a player I only make things worse.

Where does "You only get one" come in here?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:43am

Thanks man!

And as I progressed I got carried further and further away. So I put that little dialog in the begging. The player wants as many spaceships as possible, but the spaceship seller gives him only one. A faulty one.

It's a little bit sneaky but there was no way back. I found the theme to be really tricky.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:59am

I can't stop playing! It's really fun. I'm determined to win!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:09am

Wow ! I love it, really nice concept, best game I played so far. Great job ! Very good use of the minimalist graphics. Really interesting game. The little vader is funny ;)

chardish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57am

Literally running around putting out fires. Wonderful :D

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:58am

I would love to see a fuller version of this!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:02am

Fun concept and nice execution, sweet Vader bobble head =P It was crazy trying to balance everything the ship needed, especially just being thrown into the middle of. Nice work, can't wait to see what's in the back of the ship!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:04am

Awesome! Also I suck at it. But the game is great.

Graphical style = excellent.
Music is cool. Could do with some sound effects too though.
Maybe just one for when things catch fire, and a clicky one for the buttons.

Overall 5/5

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:07am

Very good entry. Loveley presentation. And the gameplay was interesting, although I was not good enough to make it to the end. (I blame it on Little Vader whom I instructed to watch the oxygen levels. But he didn't seem to care.)

Devtactics says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:10am

This is my favourite entry so far. Love the intro, the graphics, and the repairing-a-spaceship theme. Nice and frantic..

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:20am

Thanks to all of you. It really cool reading these positive comments.

@Steve: I actually wanted to add those sound effects but I was running out of time... I decided to make that bobble head istead.

jongtao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:40am

The frantic moment of randomly pushing buttons in hopes of them actually helping was really awesome. I did have trouble finding out what to do without some guidance, since I tried to play it without reading your description first, especially the "offset" part.

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Wow! I captures that 'oh shit! what next?' feeling. Really really good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Really nice artwork! One funny bug: you can keep looking "up" to eventually flip your view totally upside down.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Jeah, it's not even a real bug. I simply forgot to limit the angles.

fued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:47pm

not a bad little game, sorta reminded me of kerbal with micromanagement :P

Deity says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:19am

Looks great and has lots of potential! I liked the mini-darth-vader thing. Controls were smooth and graphical style was nice in a retro way.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:13am

I love this! Fucking great. My favourite LD game so far.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36pm

good job :)

Pol says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:09am

I loved it but it is haaard. Couldn't get there alive :[

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:56am

Pretty cool, I loved the hectic management of the on-board controls. I seemed to keep dying really easily, without getting anywhere near the earth, oh well. Was really fun! Good job!

mrjordan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:23am

Very intuitive after the first fire! This is a pretty neat little disaster management sim. :D

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Wow. Great game but i suck at space.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:54pm

OHH! :D THis is so nice! :D
Even though I don't understand why the air generator just goes on fire so easily! XD

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:00am

Awesome game. The concept is just so much fun. I find it hard to extinguish stuff. It would've been nice if you had put a fire extinguisher into the ship which I need to grab before I can extinguish stuff.
But it works like it is and I would really love to see you keep working on it :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:48am

I kind of liked the fact that there wasn't a sound effect for the fires popping up. It made it a lot harder, but it led to a few "AHHH!!" moments when I turned around and realized that there was a huge fire I had to run and put out haha

Lissar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:14am

I had quite a lot of fun with this one! Definitely saving it to play later. I actually want to survive to the end this time.

erebusman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:45am

Really cool game, I liked the environment and simplicity of it. Definitely challenging to manage it. The 'music' was a little distracting; I think something more atmospheric might have worked (for me) better. Good job overall.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:50am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yIOhmtngA3k
My first impressions on the game :)

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:35am

Good stuff, very solid game.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Thanks a lot people of the internet!

I guess I shouldn't have made it that hard. I actually found it quite easy while playtesting so I made it a little bit harder before submitting. I think I shouldn't have done that.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:21pm

I appreciate the idea of a first-person resource management game. I'm left wishing this was more complicated/involving though.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:52pm

really cool setting

TomboFry says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:36pm

The frequency of something going wrong, even with minimal speed is highly irritating, however, apart from that, it's a very good game!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Great touches, like the bobblehead darth vader on the dash. Got sooo close, but didn't make it. The offset adjustments sometimes won't let you get all the way back to zero, but other than that, the controls worked as expected. I was expecting the hamster machine to work the oxygen, the offset to work the energy etc. Luckily it wasn't that insanely difficult. :D

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:45pm

I'm still confused about how the game actually works - the relationship between the choices you make and the outcomes aren't clear. Otherwise, great concept, funny game.

Static 64 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:09am

Wow, that's awesome. I don't think I understand the targeting fully, but it's really fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]