December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Burning Love

by Ted Brown - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Grog sit on sidelines of romantic love life, until one day passing lightning get grabby and reach for Grog stick. Now stick have fire. Now Grog have chance with girl!

Eight levels of side-scrolling platforming action!

A/D or left /right to move, W or Up to jump.

You must keep your fire lit! Blow on it by HOLDING space or enter. But beware! This will burn down the stick faster!

Levels are algorithmically generated. If you die, you can restart the same level, or generate a new one. Either way, just have fun! Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#115Humor3.36
#294Innovation3.22
#309Graphics3.29
#379Overall3.16
#380Theme3.11
#412Fun2.98
#453Mood2.83
#477Audio2.56

Comments

Parasyte says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57am

This game is pretty difficult. The graphics are very well done!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00am

Great idea ! I love it ! Blowing on the torch, really cool and the particules effects of the fire are great ! Excellent work ! Grog doesn't like rain ;)

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:08am

Nice lighting! The jumping is a bit awkward, but the art is nice and the levels interesting.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Why I always drop Grog? I never know. Great game!

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Graphics and physics of flame are very good!

Fridge Owl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Awesome! Very Fun great anxiety and relief. Nice challenge and great colors.

McFunkypants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Wow, great job! Good use of a particle system for the torch. With I could blow while in the air! =)

celsyum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:35pm

fun game

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:42pm

I wish I could play, but: Unity Web Player! One day they will support my OS.

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Fun mechanic! Enjoyed having to protect something fleeting.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:16pm

I'm not sure if I'm missing something, but the walking is so extremely slow, that I think, I could experience a bug. Any idea? I also think, holding space should lighten up the fire faster.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Okay, I played the windows version to download and didn't experienced the bug again like I did in the web version. Strange...

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Wait! Linux Build! Now I see it!

This is hilarious. I love that there is actually no pretty cave-lady at the end ^o^// also, Grog's voice is great. Did you do the voice acting? I thought of doing an a cappella cover of the zelda theme for my game... but didn't.

Grog's jumping is what makes this game hard. I really like the smoke effects too. Overall, a very cute and fun game. It would be a prime candidate for having a leader-board!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

I really like the concept and the art, but it's pretty hard because you dont have much control over the jump. nice job

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Fun but difficult. A difficulty setting would have been nice.

severus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Nice graphics and game is chalenging enough.

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Really liked the concept and the application of the theme.

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:49am

Did I miss the link to your source code? Where is it?

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38am

Hey Recursor! Sorry about that... I added the link just now.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:35am

A lot of good fun, nice and difficult. The lighting effect is subtle but beautiful and the sound is fantastic.

mystakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06am

This game is funny! It's also challenging, perhaps too challenging for me. Still an awesome concept and humorous execution.

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Love the character and the voices. Simple and nice gameplay, perhaps the jumping could be a bit smoother. :) Solid job!

Hiku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Really hard but fun :)

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Running with sticks is not a good idea, but I don't think Grog is smart enough to know that. I found myself constantly watching the stick thinking: "Can I get a little farther without blowing on it?". It creates a bit of tension and a nice sense of accomplishment when you complete a level. I also like the fact that you used procedural generation for the levels. It can take a bit of tweaking, but once you have the generator dialed in, you have infinite content. Nice job.

Zhrack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Nice game! Good difficulty overral and...Procedual levels! I love procedural things! Good job!

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Great idea, controls left a bit to be desired. The acceleration seems to be different every time you start running, sometimes he doesn't really start moving at all.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Good job! The mechanic of the torch is very clever and works well with the theme. Didn't liked the physic/controls though. Also a few time Grog didn't wanted to move and jumping fixed that issue.

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17pm

This game is more fun than it should be haha - humor is great, and I love Grog's sound (some of the other sfx could use some touching up). Gets perhaps a little too difficult a little too fast..

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Pretty interesting take on a platformer! Played otherwise well, but the jumping physics were really wonky and caused way too many unneccessary deaths.

Crepeboy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:35pm

I like the concept. Clever!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:53am

Awesome use of theme and a great innovative twist on platforming. The difficulty spikes quickly and my stick burned down to nothing without me realizing that it was getting close. The fire is very obvious and you can stop and blow on it when needed but the feedback for the stick itself is a bit lacking.

Platforming was a little loose and floaty but it works in this game because this is some dumb caveman guy running to find true love with a burning stick in his hand. He ain't no Meatboy and he doesn't have to be.

Funny sounds, too. The visuals do the job. Great entry!

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:24am

Really like the concept for this, I thought the rain levels were especially cool. I felt like the controls were a little awkward though, and that made me put this down before I could finish. Still pretty fun though, and great work for 48 hours! Also I'll add that the dying sound was great and humour in general was awesome :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:56am

I's pretty challenging but also really fun :)
I hate when it's raining!

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:55am

It is so difficult! The controls are not in my favor. Nice graphical style!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:57am

Humor and innovation in this game were top notch: the mechanics are superb. I could see this game being expanded (climatic interaction maybe?). Good job!

Moosefly says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:17pm

It's a solid game, but I think the core mechanic of keeping the torch lit could be improved. Somehow. Maybe.

Right now it felt a repetitive just running and jumping and blowing ad infinitum.

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:09am

Great idea! Keeping the flame alive is fun! Loved the variation with the rain level.
Background graphics are a bit too repetitive (tile patterns do not vary much) but Grog is cute. Sound FX are cool (especially the DANG one). Could use a more appropriate font for text.

smash ball says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:30pm

The game is pretty good. The collisions were a bit bouncy, but otherwise fine. The level generation also was fair (I didn't run into any impossible jumps or extensive rain runs)

eskivor says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:05am

I took some time to understand that I had to stop walking to blow

xrm0 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Nice graphics and game

Beavl says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:29am

Nice take on the theme. Game mechanics are interesting, but waiting and blowing could get somewhat frustrating. Keep up the good work!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Interesting gameplay mechanic, smoke and fire effects too. :)

Rustam says ...
Jun 28, 2017 @ 12:00pm

I found your this post while searching for some related information on blog search...Its a good post..keep posting and update the information.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]