December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Face

by tripleVisionGames - Jam Entry

Inspired by McFunkypants and his crazy charity button antics, I thought I'd have a crack at trying to raise some money!

So, I thought, what do I have that I can auction off for charity?

Well, my friends, I have my beard, but I only have one.

Well, that beard is going to be sacrificed.

At your hands.

Now, I love my beard dearly, but this just seemed like it was more important than my feelings on the matter. Also, I was mightily hungover and, by the time I'd sobered up enough to realise it was a bad idea, I'd already made half the game.

Anyway...

************************* HOW TO PLAY **********************

- Make different beards.

- Submit your creations to see if they are a close enough match to any of the 'charity beards'

- Find your favourite beards (you can refer to the guide on screen '?')

- Once you have found your favourite, you can vote for it by giving money to charity!!

- Each beard has a different charity

- The beard that earns the most for its charity will be worn through February (could only set the charity pages up to last until the end of the year so I'm going to duplicate them for the month of January)

Thank you, and enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#41Innovation(Jam)3.68
#51Humor(Jam)3.56
#81Audio(Jam)3.56
#122Graphics(Jam)3.86
#150Fun(Jam)3.20
#174Overall(Jam)3.29
#197Mood(Jam)3.10
#274Theme(Jam)2.74

Comments

Sestren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:23am

Clever idea, and the charity tie-in and beard collecting were really nice touches. I've seen similar entries to this before, but this one is the best so far.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:10am

Haha that's not fair: with the UNDO you have more than one chance! :p :p :p Anyway, nice game hehe! :) It remembered me I have to shave! :p

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:48am

What a great idea for a game. :) I hope you get a really fancy beard to rock on February.

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Very fun, I'm a bad barber, so wasn't able to make even half of this list. Awesome!

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Nice idea. I made some crazy beards :{D

McFunkypants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Awesome work! I loved the beards. I also wanted to shave his head and eyebrows! =)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Hmm, hair I might consider for charity. Eyebrows I'm not so sure...

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09pm

You have not just a mighty beard (as do I), but also a sense for
graphics and fun gameplay. Much like your last LD game, this is real
good.. Impressive!

dray says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37pm

I love the idea, i'm quite bad at finding all the beards. quite curious to see the beard who will be selected.

Aaants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Cool idea. Good luck with the real life shaving!

dudsen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Love the idea, but unfortunately my artsy beard creation was replaced with a full beard after pressing submit :(

Wait.. you didn't implement this on purpose, did you ;)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:07pm

...maybe...

jomomomo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:11pm

LOL really funny.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Entertaining beard art simulator.

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:42pm

I'm really impressed by how you made the game guess what hairstyle it was. The game was a very interesting concept and you did a great job. You get a thumbs up from me! :D

scoobyben says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Nice Idea! I recognised the menu music from the Elder Sign Android game...

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:28pm

YES! Beard collecting! Hands down, best idea out there.

BUT, add a "restart" button, so you don't have to undo a bunch of times to get back to the start!

veiadoida says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:29pm

haha it's funny and very well executed. love the rockabilly music, by the way. congratulations :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Kevin MacLeod is an amazing source of licence free music. I would 100% recommend checking out his stuff at http://www.incompetech.com - just remember to attribute him!

Scoobyben, not sure I've played Elder Sign but I'm going to look it up, that tune from Kevin is LOVELY :D

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Awesome, loved the idea

aare says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:01pm

I tried to make monkeytail beard, but it keeped saying that I already made that beard - I guess it was confisuing it with the full beard or so... Anyway - very interesting idea, I spend on this one much more time than I planeed :)

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:13am

Great idea, and superb graphics! Games for charity seems to be becoming a bigger and bigger thing, love it!

Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:43pm

great! now i can finally get the beard i want!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]